The Harbour Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Harbour Inn

Another view from our room
Traveller (125)
                  bathroom
Room & Suite (45)
Christmas 2019
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 3 hotels in Buncrana
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Harbour Inn is located 1km outside the seaside town of Buncrana, with the Hotel situated on the shores of Lough Swilly. The Harbour Inn offers 30 En-Suite bedrooms with family, double, twin, triple and single rooms available, offering food 7 days a week with live music in the bar every weekend. The Northwest Golf Club is just a 5 minute walk and the world renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club, who hosted the Irish Open 2018 is just a 20 minute drive. We are the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way, with Ireland’s most Northerly Point, Malin Head being just a 30 minute drive away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Hiking
Horseback riding
Windsurfing
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English
478Reviews1Q+A91Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 321
  • 112
  • 18
  • 12
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Linny343 wrote a review Sept 2021
County Fermanagh, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We only went to buncrana for the day but then decided to stay it was our first time visiting buncrana and we fell in love with the place .
We walked in and got the last room available the polite girl with dark hair told us the room would be ready in one hour and offered us some coffee while we waited , we declined the coffee as it was a beautiful day and we spent the rest of the day on the beautiful beach across the road it really is stunning and so peaceful.
The room was spacious and clean and even had water bottles and coffee available pleanty of storage and a large bathroom we where very satisfied with the room and the price we paid .
Plenty of secure parking
It is a bit of a trek into town we are in our 30s but with the warm weather we found it a long walk so we got a taxi to hotel for only 6 euro couldn’t beat it .
Breakfast was beautiful very fresh and plentiful the coffee was great , the room is nice and bright and girls serving are very efficient.
We will definitely return again soon …..it’s a real hidden gem
There is also a shop next door for essentials which is a great bonus
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathleen Doherty, General Manager at The Harbour Inn
Responded 9 Sept 2021
Hi Folks, Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us this week. It is always lovely to receive nice, positive feedback. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and your time in Buncrana, it is extra beautiful when the sun is shining. Thank you for mentioning our hardworking staff, I will be sure to pass on your compliments. Thank you again, and we all look forward to your next visit to The Harbour Inn. Best Wishes Patricia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pat P wrote a review Oct 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was our first time in Buncrana. The Harbour Inn is in a great location for touring. The room was big (including a walk-in wardrobe), bright and absolutely spotless with a view over the sea. The staff (Sinead, Patricia, Chris, to name but 3 )were exceptionally friendly and very helpfully with advice on the local area. The food in the restaurant was excellent and varied. We look forward to returning.....I can say no more!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathleen Doherty, General Manager at The Harbour Inn
Responded 7 Oct 2021
Hi Folks, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us here in Buncrana. I will pass your compliments to the staff who will be thrilled. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Harbour Inn again in the near future. Best Wishes Patricia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael D wrote a review Jan 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an enjoyable stay here for a weekend in January. The hotel was very accommodating in organising interconnecting rooms for us as we have 3 kids, and also ensured it was a quite room. The staff were very friendly throughout our stay and facilitated us for dinner on Saturday evening even though the restaurant was full. Overall a very friendly spot with great staff and good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask to ensure you are not over the bar on Saturdays as they have live music then.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah P wrote a review Feb 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night for a friends birthday. Receptionist was pleasant, booked us in for dinner in the bar and showed us to our room. The room was spotless and spacious but it was absolutely freezing and the first thing we all did was climb under the covers to wait for it to heat up while one of our party went to ask for a spare room key so that we could leave the room to heat up while we had lunch. She was told that the room had been unoccupied and the heating wasn't turned on prior to our arrival... in February, beside the sea!! Lunch and service in the bar was good and we were advised that the live music that night was too notch and that there would be a brilliant atmosphere which persuaded us to stay in the hotel that evening as we didn't know the area, weren't given any other recommendations and it was a horrible stormy night. I don't have many words for the service we received during dinner; wrong drinks, I asked the waitress what gins they had and she said they only served Gordon's, I said I could see that they had a wide variety behind the bar and asked if she could let me know what gins they stocked to which she replied "she didn't know what they had" so I went to the bar to see for myself before I was able to order a drink. Do not order the chicken florentina, its described as chicken with mozzarella, spinach and a red wine and cream sauce. Its actually chicken with packet grated cheese and thick salty gravy. When we spoke to the waitress about this she was less than happy about us voicing our opinions and tried to argue with us that what was on the plate was a red wine sauce. The "entertainmen" took over an hour to set up, sang four songs, all read of the screen of her laptop like karaoke and cut each song off early. Swore alot. And then gave up after the 4 songs and packed up and left without saying a word. By this stage it was too late to go anywhere else so we were only left with the option of going back to our room. Breakfast was nice but not hot, much like the water when we returned to our room for a shower. The only apology we recieved over the course of the 2 days was from the receptionist when we re-voiced our complaints upon check out. I understand that everyone has an "off" night but the staff that we interacted with here really need to learn basic customer service skills.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathleen Doherty, Owner at The Harbour Inn
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, unfortunately you do seem to have enjoyed your time with us, this is very disappointing to hear as all our staff really try hard to ensure your stay is as pleasant as possible. The heat had been on prior to your arrival the radiators were already hot in your room when you checked in. I wish you had said you were unhappy withe heat as extra heaters are available. During dinner the waiting staff said that you did not like the dish, you requested (chicken florentina ) this was replaced by duck special at your request and your group appeared to enjoy your meal without further comment. We have an extensive drinks menu and try to ensure that all tastes are catered for. You are quite right in that our entertainment did end much sooner then normal, this was due to equipment failure. apologies that it spoilt your evening but thankfully a rare occasion. We could only offer background music at that point. Again we really would have liked to know you were unhappy before you checked out as it gives us the opportunity to rectify things. Please contact me again should you wish to discuss this further. Kind regards Kathleen Doherty
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith_Ireland wrote a review Sept 2020
Derry, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at numerous hotels in Donegal during the current Covid 19 pandemic however the restrictions in place here differ greatly from anywhere else. On a positive note, the evening meal and breakfast were very good as where the bar and restaurant staff, they worked so hard.
However, this hotel did not respond to emails prior to our stay and the initial experience with the reception staff was very poor. The staff were more interested in talking to others (personal call) on the phone than checking guests in. We were told if we wanted a drink, we could get one at the bar but must take it to our room. Our room had one chair and when we asked for another chair at reception, the staff replied that they didn't understand what we were looking for. This exchange lasted for a few minutes and we left reception frustrated. What is difficult to understand from the question "Can I have another chair in my room?". We eventually got the chair but were confined to our room when having a drink even though there were tables outside, we were not allowed to sit there when having a drink.
Whilst we fully appreciate the need for Covid 19 restrictions, why are the rules so different here to the other 5 hotels we have visited in Donegal?
Will never return and would not recommend to anyone who would like a short, enjoyable break. The 2 stars are for the bar, restaurant staff and food.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathleen Doherty, General Manager at The Harbour Inn
Responded 5 Sept 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review to stay with us, I will pass your kind comments to our chefs and waiting staff. I am sorry you were not happy with our Covid-19 restrictions. We are following strict HSE and Irish Government guidelines to ensure the health and safety of all of our guests and our employees. I am sorry there was not a second chair in your room. When you asked for the chair, you were going on a drive to which we recommended the scenic drive around Dunree Fort. On your return the receptionist followed you up with a chair as we are not permitted to enter your room during your stay. If you would like to discuss this further please give me a call on +353 749321810. If you should ever wish to return I hope you have much more pleasant experience. Kind Regards Patricia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmyLou wrote a review Aug 2020
Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely loved our stay at The Harbour Inn. The staff were so lovely and welcoming. The room was very big and so clean. There was even a walk in wardrobe. I liked that we could come and go to our room as we pleased without needing to go through reception! So handy! Especially handy after having a dip at the beach, it meant we didn't have to pass through a lobby in sandy / damp clothes! The breakfast was delicious - would recommend the full Irish! Will be recommending to family and friends who are travelling to Donegal!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathleen Doherty, Owner at The Harbour Inn
Responded 9 Aug 2020
Hi Folks, Thank you ever so much for your kind review, it is very appreciated! I am delighted you got lovely sunshine on your trip and got to spend time on our glorious beach across the road. Thank you for mentioning our hardworking staff, I will be sure to pass on your compliments. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Buncrana again soon. Best Wishes Patricia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kieltys wrote a review Jul 2020
Strabane, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this establishment whilst on holiday in Donegal. We had chowder and soup for starters and they were delicious. We all went for the smoked salmon salad main which again was gorgeous. Our grandson had sausages mash and gravy and he cleaned the plate. Great value for money and the staff were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathleen Doherty, Owner at The Harbour Inn
Responded 23 Jul 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent visit to our restaurant. I am delighted you all enjoyed your meal and I will pass your compliments to the chefs. I hope you enjoyed your holiday in Donegal and hope to welcome you back to Buncrana again soon. Best Wishes Patricia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
annmarie S wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are just home from a 3 night stay at The Harbour Inn. Lovely accommodation. We opted for the family suite which had a double bedroom and en-suite with an adjoining twin single bedroom for the kids. Rooms spotless and spacious. Beds comfortable. Easy access to rooms from the car park. All the staff we encountered where so friendly and welcoming but especially Patricia the receptionist-she was more than helpful with recommendations on where to go and what to do. Breakfast was lovely. We ate in the restaurant once and it was Devine. There’s a fantastic beach just across the road-you can literally walk straight across the road or there’s a car park further down if you want to take the car. Theres a 24hr apple green filling station right next door to the Inn. There’s so much to do in buncrana itself which is only a 2 min drive and you’re also well based to travel and explore the area further. All in all I’d definitely recommend the Harbour Inn and would definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathleen Doherty, Owner at The Harbour Inn
Responded 9 Aug 2020
Hi Guys, Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us during the week. I am delighted to read you all enjoyed your visit. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to all the staff, and I am glad you liked the recommendations. We are very lucky to be situated close to lots of different attractions and activities. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon! Best Wishes Patricia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johngA552DV wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 3 nights recently. The room was spotless and comfortable. I would suggest the provision of a 2nd chair given that guests are spending a lot more time in the room because of Covid 19 restrictions. Premises adheres strictly to COVID limitations ( can’t blame them for that) . You can get a drink at the bar and bring it back to your room which brings me back to the 2nd chair.
Breakfast was somewhat disappointing. Every meat product is smoked and when I asked for unsmoked bacon I still got the smoked variety. Staff at both breakfast and dinner were super friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathleen Doherty, General Manager at The Harbour Inn
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we appreciate your feedback. I apologise there was not a second chair in your room, as there should have been. I have passed your comments to housekeeping who will replace the chair immediately. Here at The Harbour Inn we do adhere to the guidelines set out by the government and HSE and this is to ensure the health and safety of our guests and staff at all times. I am sorry you were not satisfied with your breakfast, I will let our head chef know your concerns. I hope should you decide to return you enjoy your breakfast a lot more. Take Care Patricia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim H wrote a review Sept 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There aren't many mid week accommodation choices on Inishowen during these difficult times but one of the best is the Harbour Inn. We stayed two nights in mid September and were given a large double room with parking at the door. Breakfast was one of the best we have had in years. They are trying hard to make it work and they are succeeding. Good luck Harbour crew and may thanks. We'll be back next month.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathleen Doherty, General Manager at The Harbour Inn
Responded 21 Sept 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind review, it is greatly appreciated during these uncertain times. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and your time in Buncrana. I will be sure to pass your compliments to the staff and we all look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes Patricia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Nancy D
Nokomis, Florida
thanks for your response. the hotel has accommodated our request.
John S wrote a tip May 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"taxi to Buncrana €8..easy...book restaurant early on busy nights, friday, saturday"
Read full review
Hambo P wrote a tip Apr 2024
Houston, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking. Hotel is about 1 mile from the centre of Buncrana."
Read full review
Razzy M wrote a tip Apr 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book for restaurant, its soo good so is always full,, trust me you don't want to miss out on dinner and breakfast here,, its amazing "
Read full review
Sue R wrote a tip Sept 2023
Sandwich, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Car is needed to visit this venue, for way out from anywhere!"
Read full review
AntoinetteVI wrote a tip Jul 2023
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a table in the restaurant if you want to have dinner."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Buncrana area.
PRICE RANGE
€95 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the harbour hotel buncrana, harbour hotel buncrana
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalBuncrana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HARBOUR INN - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Buncrana, County Donegal) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Harbour Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Harbour Inn?
Nearby attractions include Swan Park (2.2 km), Buncrana Beach (1.3 km), and The Drift Inn (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Harbour Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Harbour Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at The Harbour Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Harbour Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Harbour Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Red Door Country House Bar & Restaurant, Ubiquitous Restaurant, and Belle's Kitchen.
Are there any historical sites close to The Harbour Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Amazing Grace Viewing Platform, Walk and Park! (2.2 km).
Does The Harbour Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Harbour Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Buncrana HotelsBuncrana Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BuncranaHotels near The Harbour Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire