Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection

Traveller (564)
Calking with MOLD out of the wall of our bathtub
Room & Suite (161)
Dining (36)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 2 hotels in Bunratty
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection continues Best Western Hotels & Resort's rich history - always providing guests with a stylishly unique hotel experience. Located in Bunratty,Clare, this carefully chosen upper-midscale hotel has been selected for their ability to offer travelers seeking a unique and memorable stay at an outstanding value.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Wifi
Indoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business

Location

Bunratty V95 DW9N Ireland
1,894Review29Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 690
  • 607
  • 337
  • 155
  • 105
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Marian S wrote a review Sept 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel has excellent location in Bunratty. Walking distance to Folk Park, Restaurants and bus stop to Limerick city. Rooms were sanitised and every area of hotel was scrupulously cleaned and sanitised. A great choice of delicious breakfasts available. Staff were amazing at all times. Pool and Spa were opened although due to Covid restrictions jacuzzi & sauna etc.. Closed off. We stayed for 4 nights and we ate once in the hotel and then in The Creamery, Durty Nellies and JP Clarkes. Although food in general was good, JP'S got the big thumbs up on account of "home made chips" and the environment in general.
We visited the Folk Park which is a must and the village of Adare which was voted pretiest village in Ireland. We also took local bus to Limerick and did an historical walk which was very interesting.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeniMu wrote a review May 2021
Dublin, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a 3 night family summer break last summer, one of a few hotels we stayed in during post covid lockdown. The hotel offered extremely good value compared to many other 4 star hotels in August, with added bonus of a pool and the proximity to the bunratty Folk park. We had two young children with us who really enjoyed their stay and the folk park. The family room was spacious and modern, a decent walk from the reception as hotel is quite long. It was comfortable with lots storage. Covid guidelines here meant no room cleaning during stay, towels and other supplies left outside the room. This was ok for 3 day stay but other hotels were offering full cleaning on request. Breakfast was on a booking system. I booked in advance of stay and secured slots we wanted on the later end. The breakfast room was lovely and spacious and the serving staff brought everything to the table. They were very patient outlining all the cold options and there was a decent menu for a made to order hot breakfast with plenty of variety. We really enjoyed it and it was relaxing just sitting eating rather than running to buffets with kids in tow or minding them while one person did. The staff brought a variety of pastries to the table each morning too. We ate in the bar/restaurant one evening. The space was a bit bare looking but the food was good. The hotel has a nice outside terrace for sitting and drinks after dinner or daytime coffee. The bar staff were serving there too. The lobby seating was busy. The bar stopped serving at 10pm which didnt bother us but may be an issue for adults holidaying with no kids. We secured a booking for the pool for 45 minutes. We had it almost to ourselves most of the slot. Obviously sauna and jacuzzi shut off. The kids really enjoyed the pool and would have stayed longer but we were happy to get anything. It would be nice if the hotel had an indoor games room or play area onsite for kids. There is no kids pool. The bunratty castle we were advised by reception was just across from the hotel via a footpath a few minutes away but you may want to note that the entrance is still quite a walk away for little ones and we really wished we brought the car to the castle car park for our 3 year old as he was tired by time we reached the entrance. We had a full day out in of the park. It was fantastic. There are quite a few gastrobars and shops just beside the hotel too. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We tried to book this summer but cannot secure a family room again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SparklingSerendipity wrote a review Oct 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for a couple of nights at the beginning of October 2020 with my husband.
The first thing I noticed was how clean the lobby was, it was spotless. Hand sanitiser was available, the desk had a protective screen around it and there was also a digital thermometer that we were encouraged to use. Check-in was quick;the ladies on reception were friendly and welcoming.
The bedroom was very clean, a little bit dated but it had been thoroughly cleaned which is all that matters right now. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was brilliant - its actually one of the best hotel showers I've experienced.
We had dinner both nights in the hotel restaurant/bar. To say it was delicious is an understatement. The servers were very friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu. (I would highly recommend the duck with noodles). The restaurant was spotless, it is a large, airy space and the tables are very well spaced out so we weren't nervous at all.
We ate in the bar area on the second night. Again, this area was very clean and there was plenty of room between each table. The servers were attentive and friendly and very helpful. The food is very reasonably priced and absolutely worth every penny.
We ate breakfast both mornings in the hotel. It was plentiful and very tasty. The bread and pastries come individually wrapped which was great (we actually brought those with us to have later on) and the servers were very particular about not touching the glassware on the tables for our benefit.
The hotel itself is situated right across the road from Bunratty Castle and Durty Nellies pub, which is ideal, and just a few minutes walk down the road is Blarney Woollen Mills.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and have already recommended the hotel to family members, who hope to visit in the future when things settle down with the pandemic.
We will definitely be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mary9782020 wrote a review Sept 2020
Cork, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location a couple of minutes walk from Bunratty Castle.and the Folkpark . The Folkpark is a great place to spend quite a few hours with the kids. The hotel had all the necessary protection in place , shield, hand sanitizers Breakfast and Swimming Pool was limited to a number of occupants . All had to be pre-book and no issue. Staff were very helpful and friendly . Good quality food served at breakfast with plenty of variety and very attentive staff,.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise L wrote a review Jul 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival to the hotel the check in staff member didn’t even smile at us we were the only two checking in at that time. I asked the receptionist if we could order room service and also tried asking questions about the area said that they don’t do room service any longer with Covid, I also asked about food in the bar and she told me that there is no good available and didn’t say anything else to us other than where our rooms were located.

As a first impression I didn’t feel that welcome. We dropped our bags up and left the hotel to find a local takeaway place.

When I asked reception the following morning if we can collect the breakfast and bring it to our rooms she said we would need to come downstairs and discuss it with the breakfast manger.

I then asked if she could just ask for us as we would miss our breakfast slot for 8.30am if we weren’t allowed to bring it up as both of us would need to go down not just one of us.

I gave this feedback to the receptionist that I found them to be very unhelpful to guests she did apologise which I appreciate. I would not visit here again based on the culture of the organisation there seems to be a huge gap in there customer service to guests I don’t go to nice hotels based on location I go to that hotel based on the service I receive if it’s poor I generally don’t ever go back again.

My advice would be that there is a training gap in the front of house where customer service is concerned there is so much opportunity for the business to implement good practices here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Megan Roberts, Marketing at Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 31 Jul 2020
Dear Louisell5061LT, Thank you for your review, I am shocked and surprised by the experience that you have outlined as it sounds very far removed from the standards we strive for. In the past our guests have remarked at how helpful our reception team are so I am shocked and saddened to hear you did not find them so. Could you forward details of your stay to mroberts@bunattycastlehotel.com so that we may investigate this matter and provide customer service training to the relevant staff. Kind Regards, The Customer Service Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracy S wrote a review Sept 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolute nightmare everything was awful from the service, the room, the food, the value just a god awful place from hell and wouldnt let my biggest enemy stay there. From the minute we booked we were over charged €50 when highlighted we promised an "upgrade room" and dessert plate as an apology which we didnt get. The lady we booked with had forgotten so i had to remind the girl when checking in which i thought was very unprofessional as it was their mistake. She had also forgotten to make note of dinner and breakfast reservations so we didnt get the times we had originally requested so we were off to a very bad start. Things got worse when we got to the room, it was dated and filthy with cobwebs and dead flies (i have photos) and like it wasnt hoovered in weeks. There was an unpleasant surprise in the toilet bowl also which lets say wasnt ours! (Didnt take photo of this obviously) The food was awful and even my dessert came with a foul smell of raw egg which of course we sent back. The staff everywhere were completely clueless. They did not stick to Covid-19 regulations and had people queuing at the bar for drink which is not allowed as meant to be table service. I mentioned this to the barstaff and they apologised but continued to do so. We felt very uncomfortable and couldnt wait to leave. To top it off there was a hair in my partners breakfast and no soap in the main toilets in the hotel. Over all joke of a hotel and if you are anyway nervous of the coronovirus then this is not the place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
susydel wrote a review Sept 2020
Timahoe, Ireland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst we completely understand the restrictions covid has imposed on us, it should not compromise the quality of customer service we expect when paying hard earned money to stay in this hotel. The sharp, curt, receptionist we were met with when we arrived too early was certainly NOT a feel good ambassador for this hotel. There was no, kindness or understanding, just a "You cannot book in before 4pm," you dont have to leave until 12 midday so what more do you want! That was what we took away from her "warm welcome". We didn't even expect to book in, but wanted to leave our number should the room be ready before 4pm! She went on to inform us if we wanted coffee or lunch to go down to the village!! If it hadn't of been for the fact we were meeting family later that evening we would definitely of not gone back.
Also there were no bathrobes,slippers,coffee pods in the room, although the Junior Suite which we booked clearly states they would be included! The coffee machine was in the room ...... these things of course mean nothing, but the courtesy of being told they would not be on offer would of been nice.
The mattress was not as comfortable as I would have expected in a 4 star Hotel, but again the most important thing to us was the customer service that was severely lacking in the mature receptionist that frankly could have taken lessons from the well mannered younger staff members we dealt with during our stay.
We most definitely will not be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
emmaflood29 wrote a review Sept 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were basic but clean and had everything we needed. The pool was small but lovely and very clean. I had a massage which I really enjoyed although I felt they could have had cheaper/30 min massages on offer. Breakfast was grand but we couldn't have toast because of the restrictions which I found very strange. We didn't eat in the bar but the menu looked lovely. I think the hotel has a 4* rating because of the spa and leisure centre. The beds weren't overly comfortable and we started to feel a bit stiff and sore after the second night. We enjoyed our stay here and would probably recommend to friends looking for a value for money hotel
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dc28 wrote a review Feb 2020
ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been staying in the hotel at least once a year since 2013. The way we were treated on our first stay left a lasting impression. We look forward to every stay.
Last weekend the staff were lovely, the breakfast was plentiful and the bedroom was cosy.
Our main reason for returning every time is the Angsana Spa. It is the best spa we have ever visited. A work colleague bought her family members vouchers for the spa as Christmas presents because I was raving so much about it.
Unfortunately this time due to a lack of communication from one or two members of staff, we missed out on our treatments that we always book and the relaxing time afterwards in the relaxation room. This was very disappointing.
We instead booked treatments in a prominent hotel in Limerick and had an absolutely awful experience.
It reinforced our opinion about how outstanding Angsana Spa truly is. Already looking forward to our next visit later in the year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BCH_Management, Social Media at Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear about your positive feedback in general but I do apologise profusely about the miscommunication between members of staff. At the moment, Angsana Spa is undergoing renovations due to demand and growth, and there are a number of new recruits to the team, so I assume this is the main reason for miscommunication, unfortunately. Of course, there is no excuse but there is a valid explanation for this no doubt. If you wish to discuss this matter further with management, do not hesitate to email dcorbett@bunrattycastlehotel.com. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards, The Customer Service Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shauna F wrote a review Jul 2020
Swords, Ireland
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We travelled Ireland for a few nights and Bunratty Castle was one of the hotels we stayed in. We arrived to bunratty castle early on a Wednesday and were greeted by a very pleasant member of staff who helped us with any queries we had. We were very happy to be told our room was upgraded as it was our anniversary. When we entered the room we were happy with what was presented. Although there were marks on the wall we turned a blind eye to it as we didnt see it as a big issue. There was a huge size bed but didnt feel like an executive room although we were grateful with the upgrade. We left to go sightseeing around the town shortly after the arrival. Bunratty castle park nearby is a great place to visit. About a 2 hour long tour and would definitely recommend for kids and adults.

We came back in the evening to get changed for dinner and went downstairs and asked reception where the restaurant was which we were directed to. When we walked in it was most obviously the bar and the restaurant wasnt open. It was empty and had no music - the atmosphere was dead. So we got a drink there and then went across the road to dirty nellys which i would highly recommend for food!

When we came back we went to open a window and there were spiders along the top it so we left it. We went to open the other window and the windowsill was covered in moss and bird poo. It was obvious it had not been cleaned. So we went to reception to complain along with the marks on the wall. Megan the receptionist was very understanding and very helpful. We were then upgraded to the presidential suite which was very clean and spacious and the staff also came down to help us move our cases. We had a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed and there was no noise which is always good.

Out of everywhere we stayed for the few nights the breakfast in bunratty castle hotel was by far the best. We got a full irish and it was a very generous serving. The manager also came over to apologise for the previous night which was very appreciated. She explained that the room may not have been checked fully before we went in and i think with covid and hotels being shut, this is fair explanation.

The friendliness and professionalism of the staff along with the breakfast I think made up for any issues we had and I do have to thank for them for that. Overall it was a good stay at Bunratty Castle hotel and the area has alot in it to do.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Megan Roberts, Marketing at Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Dear annmarieo657, Thank you for your review of your stay at The Bunratty Castle Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast and you found the staff friendly & professional. Your comments go a long way to provide our staff with confidence and support, and we appreciate that. We sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bunratty Castle Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, The Customer Service Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Looby100 asked a question May 2021
Perth, Australia
Does this hotel have interconnecting rooms?
Answer from Jam
Castlebar, Ireland39 contributions9 helpful votes
They do have an electric car charging point.
Markieyeaa asked a question Aug 2020
County Kildare, Ireland9 contributions3 helpful votes
Is the residents bar open??
Answer from Michael M
Alpine, California106 contributions86 helpful votes
Yes it is.
Esther K asked a question Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland26 contributions6 helpful votes
Because of the new restrictions coukd you let me know how the breakfasts are done now. Thanks
Answer from Barrie D
Saggart, Ireland33 contributions12 helpful votes
Hi Esther, basically you book your table and time the day before. We stayed three nights and were able to book all three mornings in advance. It’s table service only so no buffet. Cheers
Navan2528 wrote a tip Sept 2023
27 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel needs maintenance and the staff need training or replacing, it was a disgrace"
Read full review
Chunny35 wrote a tip Jun 2021
Dublin, Ireland10 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"With Covid restrictions be sure to book dinner either in the hotel or surrounding areas or you may end up eating street food during summer"
Read full review
Lisa-Jayne O wrote a tip Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bridal Suite was spectacular!!"
Read full review
ann marie o wrote a tip Jul 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the rooms near the road as you can hear the traffic."
Read full review
SomersetPete wrote a tip Mar 2020
16 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are lifts to all floors. My wife is a wheelchair user so we have an easy access room and usually stay in the came room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bunratty area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
bunratty castle hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty ClareBunratty
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUNRATTY CASTLE HOTEL, BW SIGNATURE COLLECTION - UPDATED 2023 Reviews (Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Nearby attractions include Bunratty Castle Medieval Banquet (0.4 km), Bunratty Castle and Folk Park (0.2 km), and Shannon Heritage (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bunratty Medieval Feast, Noel's at The Manor, and Gallagher's of Bunratty.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Bunratty.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cratloe Woods House (5.2 km) and Drumgeely Standing Stones (5.6 km).
Does Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Bunratty HotelsBunratty Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BunrattyHotels near Bunratty Castle Hotel, BW Signature Collection
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire