We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB England
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (207)
360
Panoramas (31)
Room & Suite (203)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Regency Hotel
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Shirley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1102Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 282
  • 285
  • 215
  • 167
  • 154
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
chris wrote a review Yesterday
England, United Kingdom142 contributions73 helpful votes
Yes there is renovations going on. No this does not excuse a filthy room in an area not being renovated. Carpet sticky with lumps of dirt on it. Wall with paint peeling and damp. Smell of sewage and damp. Hotel full?? With no other rooms available. Bar staff friendly breakfast staff unfriendly and with no communication or assistance.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
OberkornMute22 wrote a review Jun 2022
Cornwall, United Kingdom12 contributions
Stayed here for a one night stay for a family visit. The rate was excellent, and proved to be value for money. The location of the hotel is very convenient to M42 motorway and links within Birmingham and Solihull. The room was dated, but was clean and tidy and fit for purpose. It does seem that the hotel is going through some refurbishment. Did not have any meals, so can’t comment on these.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Really glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay! I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments and look forward to welcoming you to the Regency Hotel in the future. Regards
Read more
Moji O wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
+1
The room was very dusty and stale. The bed was stained and the headboard caked with dust. The receptionist appeared overworked and impatient. The decor was dated and a general unwelcoming feel. No refund was offered neither was an apology offered when I decided to check out complaining about the room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay, it is regrettable that we did not hear about any issues prior to your departure as the on-site duty manager would have been able to find you an alternative room. The Regency Hotel is currently undergoing a phased refurbishment which will include the bedrooms and I hope that once this is complete, you will consider staying with us again in the future. Regards
Read more
Roy Buckle wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We booked a room for a meal for a birthday party and accommodation The staff couldn't have bee n more helpful or attentive. The 3 course meal was Great., with all of the guests enjoying it without exception. The accommodation was fine and the breakfast's superb. Would thoroughly recommend this venue.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, I am really glad to hear that you had an enjoyable birthday meal and stay with us last week, I have passed your feedback on to all the relevant departments. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Regency Hotel in the future. Regards
Read more
j-j wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
On arrival reception was very welcoming. The room was to a good standard yes I agree with other reviews that it does need a bit of money spent but the room had everything that I needed for my stay. The room was clean and was to a good size. I had my evening meal in the bar, the food was very tasty and I enjoyed it. While having my evening meal there was a man who seemed to be the manager he was being very abrupt with the other staff members that were on duty. This was very unpleasant to witness as a paying guest this is something that you shouldn’t have to see. This was a very off putting experience which made myself and other guest feel uncomfortable. Breakfast was buffet style I would say it was average, there was plenty to choose from but some of the food was not cooked enough (my personal choice) I noticed the same manager from the previous night again being abrupt with a different staff member.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel
Responded 10 May 2022
Dear Guest, I am sorry that you felt the Duty Manager was being unnecessarily abrupt with the members of the team, I have spoken to the duty manager in question and asked for him to be more mindful of the way he treats his colleagues in the future. Regards Bradley Shough General Manager
Read more
ionela elena b wrote a review May 2022
10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I was here for a business meeting training with my company for 2 days which also included another night for me as my flight was in morning so my boss got me another room for night☺️ ..so from start to finish everything amassing thank u brilliant reception I forgot name then amassing lovely faz from bar who served us an amassing dinner i got salmon starter and salmon main delicios also desert was great 😄😄 having booked the Ashe conference room we got again amassing brilliant lunches and refreshments brilliant breakfast with great scrambled egg thank u to the polish lady I forgot her name u were great ☺️☺️ also the dinner and breakfast even lunches had veg options which catered to one of my colleagues ..we were around 8 at dinner more at meeting lunches then I went back for a coke 😄😄room brilliant clean I asked heat as I was a bit freezing from flight was done ...☺️☺️ Bath gorgeus I loved it after a long day 😍😍 I needed up having a dinner in room so room service the great salmon starter which I loved then I booked a taxi on 4 a clock morning guy came open doors ..overall perfect starting with food room faz reception dinner etc ..perfect Thank u lovely hotel reception and bar for making me feel like home I loved it I hope we are booking one for Christmas too 😄😄😄
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear Guest I am really happy that you had an enjoyable stay, I have passed your feedback on to all the relevant departments and look forward to welcoming you back to The Regency Hotel in the future Regards
Read more
Rita M wrote a review Apr 2022
12 contributions6 helpful votes
Friendly staff and good food, but housekeeping sadly lacking. Stained bed, unemptied bin, dirty mug, dirty mirror in the bathroom and disgusting public toilets. They were apologetic about the loos blaming staff shortages , but not impressed with the cleanliness of our room at all. A shame really.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel
Responded 29 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay, i have passed you feedback on to the relevant departments in the hope that future guests will not experience the same. Regards
Read more
Joseph B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
My wife and I stayed here from the 21st to the 24th of this month (April). Ground floor room 343. This room is a long walk from reception but quiet enough for us. The room was clean enough on arrival. On the evening of Saturday we came back to the hotel at 5 O'clock to find the bed unmade and worse, the bathroom had not been cleaned at all., not as much as a damp cloth! We had an apology but there obviously is little interest from management or a regular check. I was promised a call from their customer relations manager but at the time of posting we are still expect a call. On the evening of our arrival we had eaten at lunchtime and opted for the hotel's Bar Menu. Perhaps we made a bad choice but neither of us ate our meal. I described my beefburger as inedible and complained at the time. I paid the bill in full but that was the last mention of it. We were reluctant to try their dining room for the rest of the stay. I have to mention that even now, NON of the staff we encountered in three days was wearing a Mask and any claim of anti- Covid measures should be taken with a large pinch of salt. I the validity of the AA certificates in reception. This was our second stay at the Regency and I believe it may have changed hands. I suspect there is an underlying staffing problem; one receptionist was helpful but very difficult to understand unfortunately. The position of the hotel is convenient for town and motorway and it is set back from the Stratford road and has nice open spaces. I think it has gone downhill and we would be reluctant to either stay there again or recommend it on your website.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, I am sorry that you felt the hotel was different from 3 years ago, I think it is safe to say the world is slightly different from 3 years ago and the hotel is still operating on reduced capacity. I have passed your feedback onto our housekeeping team and apologise for any inconvenience caused, it seems as though you were offered an opportunity to move rooms which was not taken. The hotel is following all of the current guidance from the government regarding the use of face masks for both our staff and guests and will continue to do so, I am sorry if you feel that that the current guidance is not strict enough but there is little we can do to change it but will remain vigilant to any changes instructed by the government. The hotel has not "changed hands" and the "underlying staffing problems" you have mentioned are simply issues being felt across the country currently due to Brexit, a global pandemic and an ongoing war affecting much of our supply chain. The Regency Hotel has decided to remain as competitive as it possibly can without passing any price increases onto our guests and remain the most value for money hotel in Solihull that offers its guests a full dining selection, free gym and leisure facilities, free parking and a bedroom representative of the price paid. I am sorry you did not have a stay as enjoyable as you did 3 years ago, Regards
Read more
ijs78 wrote a review Apr 2022
Swindon, United Kingdom21 contributions10 helpful votes
Let’s start with the good points. Staff are helpful and friendly. Reception area looks clean and tidy. Restaurant is clean and the food is well presented and taste very nice. Loads of car parking spaces. Now the bad points. Room was not very clean and very dated. Bath looks old with marks in it. Shower sprays everywhere from hose when turned on. Toilet flush handle was loose. The overflow for the toilet constantly drips. Bed was old and springs making a uncomfortable sleep. TV control didn’t work correctly so had to get up to turn the tv off. Ironing board was stained. Does this hotel not have maintenance?? The management must be aware of these things because it’s not something thats happened over night.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The only helpful tip I can give is, pop in for something to eat but don’t stay overnight
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel
Responded 22 Apr 2022
Dear guest, I am sorry that you encountered these problems with your bedroom, The Regency Hotel is currently undergoing a phased refurbishment plan and I hope that in the future you will choose to stay here again when the bedroom refurbishment has been completed.
Read more
Jolene O wrote a review Apr 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom42 contributions11 helpful votes
Pool area: Fake stone (polystyrene) surrounding the pool was breaking apart and floating in the pool. Changing facilities dated & unclean. Hot tub dangerously hot. No one monitoring pool area - children (11-12yrs) using hot tub and steam room unsupervised. Hotel room: Shower too hot no matter what setting it was on. Toilet wouldn't flush. Dated decor. Bed was fairly comfortable. Food: Starter at dinner (ham hock) inedible - served with a strange array of peas, lettuce and dry flat bread. Main was ok. Breakfast was disgusting - you could tell the food had been there a long time, beans and eggs were watery, mushrooms shriveled, hash browns soggy and bacon undercooked. Was a late birthday present for my fiancé as he had covid on his actual birthday so was hoping a nice night away would make up for it. Unfortunately chose the wrong place. Was unable to speak to anyone at reception as no one there, was a self-checkout throw keys into a slot. Would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay. The leisure facilities and the hotel in general are priced accordingly in comparison to the competitor businesses in the area and on the night of your stay, The Regency Hotel was the cheapest hotel in Solihull with leisure facilities by over 40%, I am sorry that there were children unsupervised in the leisure club, Naturally the responsibility of looking after children belongs to the parents of said children and if we were made aware, we would have mentioned something to the parents. I have passed your comments regarding the food over to our kitchen department, It is a shame that nothing was said to us on the night or the following morning about the food so that we could rectify any issues you had. But equally, the vast majority of feedback on our dinner and breakfast is different from yours. Not only do we have a duty manager on site 24 hours a day but we also have 24/7 reception desk coverage so again, your feedback is not representative of this business and not something offered by all of our more expensive competitors. Apologies again that The Regency Hotel met your budget, but not your expectations
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
corus hotel birmingham
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest MidlandsSolihullShirley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Regency Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at The Regency Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Regency Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Regency Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Regency Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hillfield Farm, Dining & Carvery, The Finest Catch, and The Plough Beefeater.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Regency Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Regency Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Regency Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Regency Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Regency Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Packwood House (6.3 km), Sarehole Mill (5.8 km), and Magpie Mines (7.2 km).
Is The Regency Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.