We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Manhattans

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Manhattans
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at manhattans in early July on a Thursday night as part of a last minute trip away. Given how cheap it was and the fact it was above a night club we were a little nervous, but there was no need to be. The hotel was as clean as any I have stayed at. There was only me... More 

Helpful?
Thank joe01522
Swalwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2016

quite spacious friendly staff reasonable prices very clean would recommend it if you are wanting somewhere affordable only 15 mins into city centre . Wallsend metro station about 3 mins walk great time I had even if it was for a coupleof hours

Helpful?
Thank pcat2016
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Door staff fantastic, manager pleasant and good to talk to for local advice. Picture / club best in Wallsend if not the whole of Newcastle. Great night out for all. Don't miss out! Well worth a visit 10/10!

Helpful?
Thank ross c
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Came to Newcastle with mates on a footy weekend. It was bank holiday so the normal suspects - Premier Inn etc - were full. This place fitted the bill perfectly. Clean, room was big, comfortable beds, hot water etc. Plus a cheesy nightclub underneath for a few late night drinks. Good value - no frills, no problems. Not sure I'd... More 

Helpful?
Thank TCTim
Prudhoe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here in a quad room for a hen party which was fantastic. We had a clean room with four beds and an en suite bath/shower. A fantastic bar with a good party atmosphere downstairs which was fantastic and very handy. All the staff were friendly and helpful and called taxi's for us when needed. Highly recommend this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janette T
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

Just come back from a fantastic stay at Manhattans. Good clean room, free wifi and excellent bar downstairs, with good drink and staff. Easy access by taxi or Metro to centre of Newcastle. Will def be bk

Helpful?
Thank Sean P
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

We had a bargain priced room.so cant complain.too much to be fair. The biggest downside was we didnt get to sleep til gone 2 due to the noise from downstairs and outside we stayed on a sunday night for an early hospital appointment nearby the following day. Clean room clean toilet and bathroom wouldnt stay again but just as didnt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Looneytoon24
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed for one night as working close by, my room was clean with a lovely en suite. Enjoyed the bar downstairs and staff were great! Close to the Metro and a quick cab ride to City Centre, so both were handy.

Helpful?
Thank Sean P
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2015

What a fantastic time we had at manhattans the rooms were well presented spotless and clean good value for money can't fault it !! Staff all friendly and welcoming DJ matt started my birthday celebrations off in the bar down stairs before heading of into newcastel thanks for the free cocktails 😊 We have booked up again in august see... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kel R
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with friends for a birthday and we were all left disappointed. We payed £300 for two rooms, most certainly not worth the money. There was broken lights in the room and uncomfortable beds. The cups had not been washed from previous guests and the spoons were stuck to the cup, absolutely disgusting. The 'nightclub' is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank annoymous11362
Ros K, Manager at Manhattans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. What you forgot to mention in your review was that £300 was for 2 rooms for 8 people so your complaint about the pricing is utterly unfair considering that you cannot get a room in the city centre for 2 people for under £100 on a Saturday night. You also... More 

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallsend
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Holystone) Hotel
4.4 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,271 reviews
4.7 km away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
453 reviews
5.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
657 reviews
4.3 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manhattans is a small hotel that endeavours to provide comfort and great service to our customers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manhattans

Address: 85-87 High Street West, Wallsend NE28 8JD, England (Formerly The Steam Elephant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Wallsend
Price Range: €39 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Manhattans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manhattans staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are spot on”
 of 5 bubbles 835kelr, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Top floor in far corner is best insulated from noise”
 of 5 bubbles darrenm334, 5 May 2015 | Read review
“upgrade to en-suite”
 of 5 bubbles leehoult, 28 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Pay the extra money & get an en-suite.”
 of 5 bubbles LouiseG_13, 1 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Ask for the Large En-Suite room as this also has its own dressing room!”
 of 5 bubbles Kiera1990, 11 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay