Dromoland Castle Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Dromoland Castle Hotel

Traveller (2464)
Room & Suite (477)
Dining (211)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Ireland’s most magical address, Dromoland Castle has been welcoming guests since the 16th Century. The ancestral home of the O’Briens of Dromoland, whose lineage dates back 1,000 years to Brian Boru, one of the last High Kinds of Ireland, we’ve got nobility and hospitality in our DNA. From the imposing baronial façade, to our startling interioirs, you’ll find a world of historic grandeur underpinned by the finest modern comforts. With lavish décor, indulgent dining, fabulous views and magnificent bedrooms, this is a place to feel at home. Behind our warm Irish welcome is the belief that every guest is royalty. Stroll the 450-acre estate. Tee off on our world class golf course. Take afternoon tea by a roaring fire. Relax in our intimate spa. Enjoy delicious cuisine. No matter what your preference, at Dromoland Castle there’s no escaping the sense that you are walking in the shadows of kings. The pinnacle of excellence, come in the knowledge that all your expectations will be met.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Archery
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Boating
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Butler service
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Newmarket-on-Fergus Ireland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
Shannon Airport
Kerry County Airport
79.1 km
See all flights
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles5,600 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Dromoland Castle Hotel emerges as a storied oasis in Western Ireland, where guests frequently laud the seamless fusion of historic elegance and contemporary comfort. The staff's professionalism and warmth contribute to the hotel's lively atmosphere, often accentuated by live music. While the spacious rooms receive commendations for their cleanliness and modern amenities, some guests consider the hotel's pricing steep, questioning the value for money. Nonetheless, the hotel's prime location and an array of activities captivate travelers seeking a fairytale experience.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
5,600Reviews70Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,759
  • 507
  • 194
  • 83
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SFSusan wrote a review Jan 2020
San Francisco, Ca
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You can tell this is a great place to spend Christmas by the number of people returning year after year, and being greeted as old friends by the staff. And I can see why (I'll be returning, that's for sure!) The castle is elegant without being formal or stuffy, my room was spacious, light, modern and comfortable (especially the shower... the controls are set so that you don't get drenched with cold water when you turn it on, and the floor is truly non-slip).

There are Christmas gifts for all the guests, Santa's arrival is announced by a bagpiper, there's music and food... so much good food! The activities like the Hawk Walk and pony and trap ride are the icing on the cake.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear Susan W Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas celebrations here at Dromoland and will share your very kind comments with all the team. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us in the not too distant future. Sincerely Mark Nolan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reynob12 wrote a review Aug 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed under the stay for 3 pay for 2 nights deal which is such a great offer. Check in was smooth and our room was ready straight away. We even received an upgrade. This was followed by cookies and milk being delivered to my toddler who was treated like a prince!
Room was fabulous and spotless. Housekeeping are to be commended... the little touches like how my little boy's teddies were positioned 'reading' a book in his cot... made his night... that and the jelly tots as part of his turn down!
All staff were so helpful and kind and made us feel so welcome and special. The food was really good, especially breakfast! Dinner in the Earl of Thomand was very busy though. The sommelier was trying to ensure everyone's wine was topped up while also having to take wine orders and advise.
We went for a white bottle but as we were having beef for the main we were told we could order a glass of red prior to our main service. For some reason we were never served our sorbet course, our main arrived and by the time the sommelier got back to us we were finishing off the main. A small blip in an otherwise lovely meal.

We really enjoyed the archery experience and I had a fabulous treatment in the Spa. The only comment I'd have about that was the fact that after the treatment prior to been shown to the relaxation room I was taken back into the spa reception to be shown the products used and asked would I be purchasing any. This made me feel quite uncomfortable as I hadn't budgeted for that and I wasn't expecting the therapist to try and sell me something. After the relaxation room when I went to check out of the Spa the products were again placed by the till and I was again asked to buy some. I have no doubt the therapist was only doing what she was told but maybe a time and place should be considered for this kind of product pushing.

We dined in the Fig Tree twice and the food was lovely. It's a pity the Gallery menu in the castle is so restricted in the evening, a further dining option would be great. I'm not sure if I missed it but I couldn't find any baby changing facilities in the Fig Tree. When I went to change my baby all I could see was the single cubicle ladies toilet and I had to change my baby on the floor of the bathroom while people were constantly knocking to see was the cubicle occupied. I didn't feel this was appropriate but apologies if I missed these facilities. There was nobody about to ask unless I went back into the restaurant and I didn't want to be walking around the place with a baby needing changing.

Overall, we had an amazing time and all staff deserve a massive pat on the back. We look forward to travelling soon again to this fabulous hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Nolan, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel
Responded 6 Sept 2021
Dear 487bridgetr Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable experience with us on the whole but am naturally disappointed that certain aspects of your stay did not meet with your expectations so please accept my apologies for these. I appreciate your bringing them to my attention. We hope that it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Sincerely Mark Nolan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
loony-lana wrote a review Sept 2020
Ella, Sri Lanka
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked in for two dinners (in The EARL of Thomond restaurant) and afternoon tea with my fiancée and my family. The weekend we went was due to be the weekend of my wedding (which had to be postponed) and although we didn't have the luxury of staying in the castle, the staff could not have made the weekend any more special for us. They were so friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was so relaxed, the food was amazing, the cocktails delicious (we tried almost all of the cocktails on the menu but the fool was a firm favourite), the wine list was extensive :-) The sommelier Ian was a particular hit with my family as he was so chatty, knowledgeable and funny. We were lucky enough to have a harpist play during our Saturday evening dinner and have beautiful music when having after dinner drinks also. The afternoon tea was lovely and very good value by Irish standards and we were even offered extra sandwiches. The castle is so cosy and the fires were always lit (even in July). If you are thinking of booking a meal there I would definitely recommend it. We can't wait to go back and are hoping to stay there on our next trip.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Nolan, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel
Responded 22 Sept 2020
Dear loony-lana Thank you for your lovely review following your recent dining experience at Dromoland, I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time with us from start to finish. We hope it is not too long before you visit Co.Clare again and we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dromoland. Many thanks again for the kind words. Sincerely Mark Nolan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bbbbb938 wrote a review Jun 2021
Dublin, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were very nice. We organised 2 activities and we only had to wait at reception rather than find the location. The food was nice. My partner was unwell and had to cancel a treatment and they didn't charge so that was great. I forgot to bring a hairbrush and they dropped a comb and brush to by room, so I was saved.

Our room was a deluxe as far as I remember, and it had a nice view but it was just beside a staff smoking area so I was woken up by chatting and the smell of smoke. Luckily there was decent air con in the room but it would have been nice to have the window open in good weather.

It was explained to me on both nights that there were 2 cocktail menus, one for the regular cocktails and one for the special ones. The second one had no prices but I did check them on the main menu the first night (I just saw them there by accident). I'm not sure why they had the other menu - but this is what I was shown on the second night, and I thought the prices were all around 18-21 euro for cocktails , which is enough. But it turns out that I ordered one that was 80 euro! (hadn't clocked that one on the main menu the night before) No one warned me that it was 4 times the price of all the others. I did mention this to the waiter when I got the bill and he checked with the bar who said that they showed me the menu with prices, but they didn't. It just should have been flagged, given the massive jump in price. It was deducted by 30 euro anyway. I certainly would have savoured it more if I had known.

The swimming pool and sauna were ok but part of the club, so it didn't feel too luxurious. The steam room was not steamy, but apparently was better the second day. I couldn't see any controls to make it more steamy.

We were seated between 2 kids tables for dinner but everyone has to be accommodated. At breakfast one morning we were seated right in the middle and all the staff were bustling around us (as of course it was busy), so I didn't feel like I could even lean back a bit in my chair. We had a much nicer seat the next morning in the sun room or whatever it's called.

We thoroughly enjoyed our falconry experience. The guide was very knowledgeable. We had fun doing archery just before we left. We did fairly well so that gave us a boost before leaving.

Overall, I think the staff were very pleasant but there are just a few things that could be improved to make it worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Nolan, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel
Responded 15 Jun 2021
Dear bbbbb938 Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us for the most part and found the team to be pleasant and accommodating to your needs. I will discuss all of your feedback with the team in the bar and restaurant as it should have been brought to your attention that the cocktail you ordered was one of the more expensive on our Tarot Card menu. I am pleased however that we did make the gesture of reducing the cost to you. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we always strive to maintain and indeed improve our standards of service. Again, thank you for your feedback, I do hope that we have the pleasure of your company again in the future. Sincerely Mark Nolan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tour162206 wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful building with high standard of decoration . Lovely friendly staff. Easy access to Shannon airport, M18 and M4. Room service: additional €6.50 per person. On leaving, heard advertising for 2 night stay plus dinner which was half the price of 'normal' room charge the immediate previous week.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Tour162206 Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We advertise special offers during quieter periods and especially during the winter months. We would be more than happy to include you on any such offers via email. Or indeed these offers are also detailed on our website. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us in the future. Sincerely Mark Nolan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harry Todd wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Castle for two nights recently. Upon arrival, we were greeted and welcomed at the main entrance gate by a staff member who enquired our names which we furnished. We then drove up to the main reception and another staff member welcomed us by name (never happened before ever) which really makes you feel special that they were waiting for us to arrive. Brilliant.

Our luggage was brought to our well-appointed rooms by this same gentleman (name escapes me) in the Queen Anne courtyard who explained the Courtyard was built for a visit by Queen Anne. One could see the thickness of the stone walls at the window and door openings. The accommodation was superb and luxurious as you would expect from a five-star hotel. All mod cons with plenty of fluffy towels and sanitary ware of the best quality. Lots and lots of wardrobe space complete with wall safe and Expresso coffee maker. Little touches like chocolates on your nightstand by the turndown staff complete the experience also.

Dining is an experience. From breakfast to dinner the food is something to be savoured and enjoyed with flavours that I'm sure are unique to the Dromoland dining experience. Full marks to the chef and kitchen staff. All staff are of five-star quality, friendly and make you feel at home.

All in all, I hear you say "would you return for another visit"? "In a heartbeat"
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Nolan, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel
Responded 2 Sept 2020
Dear arcants1 Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review and indeed for choosing to stay with us here at Dromoland Castle. I am so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your recent stay, I will be sure to share your very kind words with all of the team. I am thrilled to read that you would return to us for a future stay, hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future, in the meantime we truly appreciate your recommendation. Sincerely Mark Nolan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ivan H wrote a review Feb 2020
Berlin, Germany
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel itself is charming and the entire area surrounding and staff.

The facilities are not up to the standard of other places in that price bracket ,the spa is located in main building and in itself is small and outdated.
The hot tub pool and gym are in different area beside golf club ,not sure still how it works as We would usually go to spa then pool or vice versa .

The cocktail bar is good for a drink , pints 6.20 , glass of wine is around 14 euro ! yas can decide for yourself on that one !
The food at breakfast is very good and restaurant is also good only if your into very fine dining
The room we had was class decor but unfortunately you can hear other guests making noise above room and I’m sure the other way around too!
Overall it has a good bit to do to demand the rates !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear 231ivanh Thank you for your feedback which we were disappointed to read. I am very sorry that you did not feel you received value for money during your visit to Dromoland. Unfortunately, the hot tub area in the Spa is closed at the moment due to construction. We do have a steam room/sauna/Jacuzzi available for guest use in the leisure center. I will certainly discuss your comments with the team at our weekly management meeting. I hope you would consider returning to Dromoland if traveling in the area again, we would be delighted to welcome you back. Sincerely Mark Nolan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dennis James wrote a review Mar 2020
Annapolis, Maryland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A wonderful stay in a beautiful and historical castle. On top of the incredible location and venue, the people at Dromoland truly make you feel like royalty and treat everyone with the utmost respect and hospitality. If you are even remotely close to Dromoland Castle, you MUST stay here!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel
Responded 26 Jun 2020
Dear djames20 Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Dromoland Castle and for your wonderful feedback. I have shared your encouraging comments with all the team here who join me in thanking you. We are all genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to the pleasure of hopefully welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Sincerely Mark Nolan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanneire wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you for a wonderful visit. The hotel manages to combine complete luxury with wonderful friendliness. Visited with my parents and young children and there’s something for everyone.
We loved the elegant dining room and although my children were mainly happy to eat from the adult menu there was no problem mixing and matching with the the children’s menu. The food and service were excellent.
We loved swimming in the pool, cycling around the gorgeous grounds and using the go karts (all complimentary).
It’s not cheap but for a real 5 star treat it’s definitely money well spent.
There was full Covid compliance and we felt very safe and well minded. I really hope to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Nolan, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear joanneire123 Many thanks for the lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. We too hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Sincerely Mark Nolan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rantover wrote a review Feb 2020
County Cork, Ireland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We ate in the Figtree, which was very busy, so not exactly a salubrious affair, where the food was fine, but nothing too exciting or notable. The real disappointment was with the spa treatments. I had a pedicure, which was shortened to a very noticeable degree, and did not include all the elements of the treatment. I complained on paying (which I hate doing when with a group) and was questioned on whether x, y, z had been done, to which I replied no, and they said that they would report these omissions to the spa manager (I really don't care about someone being reported, I just want my complaint to be resolved - very unprofessional). The amount I was charged was drastically reduced, but this misses the point. Another treatment of correct duration should really be offered, as a shortened treatment doesn't just leave you feeling cheated, the whole point is to engage, relax, perhaps have something worthwhile achieved. Why bother otherwise? A very bad experience.
Others in the party also complained about their pedicures/manicures (we were there for a wedding) as their paint smudged and chipped within a day!!!
Also, I would never knowingly support a business that's involved in hunting (even the English "banned" this very English activity). Very disappointed that they support animal abuse.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear onlythetruthmatters We do not have hunting on the estate and do not support blood sports or animal abuse. I do not feel it appropriate to make further comment on your review as we have dealt with your issues raised last year which you were happy with at that time. Mark Nolan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Mark_Nolan_GM
Clare2 contributions3 helpful votes
Dear MEPepp71 If you are not hiring a car yes we would recommend the train from Ennis to Dublin, it is not a direct train however. Best wishes Mark Nolan
Mara P asked a question Jul 2023
Oviedo, Florida78 contributions9 helpful votes
What is the closest train station to the castle?
Answer from John F
3 contributions6 helpful votes
Friends were traveling with us, when we stayed at Dromoland Castle, in March. They were returning to Dublin the next day. They had researched the nearest train station to Dromoland. It is at Limerick Junction, which is South-East of the city of Limerick. The drive from Dromoland took about an hour, maybe a bit less.
Answer from Greg H
Buffalo, New York9 contributions1 helpful vote
We were not aware of any dress code for The Dromoland Afternoon Tea. That said I am grateful we were fortunate to attend. The staff was impeccable in delivering 5 star service and the food offerings and presentations worthy of any baking competition ! I would recommend casual business attire..you never want to feel the staff is better attired. Don’t miss this wonderful effort!
R Y wrote a tip 11 Jul
12 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just go to Ashford Castle or Adare Manor instead, both are way, way better than Dromoland"
Read full review
Betsi B wrote a tip May 2024
Weatherford, Texas288 contributions105 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would ask about meetings and conventions on site and avoid. Day two of our visit there were Audis parked everywhere, flags etc"
Read full review
LeawoodCouple wrote a tip May 2024
Leawood, Kansas278 contributions119 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Fig Tree restaurant at the golf course had excellent food and wonderful service. "
Read full review
Susan L wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No question, it's expensive, but worth the splurge. Double check clay shooting and archery, as the same staff for both. Hawk Walk is a must."
Read full review
Ariel E wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely ask for Sheehan and Matthew to waiter for you."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newmarket-on-Fergus area.
PRICE RANGE
€143 - €942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dromoland castle ireland, castle dromoland ireland, dromoland castle hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty ClareNewmarket-on-Fergus
NUMBER OF ROOMS
97
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DROMOLAND CASTLE HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Dromoland Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Dromoland Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dromoland Castle (0.07 km), Quin Abbey (4.9 km), and Ballyhannon House (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dromoland Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Dromoland Castle Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Dromoland Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Dromoland Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dromoland Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dromoland Castle, The Abbey Tavern, and Ennis Gourmet Store.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dromoland Castle Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dromoland Castle Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Dromoland Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dromoland Castle Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Dromoland Castle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Quin Abbey (4.9 km) and Knappogue Castle (5.1 km).
All Newmarket-on-Fergus HotelsNewmarket-on-Fergus Hotel DealsHotels near Dromoland Castle Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire