We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dromoland Castle Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Dromoland Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dromoland Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,114: English reviews
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This was our first trip to Dromoland but it was special. We were greeted by a warm and friendly staff who were very professional and seemed very much to want to please. The Castle should viewed on the whole. The grounds are beautiful, the food is superior. We had dinner in the Thomond Room and it was more than outstanding....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth617_12
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth617_12 Thank you for your kind comments, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have the pleasure of your company again in the future. Yours sincerely Mark Nolan, General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Really great castle hotel. I went with a friend for a wedding so our experience was probably even better than most as it was all around amazing! The room was spacious and well appointed and surprisingly modern. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and we were able to spend some time with a hawk and go 'falconing'. The gardens were in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drtyler2013
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear drtyler2013 Thank you for your lovely comments, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Dromoland while attending a wedding celebration. I have shared your feedback with all of the team and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future. Sincerely Mark Nolan - General Manager

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

The castle is beautiful and it's a must! The activities are very entertaining, we tried clay shooting and horse back riding both very entertaining and can accommodate different levels of skills. The main restaurant is excellent for dinning. The Gallery, the informal, restaurant is very good as well. The Bar with live music is a great place to spend your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aorozco28
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aorozco28 Thank you for choosing Dromoland Castle and for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us to its fullest. We have just finished the first phase of a major renovation plan which saw a number of bedrooms fully refurbished and we start phase two in...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This resort features a castle surrounded by a golf course. First the positives: a wonderful formal dining room with excellent food, wines, and server; a fine group of porters who are both friendly and efficient; a large, well-kept landscape -- including gardens; and a quaint historic ambience in the main building. Now the negatives: the informal dining area (at the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank paul r
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear paul r Thank you for your feedback which we are all very disappointed to receive. I am very sorry that you were unhappy with your accommodation here at the castle and your dining experience at the Fig Tree Restaurant. I will certainly investigate and discuss your comments with the team. On a positive note, I am pleased that you...

London
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Amazing Hotel from the castle itself to the great staff working in it which make your stay amazing! Great golf court and amazing gardens. Our room was big and with all facilities included, great service to the room. It was our first time in this Hotel and I am sure we will be back. The food in all the restaurants...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raimundo T
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Raimundo T Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Dromoland Castle on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and hope we have the pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future. Sincerely Mark Nolan - General Manager

Hoboken
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Service, location, and food unbelievable. Definitely worth the expense. I would stay here again. My only regret is spending one night there. I had one complaint that didn't detract much and that was that some fruit flies entered the restaurant. It was a humid summer day after all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oscar V
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oscar V Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and of thrilled to read that you would return to us for a future visit. I hope that we have the pleasure of your company again in the not too...

Mt. Pleasant, SC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The only complaint we had was that our rooms upon arrival were mixed up. They put the single in a double room and double in a single room which was confusing and we had to wait until 5:00 pm for the other room to be cleaned. Also we miss climate control because of allergies. We know that this is very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F5959VPbarbarab
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear F5959VPbarbarab I am very sorry for the confusion regarding your rooms at check in and glad that we managed to rectify the situation for you. I hope that you enjoyed the hotel and all it has to offer during your visit and that we may have the pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future. Sincerely...

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Spent and evening at Dromoland castle. The room had a great view of the majestic entrance. The grounds are spectacular. Enjoyed a massage at the spa, a cocktail in the old library of the castle by the fire, and an excellent dinner. We would recommend the tasting menu with wine pairing. Drinks were a touch expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will H
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Will H Thank your for taking the time to share your experience at Dromoland on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your visit and hope that we have the pleasure of your company again in the future. Sincerely Mark Nolan - General Manager

MASS.
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We only stayed one night but it was well worth it. This was the end of our trip to Ireland and it was wonderful. Staff, room, restaurant and grounds all great. From checking in to leaving everything was well taken care of. Short ride to the Shannon Airport.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CARRIBTRAVELER
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CARRIBTRAVELER We were delighted to welcome you to Dromoland at the end of your vacation. I hope you had an enjoyable time in Ireland and am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your last night with us. I hope if you are returning to Ireland you would consider a return visit to us, we would be delighted to welcome...

Reviewed 27 August 2016

Dromoland Castle was an outstanding five star experience. The service was exceptional, caring and authentic -- among the best we have seen around the world. Guests at Dromoland are warmly greeted by personnel. The breakfast is lovely in presentation. Be sure to have tea or a Irish whiskey in the Historic library or sitting room areas. Danny, the beverage manager,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie23193
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laurie23193 We were delighted to welcome you to Dromoland Castle. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor, I will enjoy sharing your comments with Danny, Michael and indeed the entire team. I hope that you will have the opportunity to return to us for a future stay, we would be so...

1,541 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1454)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (553)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (137)
Viewed
View from Room (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (534)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.9 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,087 reviews
11.5 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,377 reviews
8.4 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
380 reviews
8.1 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
773 reviews
11.1 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: €88 - €1,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dromoland Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Dromoland Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We enjoyed a tower room, but a steep climb up the stairs. Cannot imagine a disabled person here.”
EddieLTravels, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Book early!”
MitchellSheinbaum, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Not 223, or 122 the one that opens out into the maids luggage full of towels for deliveries.”
SharonS247, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are great.”
youngcj49, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Front room we stayed in had an excellent view of the front of the castle.”
233JimM, 22 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Preferred Hotels
US$1,314* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$1,314
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates