We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Wallis Arms Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 4 B&Bs in Millstreet
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
. Welcome to The Wallis Arms, Millstreet, Co Cork. Visit us and enjoy our warm and friendly atmosphere, make yourself at home in our elegantly furnished and exceptionally comfortable rooms. We can offer single, double, twin and interconnecting family rooms. All our rooms are ensuite, with power showers and baths, have flat screen tv's, complimentary wi fi, tea/coffee facilities and desks providing exceptional comfort and convenience. A laundry service and free parking is also available. We can offer single, double, twin and interconnecting family rooms at very affordable rates. The relaxing and comfortable Wallis Arms Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner each day, serving mouth watering food and a selection of drinks . We are located in the center of Millstreet, midway between Killarney and Mallow, nestled at the foot of the picturesque Clara Mountain. With easy access to the main attractions of both County Cork and Kerry.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Darts
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Desk
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars

Location

The Square, Millstreet P51 D25W Ireland
Wallis Arms Hotel
68Reviews3Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 12
  • 4
  • 1
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mary O wrote a review Jan 2023
2 helpful votes
I do not understand the previous message, If you are an Ukrainian refugee and you are pregnant and you are staying in a Irish hotel, then everything you are getting in that Hotel is FREE to you and paid for by the Irish tax payer. You are complaining about your FREE food , FREE washing done , FREE heating, FREE internet, FREE travel, FREE television licence, FREE cleaning of your room, The reason your sweater is smaller is because you are pregnant and not because of all the washing that someone else is doing for you FREE to you. You don't pay for any thing only complain about everything done for you, I have eaten in that Hotel many times and the staff are the friendliest I have met, the food is of a very high standard and Nigel the manger is very obliging and helps in way he can. You complain maybe you should learn how to say please and thanks to the Irish people who get themselves up out of bed every day so you can have everything FREE to you and obviously your boyfriend who got you pregnant and the Irish are also supporting him as well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Taehyung K wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Very bad and rude staff, especially Nigel, they don't know how to wash dishes and laundry, they ruined my clothes and were constantly rude. I couldn't live in this hotel because music turned on all the night. I highly not recommend this hotel and restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wallis Arms, General Manager at Wallis Arms Hotel
Responded 20 Jan 2023
You have been warmly welcomed under International Protection Accommodation Services - Government of Ireland. Under this system, you have been provided with free PPS number, travel, accommodation etc. At the Wallis Arms, you have availed of free accommodation, free food and beverages, laundry services (which has been a service removed from you due to unhygienic condition of your laundry which contained human feces), internet, tv, light and heat. You have been continuously warned, both verbally and written under IPAS regulations. You have continuously showed rudeness and have treated other refugees rudely, aggressively and discriminatively. As a community and a business we do not condone, support any kind of such behaviour and were forced to take necessary actions and will continue to do so. As a general manager, I have a 40 year hospitality experience and have never had to deal with issues like these and have faced such rudeness and ungratefulness. I personally think it is also very unfair on Irish Tax payers to cater for people like you who abusing the system in such hard times. Also, all our other guests accommodated here in the Wallis Arms, under IPAS have never had any issues with us such as yours, and have been extremely grateful and understanding. These are the same people who have experienced racist and discriminatory behaviour from yourself. In relation to your diet what you are saying is completely untrue. You have given us 2 different menus, both contradicting each other, and the kitchen always looks after the guests and any special dietary requirements you've had. As a business, we remain professional towards all our guests and do not take part in vengeful behaviour as you described. You were indeed informed that this is my place of residence and you can be removed at anytime if I deem it necessary. IPAS do not have a say in this and this is entirely up to myself to decide. Our rooms are cleaned to the high standards, and under the IPAS rules as you already know, it is your responsibility and duty to keep and maintain clean. However, you have still been provided with room cleaning services even though we are not obliged to do so. The hinges on the windows have been replaced twice. You have been seen sitting up on the window during the hot weather which would be contributing to breaking of those hinges. Of all the windows, yours is the only one to have been broken(twice). Your laundry service has been withdrawn for the reasons as mentioned above. As for your sweater getting smaller, that seems like a normal occurrence for a pregnant person, as you have stated. Our Polish cleaners have experienced multiple times a verbal abuse from you and have submitted number of complaints to myself which have been reported to IPAS. I hope this clarifies some of the misrepresented points you have published in your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mira S wrote a review Dec 2022
2 helpful votes
I am a Ukrainian refugee, and the staff said they would kick me out because I forgot to tell them please when I ordered a drink and thank you when they brought it, I am pregnant and I cannot eat certain foods, which they said that there will be no special menu for me now, also I have an allergy to spicy food and they serve it to me all the time because I said that I can’t eat it. The manager, whose name is Nigel, said that this is his house and that he will easily kick us out, although he does not have the right, they also have room dirty curtains in green snot and a broken window that they didn’t fix on time and because of the wind it often breaks, he said that we have to pay him for the window although it’s not our fault. Also, my white clothes turned green after washing them and my sweater has become smaller, Polish cleaners in the hotel say nasty things about the residents to the staff and do not know how to wash clothes and clean the room.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wallis Arms, General Manager at Wallis Arms Hotel
Responded 20 Jan 2023
You have been warmly welcomed under International Protection Accommodation Services - Government of Ireland. Under this system, you have been provided with free PPS number, travel, accommodation etc. At the Wallis Arms, you have availed of free accommodation, free food and beverages, laundry services (which has been a service removed from you due to unhygienic condition of your laundry which contained human feces), internet, tv, light and heat. You have been continuously warned, both verbally and written under IPAS regulations. You have continuously showed rudeness and have treated other refugees rudely, aggressively and discriminatively. As a community and a business we do not condone, support any kind of such behaviour and were forced to take necessary actions and will continue to do so. As a general manager, I have a 40 year hospitality experience and have never had to deal with issues like these and have faced such rudeness and ungratefulness. I personally think it is also very unfair on Irish Tax payers to cater for people like you who abusing the system in such hard times. Also, all our other guests accommodated here in the Wallis Arms, under IPAS have never had any issues with us such as yours, and have been extremely grateful and understanding. These are the same people who have experienced racist and discriminatory behaviour from yourself. In relation to your diet what you are saying is completely untrue. You have given us 2 different menus, both contradicting each other, and the kitchen always looks after the guests and any special dietary requirements you've had. As a business, we remain professional towards all our guests and do not take part in vengeful behaviour as you described. You were indeed informed that this is my place of residence and you can be removed at anytime if I deem it necessary. IPAS do not have a say in this and this is entirely up to myself to decide. Our rooms are cleaned to the high standards, and under the IPAS rules as you already know, it is your responsibility and duty to keep and maintain clean. However, you have still been provided with room cleaning services even though we are not obliged to do so. The hinges on the windows have been replaced twice. You have been seen sitting up on the window during the hot weather which would be contributing to breaking of those hinges. Of all the windows, yours is the only one to have been broken(twice). Your laundry service has been withdrawn for the reasons as mentioned above. As for your sweater getting smaller, that seems like a normal occurrence for a pregnant person, as you have stated. Our Polish cleaners have experienced multiple times a verbal abuse from you and have submitted number of complaints to myself which have been reported to IPAS. I hope this clarifies some of the misrepresented points you have published in your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tommysmammy wrote a review Aug 2022
Limerick, Ireland19 contributions6 helpful votes
Stopped in for lunch en route to Bantry. We were greeted warmly immediately and were shown to our table. Great selection of starters, mains and lunch items. All four of us enjoyed every bit of our food which arrived promptly and was freshly cooked. A special word of thanks to the lady that helped us with the seating arrangements!! Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tommy T wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Visited Wallis arms today Friday 17 06 22 wow wow the place was spotless the toilets were designed to a standered by someone thinking ahead seated straight away by a lady full of charm food was of the highest standered both plates were returned empty and I was with a person who has been in the food business for 25 years and she was as I blown away by the interior design we were on our way back from dunmanway food excellent priced right and by was it fresh but every thing has to be right and it was we found a gem Tom limerick
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Julie O wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I went for lunch with a friend in the Wallis Arms as we had to wait as the internet was down in the bank today 31/05/2022 I had soup and a sandwich and my friend sandwich chips and 2 cokes. After we ate I asked for the bill and presented my card for payment. The manager came over and said cash only and demanded I go to the ATM for the money which I did. The ATM was not working due to the Internet being down in the area. I returned to the Wallis Arms and explained the situation to the manager. As I work nearby I said I would go to the next village for money and return to pay. He stood between us and the door and said No and he bullied me into giving my card details. I told him I really was not comfortable and very unhappy with the situation but he said we had to give him the number and he became angry and irate, he said 'I wont go shopping with it' Being afraid I gave him my details and we left. I am so vey angry that I gave him my details and I am so worried. We will NEVER NEVER NEVER return to the Wallis Arms in Millstreet. I think it would have been a very different situation if it was two men !!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Always ask whether you can use a Bank card before ordering
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wallis Arms, General Manager at Wallis Arms Hotel
Responded 20 Jan 2023
Hi, I remember this situation very well. You have been politely asked to leave some form of the ID so that we would know who you are, and have ever demanded any money from your or your card details. As for standing at the door bullying, this is against the law and if this factitious incident occurred, I suggest you would have reported it to appropriate authorities. The reason you were asked for cash only is because the internet in the whole areas was down, and we weren't able to take card payments due to this. The interaction also happened at the counter you have approached and not at the door as described.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emma wrote a review Mar 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
On the way back from Killarney to the Midlands we stopped over for the night at the Wallis Arms Hotel, the staff here can't do enough for you to make you feel welcome ,the dinner was fabulous top marks to the chef we both had the stuffed garlic mushrooms and the minute you taste them you know they were made fresh not bought in prepacked, for our mains we had the fish and chips again so fresh and the lightest crispy batter, thanks to Chloe who went out of her way when I asked for some extra teabags brought a tray with mugs, teabags and a few biscuits up to the room for us, if your passing through millstreet would definitely recommend if you need a bed to stay there and if not definitely stop for the food, thanks to Nigel and all the staff for making our stay so comfortable 😀
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AUTheatreMom wrote a review Oct 2021
San Antonio, Texas9 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at the Wallis Arms on the recommendation of family in Ireland. The staff was very accommodating as we arrived directly from the airport and were quite fatigued. Our room was spotlessly clean, roomy, and very comfortable. The bed was firm, which we like. Those with limitations climbing stairs should be aware that there are two rather lengthy flights to navigate en route to the rooms. We met family downstairs in the restaurant for a very tasty dinner and partook of the full Irish breakfast prior to striking out the next morning. Irish hospitality at its best. We’ll stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Eva Walsh wrote a review Aug 2020
Rathmore, Ireland3 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked a table for 10 people and asked over the phone would we be seated at one table as many other places have agreed...Women on the phone said we can call sit together for our dinner. On arrival we were seated at two tables of 5 not even facing eachother but back to back...I asked the waiter there was it possible to even turn the tables so we could atleast talk across the table to eachother and he said he’d ask as he pointed out joining tables was off the book even though I was told on the phone being seated together was perfectly fine. He then proceeded to not come back to the table with an answer so another waitress came down and I asked again which she said she’d ask the supervisor and get him/her down to the table. No supervisor approached us and we never got an answer in which we spent all our time back to back not able to talk to one another and very far apart....The Bill was wrong and we got over charged but just as well we check before we pay. I will not be returning nor will my friends because of this nonsense
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wallis Arms, General Manager at Wallis Arms Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Hi Eva Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention Under covid 19 restrictions we are unable to seat any more than 6 people at a table 2 metres apart, hence this is why you were seated at 2 tables of 5, 2 metres apart. Every member of staff are "covid 19 Compliance Management Trained" and will comply fully with their training. I assume you misheard the seating of the tables as we have had many many requests for the same and unfortunately can't seat customers always how they want, but most customers are very understanding to the circumstances we are operating under. I'm not aware of any problem of over charging, however it can happen as with any transaction human error can occur, if there was a problem, I assume it was sorted out for you by a manager on the night. On any busy night there is always a manager and 2 assistant managers on duty, they are the ones that sort out any problems with bills etc. Nothing was reported to me, but again, if you had any problems with your night let me offer my sincere apologies, and do call in again and let me try and make amends for any discomfort you suffered.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mdenise I wrote a review Oct 2019
Cork9 contributions6 helpful votes
Would not recommend to eat here, the food was warm..completely processed and cheap for what they charged. Plates were dirty, cutlery was bent. We Had to nearly make our own tea/coffee. I or we would not recommend to eat her.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wallis Arms, General Manager at Wallis Arms Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Thank you for your comment Our food is all freshly cooked non proceeded, served direct from our kitchen and of the top quality. We take pride in our food and service. Are you sure you have the correct place???
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Millstreet area.
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkMillstreet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WALLIS ARMS HOTEL - B&B Reviews (Millstreet, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Wallis Arms Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Wallis Arms Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Millstreet Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wallis Arms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Wallis Arms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Wallis Arms Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wallis Arms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wallis Arms Hotel Restaurant, Kall And Dyyne, and Castle Pizza Millstreet.
Is Wallis Arms Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 km away from the centre of Millstreet.
Does Wallis Arms Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Wallis Arms Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ballyvourney ruins (14.8 km).