We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Harbour Inn

Save
Share
Derry Road Ludden, Buncrana F93 V57X Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (103)
Dining (21)
Room & Suite (20)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Harbour Inn
Updated 07/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Buncrana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
The Harbour Inn is located 1km outside the seaside town of Buncrana, with the Hotel situated on the shores of Lough Swilly. The Harbour Inn offers 30 En-Suite bedrooms with family rooms available, offering food 7 days a week with live music in the bar every weekend. The Northwest Golf Club is just a 5 minute walk and the world renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club, who hosted the Irish Open 2018 is just a 20 minute drive. We are the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way, with Ireland’s most Northerly Point, Malin Head being just a 30 minute drive away.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Hiking
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Windsurfing
Canoeing offsite
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
416Reviews1Q+A72Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 275
  • 101
  • 17
  • 10
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
lorrie1210 wrote a review Oct 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
We visited the harbour Inn last month, rooms are very clean and spacious. The staff couldn't be more helpful we found they went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable. The food in the bar very good. Breakfast big servings, certainly set you up for the day. We were very fortunate weather was beautiful, plenty to do and see in the area. We will be back for a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathleen Doherty, General Manager at The Harbour Inn
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Hi Folks, Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us recently. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your compliments to the staff who will be delighted. I am glad to read you got nice weather for your trip! Buncrana is truly beautiful in the sunshine we are very lucky. I hope the weather is just as nice on your next visit. See you soon, Patricia
Read more
Bob V wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
We were at the Harbour Inn for a 2 night staycation. We loved the location: just across the road from a wonderful beach on Lough Swilly and a good home base for exploring Inishowen with a decent selection of places to eat around. We were made to feel very welcome and, thanks to Covid19 precautions, safe.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a view to see the bay and wonderful sunsets.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathleen Doherty, General Manager at The Harbour Inn
Responded 23 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your Staycation Package. We are extremely lucky to be situated opposite to the beautiful Ludden Beach and I am glad you got the lovely weather to visit the beach. Thank you again for your kind review and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Harbour Inn again in the near future. Best Wishes Patricia
Read more
Tim H wrote a review Sep 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom35 contributions20 helpful votes
There aren't many mid week accommodation choices on Inishowen during these difficult times but one of the best is the Harbour Inn. We stayed two nights in mid September and were given a large double room with parking at the door. Breakfast was one of the best we have had in years. They are trying hard to make it work and they are succeeding. Good luck Harbour crew and may thanks. We'll be back next month.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathleen Doherty, General Manager at The Harbour Inn
Responded 21 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind review, it is greatly appreciated during these uncertain times. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and your time in Buncrana. I will be sure to pass your compliments to the staff and we all look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes Patricia
Read more
Hilary A wrote a review Sep 2020
9 contributions1 helpful vote
We have just had a 4 night stay here and had a wonderful break! The hotel was clean and staff friendly. We didn't need to go out to find somewhere to eat, as the restaurant had an extensive menu at reasonable prices. Due to covid restrictions we had to book a time, and had 1hour and 45 mins to eat our meal. Had lovely walks on the nearby beach. On the whole, we were very happy with our stay, and would highly recommend the Harbour Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathleen Doherty, General Manager at The Harbour Inn
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us, your feedback is greatly appreciated at this time. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and your time in Buncrana. I will be sure to pass your compliments to the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Harbour Inn again soon. Best Wishes Patricia
Read more
Salmo S wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
We have stayed at numerous hotels in Donegal during the current Covid 19 pandemic however the restrictions in place here differ greatly from anywhere else. On a positive note, the evening meal and breakfast were very good as where the bar and restaurant staff, they worked so hard. However, this hotel did not respond to emails prior to our stay and the initial experience with the reception staff was very poor. The staff were more interested in talking to others (personal call) on the phone than checking guests in. We were told if we wanted a drink, we could get one at the bar but must take it to our room. Our room had one chair and when we asked for another chair at reception, the staff replied that they didn't understand what we were looking for. This exchange lasted for a few minutes and we left reception frustrated. What is difficult to understand from the question "Can I have another chair in my room?". We eventually got the chair but were confined to our room when having a drink even though there were tables outside, we were not allowed to sit there when having a drink. Whilst we fully appreciate the need for Covid 19 restrictions, why are the rules so different here to the other 5 hotels we have visited in Donegal? Will never return and would not recommend to anyone who would like a short, enjoyable break. The 2 stars are for the bar, restaurant staff and food.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathleen Doherty, General Manager at The Harbour Inn
Responded 5 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review to stay with us, I will pass your kind comments to our chefs and waiting staff. I am sorry you were not happy with our Covid-19 restrictions. We are following strict HSE and Irish Government guidelines to ensure the health and safety of all of our guests and our employees. I am sorry there was not a second chair in your room. When you asked for the chair, you were going on a drive to which we recommended the scenic drive around Dunree Fort. On your return the receptionist followed you up with a chair as we are not permitted to enter your room during your stay. If you would like to discuss this further please give me a call on +353 749321810. If you should ever wish to return I hope you have much more pleasant experience. Kind Regards Patricia
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the harbour hotel buncrana, harbour hotel buncrana
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalBuncrana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Harbour Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Harbour Inn?
Nearby attractions include Swan Park (2.2 km), Buncrana Beach (1.3 km), and The Drift Inn (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Harbour Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Harbour Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Harbour Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Harbour Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Belle's Kitchen, The Red Door Country House, and Sherpa Indian & Nepalese Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to The Harbour Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Amazing Grace Viewing Platform, Walk and Park! (2.2 km).
Does The Harbour Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Harbour Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.