We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park

Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Centrally located in the heart of Doolin on a unique setting over looking the Aille river. Riverside camping is a small, friendly, family run park constructed within our family grounds, to the highest hygiene standards. It is well sheltered and personally supervised. 3 star guesthouse on site. Hotel Doolin, Fitz's bar, a pizzeria, two restaurants, a pantry and off-licence and a tourist information point are located less than 60 metres from the site. O'Connors pub is located 5 minutes walk to our right and McGanns and McDermotts pub's 5 minutes walk to our left. All pubs have live traditional music nightly starting from 9:30.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Golf course
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family

Location

Full view
75Somewhat walkable
Grade: 75 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 1 km
8Attractionswithin 1 km
147Reviews
43Photos
1Q+A
15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 43
  • 8
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Woken up on second night by strangers fighting, guards were there twice whilst we stayed for weekend. Owner wouldn't give sister back her 20 euro deposit for no reason at all, think he was just trying to keep it, she had to argue with him & finally get it back but ended the stay
Read more
Response from Doc20142019, Manager at O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Ann Marie, We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, as a team, all the staff does their best to make everyone's stay enjoyable. As you have been very vague in relation to the deposit. I will state categorically that we only ask for deposits off guests when they borrow one of our BBQs. If you had trouble in getting it back then you did not return it clean, as you received it. I am 100% sure no member of our team would try to pocket a deposit as we have not kept one to date. We are very sorry you were woken up during your stay by the noise other guests created. We only called the Gardai on one occasion last year. It was the first weekend in September and not in August as you have stated, September 2nd to be exact. It was the night of the All Ireland Hurling final. We had a couple with kids staying in one of our Glamping units who had been out all day for the match. They came back to the site around 11:30 pm with both parents being extremely intoxicated. Suddenly, they started shouting and roaring at each other in the tent. We addressed the situation immediately and intervened to stop it. The mother continued to be very loud and abusive, so we decided to separate both parents. Our normal policy is that troublemakers who do not adhere to our warnings are told to leave the site immediately but as they had kids, and both parents were intoxicated and could not possibly drive, we had to call the guards to diffuse the situation. They spoke to both parents, took details and when everything had calmed down the couple went to bed. They left early the next day. The Gardai briefly stopped by the following night, to inquire if we had any more trouble with them. It is not often we get trouble on the site but when we do, we act accordingly for all our guests best interest and safety. Many thanks, David O’Connor, Manager
Read more
fantastic campsite, clean, very handy just over the quaint bridge past the donkey literally across the road from Doolin - Fitzpatricks Bar and a hotel and a café and an off licence (if you need on). Everything you need, hot showers, clean and warm toilets with warm water,
Read more
Response from DaveDoolin, Owner at O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park
Responded 19 Sep 2018
Many thanks for your review and hopefully we will see you again some time.
Read more
Recently stayed at O'Connors with friends in tents. While asleep someone entered our tent and took all my clothes that they could get Jacket, jumpers, tops, pants... While I was puzzled waking up to realise this happened I informed the owner to which he just said "this has
Read more
Response from Doc20142019, General Manager at O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Gemma, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review my business and I apologize I have not responded to your review earlier. I can understand why you are angry and upset but my memory of what happened is quite different from yours. You and your partner stayed with us as part of a large group of five other couples on a weekend in September. Your group were all camped together in six separate tents in one of our camping sections. You had this whole field to yourselves as it was a quiet weekend. All was fine and you all appeared to be enjoying the park, the pubs and Doolin. On the Sunday as you were leaving you mentioned to me as you were buying a few drinks that you taught someone had taken clothes from your tent while you were asleep the night before. At first, I was taken aback by what you said as I taught it was very strange that someone would enter a tent while a couple was sleeping. Especially as you were in a group of tents, and as you had stated, they had not taken you or your partner's wallets or phones which had been left beside your clothes. I apologized for what had occurred and I explained something like this had never happened on the site before and that Doolin and the North Clare area is generally very safe. As you were walking out of reception, I followed you out and in front of you, I called the security guy from the night before to ask him did he see anything strange while he was on duty. He lives on site and he called down to the reception within a few minutes. He was very surprised to hear what had happened as it had been a quiet night. He remembered your group coming back from the pub around 1:30 am, heading towards your tents and going straight to bed. He was on duty until 5 am and in his rounds of the park, he had not seen anything strange. I then asked him, still in your presence would he have a look around the site, check the bins and under the trees if in case the clothes had been blown away or someone had mistakenly put your clothes in the bin. This he did but to no avail. Again, I am sorry you had a negative experience, and this has put you off camping. We did everything we could for you, including as you left, informing you about the Garda station in Ennistymon if you wanted to report it on your way home. If I could make things right, then I would but I still don’t have a clue what happened to your clothes. Many thanks, Dave
Read more
It was lashing down and we were only there for a night so its not a decent review. But the place was a small sized quiet, nicely sited for the sounds of the small river running along one edge. Decent shower / toilet/ washing machine block plus chemical loo and grey water points.
Read more
We stayed here last weekend as we wanted to visit a few different places in Clare. The site is nice and very clean. The shower area and toilets were spotless. There's a kitchen on-site which was an added bonus. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very quiet at night so it would be
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
the riverview
our tent near the river
The river
Watch out for Raven and Seagull
PreviousNext
12
"this is a campsite not a hotel"
"Come early on the day you are camping. Also camp in summertime."
"This is not a hotel"
"dont go anywhere near this place"
"We liked the back field."
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$78 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterThe BurrenDoolin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing