We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George at Nunney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George at Nunney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 439: English reviews
Start your review of The George at Nunney
 Click to rate
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed overnight in The George and found the Hotel/bar/restaurant absolutely charming as were the staff. My room was large, very nicely furnished and comfortable. It has an olde worlde feel about it while being modern and very clean. I had a burger for dinner and it was probably the best I've eaten. There was a large choice for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philipgeorgethomas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Late booking, but what a find. Lovely petite bedroom, but more than enough room for two even though I was a lone traveller. Food was top rate and hot. The young female waitress was very accommodating with my requests. A lot of custard but I managed it . Lovely walled secluded garden, cup of tea and a smoke :-) Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wolfatyador
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you to the lovely staff of The George at Nunney for a very welcoming stay! On arrival we received a complimentary upgrade to the Castle Suite which was very unexpected and very much appreciated! We were even more amazed when we went to the room to find a lovely comfy 4 poster bed and a big tv with Netflix...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbie L
Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for a weekend as part of a large family group. Our rooms were comfortable and warm and the facilities were good. Breakfast each day was super with plenty of choices and a nice relaxed atmosphere. We ate in both nights and the food was typical pub grub,which we all enjoyed. We were made very welcome by the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 509christine
Somerset
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We agreed to meet at The George as it had such good reviews. Once inside we were dubious, a step too far in terms of interior design....for a beautiful old inn they got it all wrong. What was much worse was the cold atmosphere, enquiring about food after a long journey we were told that 'we don't do sandwiches on...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank HeadteacherSomerset
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We had food from the lunch menu, and it was excellent. Fish fingers sandwich was devoured by my daughter, BLT could not be left, and I had and excellent steak sandwich. Service was timely, and the best thing was we.could take our dog inside. I did note lovely seating areas out back and by the stream.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl K
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Stayed here this weekend on a visit to see my uncle who lives in Mells. This is my 3rd visit and it's a great, friendly, typically English hotel and restaurant. Good service, good food and reasonably priced. Will definitely be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonbrowne1968
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Booked a table for 6 and shown to the annexe, didn't like that so moved to main area. Cold outside today temperature of 1c, same temp inside as well! Excuse central heating not working but 2 small electric fires placed around (but not in our area). Also said it was an old building and took a long while to heat,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richardtwebb
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Vistited the George on a Wednesday evening to take advantage of there steak night special. We had a lovely meal food was great the staff were fantastic and the pub has a very friendly atmosphere. Would recommend a visit as we will be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike J
wolverhampton
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Gosh I loved this place! Arrived to be told the room i was in was 2 single beds. Luckily the lady who checked me in realised I didn't really want it even though I didn't complain. She asked me to give her 2 minutes and then lead me to room 10. Wow!!! Beautiful stunning loved it! She was so lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kgbolton
Gordon_TGAN, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this review

What a lovely review! Thank you for sharing your experience. It is our pleasure to do whatever we can to ensure your stay with us is as best an experience as we can make it, and it is lovely to hear feedback that we did a great job! Lovely comments on our food, glad your steak was the best! We...

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nunney
7.2 km away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
16.1 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
809 reviews
14.0 km away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
922 reviews
8.9 km away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
422 reviews
4.6 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George at Nunney is an 17th century coaching Inn in the village of Nunney, in Somerset. The Inn is a firm favourite with locals, regulars and travelers alike and has established itself with a reputation for fine food, great service and a relaxing ambiance enhanced with open fires and sandstone walls.The bar, lounge and restaurant areas are all recently refurbished with great character, featuring exposed beams and large open fireplaces. The gardens are a haven for those who enjoy drinking or dining 'al fresco'.We have 9 spacious rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, and tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer and Television. A full locally sourced and acclaimed English breakfast is included in the price of our rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George at Nunney

Address: Church Street, Nunney, Frome BA11 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Nunney
Price Range: €75 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George at Nunney 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The George at Nunney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George At Nunney Somerset
Hotel George At Nunney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George at Nunney staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
london
3 days ago
llanon
5 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The George at Nunney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Each time I have come here, the rooms are very clean, spacious and offer a good quality rest”
 of 5 bubbles jonbrowne1968, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 12 has a bathroom detached from the sleeping room. There are lots of steps for some rooms, so beware of that.”
  • Room 12
  • Room 12
  • Room 12
  • Room 13
 of 5 bubbles kurtm577, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay, just came for a meal. But the village is lovely with an old castle.”
 of 5 bubbles SamanthaR772, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Four poster bed....”
 of 5 bubbles SimoneB544, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A must visit”
 of 5 bubbles janel562, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5