We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Railway Road, Buncrana F93 PPH9 Ireland
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (433)
Room & Suite (225)
Dining (110)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 04/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Updated 04/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#2 of 4 in Buncrana
Travellers' Choice
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel on the Wild Atlantic Way, Buncrana Co. Donegal, offers guests stunning views of Lough Swilly leading out to the Atlantic Ocean with the majestic mountains sitting imposingly in the background. Enjoy a cool pint of Guinness watching the world go by in our Loughview Bar or dine in our Peninsula Restaurant with a menu that changes everyday, again with fantastic views over the Lough, you will be impressed by the views of this beautiful part of the world whilst relaxing and having the craic. Our friendly Donegal service makes our guests feel at ease with the knowledge that nothing is too much trouble. With a purpose built Planet Active Kids facility to keep the little ones occupied, to a state of the art Gym in our Health & Fitness Centre which also has a 20 metre straight, deck level swimming pool, a Seagrass Spa complex, 80 well appointed bedrooms, Inishowen Gateway is your Gateway to a wonderful breakaway for fun, exploring or simply taking it easy!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
1571Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 860
  • 425
  • 154
  • 74
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eddieharrington wrote a review 25 Jun
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Another wonderful break at the inishowen where the location and area of the hotel is fantastic but is over shadowed by the service that is provided by the excellent staff nothing is a problem and they endeavour to make your stay at the hotel a 5 star experience.can't wait untill in back again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Sleep Quality
John M wrote a review 19 Jun
Wexford, Ireland6 contributions1 helpful vote
Paid extra for superior room over looking Loch Swilly. Lovely room with plenty of space. Staff pleasant and efficient. Breakfasts very good with views over to the Lough similar to our bedroom. I could say also overlooking the Golf Course as well but this is stretching the imagination the course has not a great lay out, nor is it well marked out direction wise. The quality and service in the Hotel more that compensated for this. We would be delighted to return to the Inishowen Gateway Hotel in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a room over looking the Lough
See more room tips
John V wrote a review 14 Jun
Halifax, United Kingdom27 contributions20 helpful votes
Definitely a coach tour hotel and when the coaches are in the dining room at breakfast is a bit of a bun fight. Reasonably good food in the restaurant and adequate pub grub in the bar. Great atmosphere in the spacious bar when there is music but very quiet at other times. Bedroom was large and well equipped and beds were very comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Room Tip: Good views from sea view rooms
See more room tips
Lindsay wrote a review 3 Jun
Belfast, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful hotel, stunning wedding. Really lovely, hard working staff. I recommend they all get a pay rise, especially Brendan and Ciara . If you do one persons job well, you should be paid well. These guys were doing the work or 3 or 4 so I hope they are getting a pay rise!!! Thank you! It's the staff that make the experience we really appreciate it! X
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Robert D wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Hotel situated at Buncrana , easy access to hotel. Food excellent in restaurant both in morning at breakfast and evening meals. Staff very friendly both at front desk and in restaurant. Rooms bright and clean, fantastic views from restaurant over Lough Swilly. Lots to do in and around Buncrana explore wild Atlantic way.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Charlie Harkin wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Stayed here many times before, the place never fails, freshly redecorated and pleasant staff, you can’t go wrong staying at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel, also worth the few extra euro to upgrade to a superior suite
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
mary T wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Had such a lovely two night stay in you hotel. Staff are the nicest I have ever seen in a Hotel . So helpful and always there to make your stay so enjoyable . Will be back . Food amazing Thanks for everything
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Paul R wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Stayed in the inishowen gateway last Sunday and what a 1st class experience, the carvery lunch was faultless as was the breakfast and all for £118 for two! The staff were very nice and nothing was a bother. I highly recommend here and I will definitely will be back next month
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
madonmarx wrote a review May 2022
16 contributions9 helpful votes
I just want to begin by saying that I have submitted the review below to the hotel management twice in the past week. Once via email when we returned home from our stay, and also on the feedback form which the hotel sent out to us a few days later. I would always give a business the opportunity to respond, instead of putting a negative review on a public platform. Unfortunately there has been no response whatsoever from the hotel. It was an overnight stay and our evening meal was included in the package we were on. I had ordered breaded mushrooms to start with, and when they came out they were more than overdone, they were actually burnt. I attempted to eat the stalks of 2 of them (which were less burnt than the others) but the taste was just awful. The waitress who came to clear the plates made no comment, even though I’d barely touched my starter. In contrast, my husband had the Caesar salad, which was lovely. My main course was turkey and ham. I’d mostly finished it when the ham/bacon caught my eye. It was very badly discoloured, grey and green in places. I actually felt a bit ill at the thought of having eaten some of it. A different waitress who took the plates away asked if everything was alright, and I pointed out the ham to her. She said she would let the chef know. She didn’t return at all to the table. On leaving, we stopped to pay for a drink, and the supplement for the steak my husband had had. Another waitress who took payment asked if everything had been ok. We highlighted the issues we’d had. Whilst apologetic she said there was nothing she could do, but that she would pass it up the line to her supervisor. Again, when checking out this morning, we were asked about our stay. We said how lovely the room etc was, but again mentioned our dinner experience. The receptionist (who was lovely) just agreed that it was a shame. know that these things happen but I felt that there was no real acknowledgement from anyone that the food was so bad. I have attached pictures I took of the food. I’m aware that sometimes these things happen, but the most disappointing thing has been the apparent complete disregard for customer service. Accommodation is good, but unfortunately I could not recommend the restaurant, or the customer service at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from Joleene McDermott, Marketing at Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Responded 9 May 2022
Dear madonmarx Thank you for your review. We have already been in touch with you to apologise, regarding our lack of communication since receiving the email you mention above and please know it is not because we did not take your comments seriously. In fact all the issues you mention in your review have been addressed or is in the process of being addressed. Certain issues can take longer to address than others and we apologise our instant response was not there but we focused instead of finding out what had went wrong and how we could improve going forward. We apologise for your dissappointing meal and we hope that the improvements we have introduced ensure this incident is not repeated in future. Kindest regards Joleene McDermott Sales and Marketing Manager
Read more
Dinah D wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Attended my brothers wedding here at the weekend ! From working in the hotel/wedding industry I was slightly disappointed, the food was beautiful, however the staff treated the top table like we were just part of the people at the wedding on the main floor , top table got no extra treatment, for a big wedding the only had 2 bar staff on each bar which you had to wait a long time for a drink, plus the closed the bar at 20 past midnight , like that’s not what should be done at a wedding the bride and groom are paying a lot of money to have such a special day , then the dj was told by a very rude man to get the “f off the stage to stop playing music at 2 which he could of asked nicely, breakfast in the morning I don’t even know we’re to start , the staff were so rude and had no customer service what so ever , just wanted us to eat up and Get out, overall. I just felt bad for the bride and groom to have a day that was supposed to be memorable to be let down by the rudeness of the staff
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from Joleene McDermott, Marketing at Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Responded 9 May 2022
Dear Doc8224 Thank you for your review. Following on from reading your comments we have been in touch with the Bride and Groom to find out about what areas they felt we did not deliver on, on the day and have addressed them. We are delighted with your feedback about our food, a view shared by the couple. We are well known for our delicious menu on offer, all prepared by our team of chefs that look after the wedding on the day. Our bar time for closing is 12.30am, this is the closing time by law and not something we have control over. This is the time agreed with the bride and groom and the times that our bars always close at unless an extension to the bar time is agreed in advance and the fee for the extension added to the bill. The residents bar is then open for guests of the hotel to a later time after the wedding bar closes. I apologise if our staff in the breakfast room made you feel unwelcome or if they were rude in anyway. It really is not something we have had a complaint about in the past, our staff have always received excellent praise and be known for their welcoming attitude. Even in this platform we receive excellent reviews about our staff. I apologise if they did not deliver this on the day you went for breakfast and please know we will address this going forward. Warmest regards Joleene McDermott Sales and Marketing Manager
Read more
US$96 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
inishowen gateway hotel buncrana, inishowen gateway buncrana
IrelandCounty DonegalBuncrana
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Inishowen Gateway Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Swan Park (1.1 km), Buncrana Beach (0.2 km), and The Drift Inn (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Inishowen Gateway Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Inishowen Gateway Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Inishowen Gateway Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inishowen Gateway Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sherpa Indian & Nepalese Restaurant, Ubiquitous Restaurant and Bar, and Drift Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inishowen Gateway Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Inishowen Gateway Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Inishowen Gateway Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Inishowen Gateway Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Amazing Grace Viewing Platform, Walk and Park! (1.1 km).
Does Inishowen Gateway Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.