We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Railway Road, Birr R42 Y568 Ireland
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$180
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
US$164
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$164
TravelocityUS$164
Trip.comUS$182
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (150)
Room & Suite (42)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Birr
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
One of Ireland's finest family-run 4* Hotels since 1962, located in the charming heritage town of Birr where a warm welcome always awaits you. Stay in spacious bedrooms including family rooms with bunk beds and 6 bedrooms adapted for Wheelchair users. Meet in modern conference facilities, enhanced by our central location within 90 minutes of Dublin, Galway & Limerick. Enjoy our award-winning Restaurant & Gardens, lively Bar and relaxing foyer. Special offers include Vintage Afternoon Tea, Walking & Biking Activity breaks , Gourmet & Girls Night breakaways.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Special Deal:Free breakfast with your stay
846Reviews2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 415
  • 203
  • 103
  • 60
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tara wrote a review Jul 2022
10 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Lucky 13 - that's us - all thanks to the wonderful staff of the County Arms Hotel. We planned a small family reunion of extended older family members to greet visiting cousins from the US over lunch. From the moment I first made contact with the hotel I was impressed by their warmth, professionalism and positive attitude. Nothing was too much trouble and there was a solution for everything. Older family who are hard of hearing? A private dining room. Hungry men, used to plenty of everything? Extra portions of all the trimmings. Possible children? A tasty children's menu on offer. All thanks to the wonderful "Sh". And on the day itself,? A lovely framed sign welcoming our family group, a beautifully decorated Georgian room overlooking the Irish countryside, complete with horses and ponies, and our wonderful young waitress (C.H.) who chatted and made everyone feel welcome, rolling out the full Céad Míle Fáilte to all our guests. And of course the food was fantastic - even the fussiest of eaters cleared their plates! The sun even made an appearance :-) Míle buíochas do gach uile! T
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations CountyArms Hotel, Other at County Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MsFrugalone, What a wonderful occasion to spend with us in the county arms hotel. Its lovely to have family reunited especially when they were away. I am so pleased to learn that all of the team were so welcoming and they made your visit so very special. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Niamh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kazbennett wrote a review Jul 2022
Ballyshannon, Ireland9 contributions17 helpful votes
The staff and management went the extra mile to sort me out. I travelled down from donegal in my EV for a funeral. The hotel doesn't have an ev charger but helped me out and plugged my car into a domestic plug so I'd have enough power to get back home after the funeral the next day. Lovely receptionist and very accommodating manager, Dervala and great customer service from Ben. charming hotel with busy bar. stayed on 27th July.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: busy bar, book ahead.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations CountyArms Hotel, Other at County Arms Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Kazbennett, Many thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review following your stay with us. We are absolutely delighted to read your very kind comments about our service and facilities here at the hotel. We were delighted to help you with your EV, its what we do. I will pass on your lovely comments to our staff and hope to welcome you back in the future Kind Regards Niamh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
edel wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
A lovely and affordable place. Went recently with my mother for her birthday. The food was nice and the lovely Eimear was especially attentive and worthy of a mention. Very charming, helpful and polite girl. Will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations CountyArms Hotel, Other at County Arms Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi edel2310, What a wonderful occasion to celebrate with us at The County Arms Hotel – Happy Birthday to your mam. I am so pleased to learn that you were delighted with the food and I have passed on your kind words to Eimear. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Niamh Campbell
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa K wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed in this hotel recently. From the moment I entered the hotel I got a very warm welcome from the receptionist who gave me all the information I needed on dining times etc. our room was very clean & spacious. We had afternoon tea on the Saturday & it was delicious with a very friendly waitress keeping us topped with Tea & Coffee. We ate in the bar on 2 occasions & again very good with large portions. The leisure club facilities were great & throughly enjoyed on Sunday morning. So thank you all in the County Arms for giving us a well rested break
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations CountyArms Hotel, Other at County Arms Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Melissa, Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I was pleased to read how highly you rate our hotel and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again. Kindest regards Niamh Campbell
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vonnie O wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The County Arms in Birr is by far one of the best places we have stayed for a family break in Ireland. It ticks all the boxes from lovely food, outstanding staff and beautiful decor to being an ideal base for cycling trips, walks, or a day trip to tayto park!!! From the moment we arrived we got a lovely friendly welcome from the reception staff and right throughout our stay the staff were so friendly and helpful. Betty and all the staff in the breakfast room every morning give such a warm reception and colette and the girls in the pool couldn't be more accommodating and friendly. Pool facilities are really well maintained and clean. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens with lovely play areas for the kids. The rates are really reasonable and we certainly felt we got excellent value for money. Would highly recommend this hotel for a break away. You will not be disappointed!!! O Neill Family, Cork
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations CountyArms Hotel, Other at County Arms Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Vonnie02022, Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are thrilled you had a great time I will pass on your words especially to betty, all our breakfast staff, Collette and the leisure center ladies. We look forward to welcoming you and your lovely family back soon to The County Arms Hotel Kind Regards Niamh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ken W wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Reception on arrival was lovely, a real cead Meil a Failte! Services in the bar was fantastic, and very efficient. Food in the restaurant was lovely. We can't wait to stay again. Thank you management and staff. Ken & Sarah
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you book for dinner!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations CountyArms Hotel, Other at County Arms Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Ken & Sarah, Go raibh míle maith agat for sharing your experience with us we really appreciate it. I am pleased to hear you had a fabulous time and we cant wait to welcome you and Ken back to The County Arms Hotel Kind Regards Niamh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cyril wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We stayed in the hotel last month, the team was lovely, very pleasant, the manager Barry even made the time to say hello! something very rare in this day and age. The food was lovely and the atmosphere was great, I would highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations CountyArms Hotel, Other at County Arms Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Localtourguide888, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us, I'll be sure to pass on your message to Barry he loves to chat our guests and locals. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards Niamh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe Ó wrote a review Jul 2022
Kildare, Ireland3 contributions3 helpful votes
Every year we meet up for lunch in the county arms hotel. A handy base in the centre of Ireland. Due to Covid hadn't being back in 2 years. We always had a pleasant time and always thought it was a lovely hotel. We recently returned for lunch and firstly were impressed by the renovations around the hotel. We proceeded after a walk around the hotel to the bar where we waited and waited and eventually once the staff realised we were present took our initial order of coffee and tea very abruptly. Our order eventually came, cold coffee spilled with no real customer service and no apology. We would have complained but staff didn't seem interested and was very visably no management present. We had planned on ordering lunch but left disgusted and very unhappy and found another local establishment to have a lovely lunch. My research with a collegue in the area after told me it had acquired new owners in last year. Well done on the renovations but definetly in need of new management.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations CountyArms Hotel, Other at County Arms Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Joeodonnell66, Thank you very much for getting in touch regarding your recent stay. While I am pleased that there were aspects of your visit that you were impressed by, it's disappointing to learn that you feel the quality of service let your experience down. Should you wish to discuss this further myself or one of the management team would be happy to speak to you. Please contact me at your earliest convenience on sales@countyarmshotel.com Kind Regards Niamh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dreamer259043 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
AVOID - AVOID - AVOID Stayed at this hotel on the 8th and 9th of July 2022 while attending a wedding nearby. We had upgraded our room to a "suite" on Booking.com and were given a dated room with three narrow single beds. The bathroom was like something from the 1970's with a plastic sower bath. There was a wedding in the hotel on our first night and we could hear loud music in our room until after 2.00 AM. At 6.30 AM we had to endure the sound of furniture being moved for over an hour. On the second night we arrived back in the hotel from the wedding at about 1.00 AM and asked the receptionist if we could have a night cap. He said certainly and directed us towards the bar. We ordered drinks from a bar person who refused to serve us. We explained we were residents and she said the residents bar was closed. There were other guests in the bar drinking and when we pointed this out we were told the bar was now closed. A night porter came into the bar an agreed we could be served a drink. However the bar person still refused and we found her manner most unprofessional.. A manager arrived into the the bar and confirmed we would not be served. We found the manager rude and aggressive and he was not interested in resolving what had now built up to be a confrontation between the bar person and paying guests. I would avoid this hotel until they upgrade their bedrooms and recruit properly trained staff and management. On a positive note most of the staff were pleasant and polite. John
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations CountyArms Hotel, Other at County Arms Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with is, I am dismayed that you were so disappointed with your stay. It sounds like you were allocated one of our triple rooms on the our Georgian Floor, which as you can appreciate is a listed area of the hotel as it dates to the 1800's, The other side of our hotel very modern and updated I assure you. Please be assured that your comments about the bar on the night of the 9th have been taken on board as we are continually striving to improve our services. I am very sorry to read your comments as your experience was not the high standard we hold ourselves to. I have held a full investigation on this and spoke to the relevant departments. I sincerely hope you will reconsider and that you would return to us again for a better experience, please know you are always very welcome here at The County Arms Hotel. Kind Regards Niamh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe90Glyncorrwg wrote a review Jul 2022
Dublin, Ireland24 contributions39 helpful votes
Room was very good, breakfast was woeful. The place needs a major domo in attendance. An MD on the ball should rectify the following :- 1) Servers with unfriendly faces, it costs nothing to smile 2) overcooked fried eggs 3) Tasteless scrambled eggs, possibly made from dried eggs 4) Containers not replenished- marmalade, water melon, deli meats 5) over cooked bacon The breakfast room was fine, there was just no organisation to it a little or no quality control. The hotel has a lot to offer, great gardens, nice room, good equipped spa. As I said at the start, don’t go here if you like a nice breakfast, in short it was awful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Eat out at breakfast
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$131 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
county arms hotel and leisure club, county arms hotel leisure
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty OffalyBirr
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about County Arms Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to County Arms Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Birr Castle Gardens & Science Centre (0.9 km), Birr Theatre & Arts Centre (0.9 km), and Science Centre at Birr Castle (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at County Arms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at County Arms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at County Arms Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to County Arms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kellys Bar, Spinners, and Emma's Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at County Arms Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at County Arms Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does County Arms Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to County Arms Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cumberland Column (0.7 km) and Crinkill Barracks (1.5 km).
Is County Arms Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.