We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hampshire Hog

Booking.comUS$90*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$90*
US$90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hampshire Hog
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 578: English reviews
Start your review of The Hampshire Hog
 Click to rate
Manchester, UK
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Comfortable room. Bathroom dated and in need of some TLC. Mildew around edges of bath not appealing. This can be controlled for the price of an effective Mildew Treatment. The food quality was pretty good, both at evening meal and breakfast. I would like a broader menu choice for evening meal, especially if staying more than one night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKAshley011
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel with superb rooms. Food was good especially the breakfast with a huge choice - really enjoyed it. Staff were friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We have a very enjoyable stay and would definitely go back again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S745ZWstevef
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our breakfast in the morning and that the staff were friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

1st time at this hotel, excellent staff, excellent food and even better location. Exactly what I needed and will definitely be staying again in the future. I even oversaw the Tuesday night quiz which made the pub very busy but still had great service. All Staff were every professional and polite.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z966KRalext
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Ralext, I'm so pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that the staff were friendly and professional. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I would have rated the room higher if not for all the mold around the bath. Otherwise the room was large and clean. We slept okay. I didn't like the way my breakfast was cooked but my husband thought it was ok. The server was very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W7118YPsusanr
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Susan, I'm happy to see that you slept well and found the room to be large and clean. Apologies regarding your breakfast and the mould around your bath. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We prebooked a table online at 9pm we didnt order starters as my partner fancied a dessert. We finished our main just after 9.30pm. We then tried to order the pudding to be told we couldn't have dessert as kitchen was closed!!🤔. I explained we was looking forward to it, and if we knew we would have ordered starters instead.The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank coletted616
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Colette, I would like to apologise that you were unable to order puddings after your main meals. On check-in you should've been told the kitchen opening/closing times however, I will ensure that each member of staff are doing this. Also the chefs switch off the cookers at 21:30 so I believe that the waiter offered you the choice of...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on our way home and thought it a very nice place to take a break from our travels. The room was lovely, it had a large bed and tea and coffee making facilities. The dinning was in the bar. Good food and drinks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewlC871GO
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that it was a welcome break from your recent travels! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Reviewed 1 week ago

I didn't stay in the hotel, I just visited the pub for a meal. The pub is a lovely building in a gorgeous country setting. The staff are welcoming and friendly and the food is tasty. The only disappointment for me was that there were meals that you would normally expect to have some vegetables with but didn't. On asking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent meal with us at The Hampshire Hog. I am pleased to see that the staff were friendly and welcoming and that you enjoyed the food you had too. Apologies that you felt some of the dishes you had should've come with vegetables, we are able to do a side...

Nottingham, Uk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A colleague and I booked this hotel for a business commitment recently. A great hotel with very attentive staff. Rooms are well equipped and do well separating themselves from similarly priced hotels. Fresh milk in the room fridge, cafetière coffee, sparkling and still bottled water all at no additional cost. We ate in the bar and the food was plentiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex20072007
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Alex, Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of The Hampshire Hog. I'm so pleased to see that we are able to separate ourselves from other hotels and that you liked the amenities in our rooms! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good comfortable hotel. Restaurant food is high standard and full of flavour with good selection. Breakfast choice is quite special - the smoked salmon is the best. Rooms well equipped with nice touches like fresh milk and ground coffee.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lens291
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Lens, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you found the hotel comfortable and that you also enjoyed your meals in the restaurant and then your breakfast in the morning! Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely room but total lack of staff in the restaurant ruined our stay. We booked a meal on Saturday night and breakfast on Sunday and both times there was nowhere near enough staff to cope. We were told on Saturday night that we would have to order our food at the bar as they didn't have time to take our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K8559DFannettem
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Annette, I would like to apologise about you experience with us during your dinner and breakfast service. We were short staffed over the weekend. I hope that you will visit us again in the future so that we can rectify your below average stay with us. Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanfield
14.7 km away
Park House Hotel & Spa
6.7 km away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
403 reviews
5.8 km away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
627 reviews
15.3 km away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,342 reviews
30.7 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Hampshire Hog

Address: London Road, Clanfield PO8 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Clanfield
Price Range: €78 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hampshire Hog 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Hampshire Hog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampshire Hog Hotel Clanfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hampshire Hog staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Hampshire Hog staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didnt stay”
sew298, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We book ahead and always ask for a Ground Floor room ~ easy access from the Car-Park with the bags.”
ThomasHosie, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great!”
miriamd851, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ground floor if disabled and all great views”
ethane2014, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“pick a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid noise from bar”
doreenb570, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$90* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$90
Travelocity
TripAdvisorUS$90
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates