We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Imperial Hotel

The Old Imperial Hotel 27 N North Main Street, Youghal Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (53)
Dining (27)
Room & Suite (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#1 of 6 hotels in Youghal
Travellers' Choice
The Old Imperial Hotel is one of the oldest accommodations in the historic town of Youghal. Built in the 18th century, it was used as a stage coach stop for the Bianconi Line. Located in the heart of the town, yet only a 1 km walk from the sea front, The Old Imperial Hotel is committed to providing excellent service and value to all our guests. With a fantastic location just off the N25, each of our 18 spacious en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated with complimentary WIFI, and tea and coffee making facilities. All 18 of en-suite bedrooms are designed with comfort in mind. Accommodation includes a range of superior rooms, standard double rooms and twin and single rooms. In room amenities include TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms with free Internet access. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30am - 10am each morning. Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials. Secure private car park for our customers.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Horseback riding
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
476Reviews6Q+A70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 360
  • 84
  • 15
  • 7
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Talafornia wrote a review 12 Jun
Dalian, China81 contributions34 helpful votes
Loved our recent stay at this great hotel! Staff were extremely friendly and attentive, never had to wait long for service, even when very busy. Lovely atmosphere in their new outdoor area and in the bar, and the food and drinks were exceptional (treat yourself to an apple crumble and an Irish coffee after dinner!). Room & bed very comfortable, strong shower. Highly recommend a stay or a visit. Would love to have stayed longer!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
John O wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Well I was exposed to a rather unsightly part of Ireland I did not expect.. I was looking forward to spending a couple of nights with family at this location and the service was extremely poor and uninviting.. i waited over 20 minutes before i had to go looking for the manager... I was informed by the the hotel I was unwelcome and that because of where I came from I persecuted in a bias manner... future more I had a 10 year old daughter with me and this was at 9 pm. At night after 36 hours of flying... the manager was extremely rude and has no problem expressing his bias. I was absolutely disgusted and I definitely would warn anyone of the vile and caustic vitriol that this place offers..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Emma Leahy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Old Imperial Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
John, It is unfortunate that you were unable to stay with us for your intended vacation. And we do understand your upset. However, as you rightly pointed out, you had travelled for 36 hours from the USA without quarantine. Under government guidelines it would have been reckless of us to let you stay, showing complete disregard for the safety of our staff and other respected guests. We hope that you understand our position. With all best wishes, The Team @ The Old Imperial Youghal.
Read more
Ita D wrote a review Oct 2020
Youghal, Ireland9 contributions4 helpful votes
well himself an meself plus a eariend booked an outdoor table for lunch today, and it did not disappoint, the staff did everything to make sure you mere warm even offering blankets, the food was unreal, i had the cesar salad, it was chockablock full of the crispiest bacon i have ever had and so much of it, dressing was fantastic, himself had the roast beef which was like butter to cut, our friend had soup as he wasnt feeling well. i had belgian waffles with salted caramel sauce, ice cream and cream, need i say more heaven, lads in these hard times these people are going out of their way to make people feel special, and well done to them, and well done to their chef for for foo
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
JerryTwom wrote a review Sep 2020
County Limerick, Ireland2 contributions
We stayed here here in August and could not have been looked after better than we were. 10 out of ten for the food and drink. 20 out of 10 for the welcome and the hospitality. Top class. Cant wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Tanya T wrote a review Sep 2020
Cork, Ireland108 contributions11 helpful votes
We are staying in a different hotel (only because we didnt know about this one) but we found this little gem today and popped in for dinner with our 3yr old twins. The food was fabulous. Adults and kids menus and portions are great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
US$92 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
old imperial hotel
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkYoughal
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Imperial Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Imperial Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Mary's Collegiate Church (0.2 km), Youghal Clock Gate Tower (0.4 km), and Youghal Heritage Trail (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Imperial Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Old Imperial Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Old Imperial Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Imperial Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fantastic Flavours Ice Cream Parlour, The Quays, and The Coachouse Bistro.
Is The Old Imperial Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Youghal.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Imperial Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Round Tower (8.5 km) and Ardmore Round Tower And Cathedral (8.5 km).
Is The Old Imperial Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.