We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Imperial Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Imperial Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 337: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Imperial Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a great restaurant this is. Went for Easter Sunday Dinner. The staff where extremely profesional with outstanding customer service attention to detail backed up by what is clearly a passionate caring set of Chef/s and Kitchen staff. I can not say how delighted I was with the meal the wine and the service well and truly worth visiting and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don Richard C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely fab food, very welcoming & friendly staff. Very child friendly. The set menu was amazing value & the steaks were just to die for! All round we had a great evening, never had to ask for anything! Great owners & chatted away to us all eve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzy O
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Old Imperial Hotel for 1 night on a room only basis as wanted an early start in the morning. The hotel has great positive reviews mostly down to bar and food services which unfortunately we didnt experience. The room(4) was disappointing with a view of a roof with skylights is never the best. The hotel also suffers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnR2106
TeamImperial, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Hi JohnR2106, Thanks for your review. It was such a shame you didn't enjoy your brief visit to Youghal. The town itself has experienced a tough few years with businesses closing however that tide is turning and there are brighter and better days ahead for the town. North Main Street is bustling at the moment with businesses, in fact a...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My BF and I stayed at this hotel for one night. We arrived late and we're starving. The kitchen was closed but the kind men running the front desk and bar offered to make us soup and sandwiches. We have never experienced such hospitality. Thank you so much! We really enjoyed our stay in Youghal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcixo
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chose the hotel having walked up and down the main Street. The menu looked interesting, not instant or pre prepared. We chose the blade of beef and the chowder. Great choice! Great portions , Great service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas P
ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff. Really cosy old style bar with open fire and amazing food in the restaurant. Both dinner and breakfast was amazing. Was really busy with locals having food which was a great sign. Would highly recommend for a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrelandKaa
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We enjoyed our few days here and were warmly greeted by Dan and the great staff who can't do enough for you. Food in the restaurant is fantastic, we ate here every night. Be warned food portions are big. We missed Gina and hope she is feeling better soon Highly recommended, we will be back soon Thank you Henry &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madmartina
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here whilst visiting family. We couldn't have asked for a more friendly and hospitable place. Exceptional food (especially the garlic prawns!) and lovely, clean rooms. We will definitely be staying here when we next return to Youghal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D-Earlsie
liverpool
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The staff at this hotel, are just fantastic, accommodating, polite, nothing is to much trouble, the rooms are nice, clean and comfortable, was a bit disappointed with the breakfast on both days stayed , the full irish was ok the eggs benedict was not good at all, but we eat in the evening and the chowder was amazing. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oasisdisco
Cork
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

I have been here to eat several times at this stage and every time the food has been of extremely high standard. It is the one place I would recommend to eat in youghal as the menu has a wide selection and it is reasonably prices not to mention the high standard in food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
1.1 km away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
301 reviews
3.8 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.2 km away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,570 reviews
15.5 km away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,574 reviews
21.9 km away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Imperial Hotel is one of the oldest accommodations in the historic town of Youghal. Built in the 18th century, it was used as a stage coach stop for the Bianconi Line. Located in the heart of the town, yet only a 1 km walk from the sea front, The Old Imperial Hotel is committed to providing excellent service and value to all our guests. With a fantastic location just off the N25, each of our newly refurbished 18 spacious en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated with complimentary WIFI, and tea and coffee making facilities. All 18 of our newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms are designed with comfort in mind. Accommodation includes a range of superior rooms, large family rooms which can accommodate up to 2 adults and 3 children, standard double rooms and twin and single rooms. In room amenities include TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms with free Internet access. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30am - 10am each morning. Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials. Secure private car park for our customers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Imperial Hotel

Address: The Old Imperial Hotel 27 N North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Price Range: €83 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Imperial Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Imperial Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Wexford, Ireland
2 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Imperial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We always request room 2, The Mc Carthy suite, well worth the reasonable up grade”
madmartina, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter, as the hotel is situation on the main street.”
mazbriz, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are no lifts, so be prepared to carry luggage up one to two levels.”
mcrexon, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room number 3 at the rear has a lovely view of the Collegiate gardens.”
Pauline872, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Contact the hotel directly”
amreynolds55, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$108* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$108
Expedia.comUS$108
TravelocityUS$108
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates