We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Save
Share
Farnham Estate, Cavan H12 H6Y8 Ireland
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Official Site
Destinia.com
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1816)
Room & Suite (483)
Dining (253)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Cavan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa. Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Seating area
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
4131Reviews39Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,410
  • 964
  • 424
  • 196
  • 137
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
johnjonea wrote a review 1 Oct
Clondalkin, Ireland303 contributions171 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I recently stayed in the Farnham Estate in Cavan for a two nights break. We normally only book 4 and 5 star hotels as we work very hard and look forward to a few little luxuries. The room we got when we arrived was not the room that we had booked, but we were told all rooms in the new wing of the house are identical. No suites, or balcony rooms, but right beside the entrance to the hotel on the left there are two balcony rooms with amazing views down over the valley below. My wife insists it was a man who designed the rooms, because there is no shelves, drawers or anywhere to put your stuff. The only decent mirror with good lighting is a full length mirror on the wall beside the door of the room. So you don’t have a dressing table or somewhere to sit and have a good mirror in which to see how you are applying your makeup. For an hotel which seems to have weddings daily, she said she would hate to have to be attending a wedding in this hotel. The tiny wardrobe a joke and to add insult to injury, they have decided to put a half door, sliding piece of wood between the bedroom and bathroom. FOR WHAT PURPOSE????. If they even put a few 3inch shelves there, at least it would be useful. The bedside tables are a nest of two tables with “no drawers”, the table underneath the tv is just a wall table with “no drawers”, and there is an aversion to providing storage for the guest at all costs. The mattress in the room which despite being told by the duty manager, was brand new was not very comfortable. He had a look around other rooms to see if he could accommodate us somewhere else, but was unsuccessful in finding another suitable room. He even brought us over to the old house to show us a suite there l, but unfortunately it is an extremely old and dated building and didn’t do it for us, especially with the cost of the stay. Nothing else was offered, nor was there a follow up next morning to see how our night went. We were so long trying to get things sorted that first night that we didn’t have time to go for food in the restaurant, so we opted for a ciabatta each to the room. Let’s just say that the sandwich chef must have been off for the night. Even the smell of it in the room was disgusting, and we paid €30 up front for two horrible ciabatta’s. There is a €10 tray charge on room service. We stayed in room 136 which is at the end of an L shaped corridor and when you open the net curtains, you are treated to the view of some people standing outside their rooms, smoking and some builders who have a small yard there too. So privacy is zero, day or night. On the plus side, all the staff are extremely helpful and the hotel itself is spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfast was very good and a good selection of all tastes catered for.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridie McManus, Guest Services / Front Office at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear John Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that we did not live up to your expectations on your recent visit. Kind regards Bridie McManus Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul K wrote a review 1 Oct
1 contribution
It’s really great I love it we went for a family wedding, the food and interior are excellent really would recommend and I wish we could stay longer.haven’t been to the spa yet but I’m sure it’s great, the pool is wonderful so nice but it’s 16 and over which I think is quite silly really their is nothing I think that is wrong with it. I personally think it should be 12+ more than just having it for all ages just for the simple reason it would be a bit quieter and calmer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Maybe go somewhere else if you have kids that love splashing around in water
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridie McManus, Guest Services / Front Office at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Paul Thank you for your review and lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you soon again at Farnham Estate. Kind regards Bridie McManus Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ana wrote a review Sep 2022
Northern Ireland2 contributions2 helpful votes
Very disappointing stay. Room 327 very grubby dusty and carpets dirty. Pool jets not working, toilets out of order, foot spa broken. We were unable to order cocktail of choice from menu as bar had no pineapple juice, food not hot. Paid 477 euro for one nite overnight package for 2 ..numerious other guests complaining on check out, manager acknowledged our experience was not up to standard and offered us afternoon tea when we next visit this will not compensate for very special family occasion that was spoiled by our experience. I would suggest if your planning a trip ask a lot of questions before booking and do not assume you will recieve anything but a basic stay. Unless a lot of improvements are made your stay will not resemble anything thats listed on their web site.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridie McManus, Guest Services / Front Office at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Ana Thank you for your review. We are sorry once again that you were disappointed with your experience on this occasion. As you are aware, we did endeavour to make up for your disappointing experience prior to you checking out. Kind regards Bridie McManus Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fainne B wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We had stayed in the Farnham Estate before and as always it lived up to our expectations. The room was fabulous and we had plenty of choice for our breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed out stay. We would recommend anyone to have a wee break at the Farnham Estate and Spa
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridie McManus, Guest Services / Front Office at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Fainne Thank you for your review. Delighted that you enjoyed your visit for a wedding and thanks so much for the lovely comments and recommendations. We hope to see you soon again at Farnham Estate. Kind regards Bridie McManus Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eileen wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We (my 2 sisters and I) had a wonderful break here. My sister was home from the states first time in 4 years. From the moment we parked and got picked up by George who was so friendly with loads of information and history on the estate and give us good tips on things to do to the Reception staff who were excellent, we arrived early but we were able to go straight to our room. Beautiful room very clean. We headed for the spa and spent 3/4 hours there. The outdoor pool is so nice and warm. The spa area was very clean and nice choice of steam rooms sauna etc. Dinner in Maxwell's was delicious with a great choice of food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The caller bar was very busy but looked like a great place to spend a few hours. Next morning we went back to the spa . It was so nice in the out door pool as it was a foggy morning and the steam raising from the pool it was magical. Breakfast was as expected top notch with a great selection of food. We went for a walk around the estate and went to the golf club house for a lovely coffee just before we left. My sisters really enjoyed our mini break. I hope to return very soon for another mini break. I would like to thank Bridie that looked after us so we'll couldn't do enough for us. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Well done to all in making our visit go so well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridie McManus, Guest Services / Front Office at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Wander135642 Thank you for your review and lovely comments. We are delighted that yourself and your sister enjoyed your visit with us here at Farnham Estate. Your feedback is very much appreciated and has been shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you both soon again at Farnham Estate. Kind regards Bridie McManus Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Evan D wrote a review Sep 2022
11 contributions14 helpful votes
Extremely slow checkin, few staff but mainly lots of guests waiting about for rooms that were not ready for their check in at 4pm, us included. Felt like an airport luggage check in. Room - Extremely basic poor amenities, but was clean. It was ice cold, turned radiator on didn't work, assumed be warm on return, it wasn't and was freezing. Bed really uncomfortable springs sticking up, room needs serious updating. It is not a Spa atmosphere at all it is a pool with a room beside it with a steam room sauna, it just felt like a local leisure center with chlorine smell. If you read the description of the experience you can have in the Water Mint Thermal suite vs what it actully is when you see it, it is extremely disappointing. The outdoor pool is nice but the door access to it could be updated greatly. The jets didn't work either. The food was beautiful, dinner & breakfast. Would be nice for a night away if you felt you got value for your money travelling 2 hours for a basic over night stay, if i was to return i would with lower expectations and may have a different experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It is a nice place but just not as described so be aware
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridie McManus, Guest Services / Front Office at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Evan Thank you for your review and we are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this visit. We certainly take your comments on board. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Kind regards Bridie McManus Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary M wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I spent two nights in this wonderful hotel. From the moment of arrival we felt special. The receptionist was so friendly and welcoming. We had a beautiful patio room. The spa is literally out of this world. The Infinity Pool is just pure heaven. Our food was excellent, breakfast, bar food and dinner in the Maxwell’s dining room. Every member of staff was friendly and very helpful. We are already looking forward to our next visit. We felt like we had been away for a week.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridie McManus, Guest Services / Front Office at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mary Thank you for your review and delighted that yourself and your husband enjoyed another visit with us here at Farnham Estate. Thanks so much for the lovely feedback, which is very much appreciated and has been shared with the team. We look forward to the chance of welcoming you back once again. Kind regards Bridie McManus Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
#donalsjoycie wrote a review Sep 2022
22 contributions13 helpful votes
We have just returned from a two night break in this hotel. It’s a great place! The room: large room with comfort and luxury. Couldn’t fault a thing in the room itself. Really lovely. The food: outstanding meals in maxwells for breakfast, lunch snd dinner. The breakfast selection was lovely and plentiful. Good quality. I recommend the prawn linguine, the bread and butter pudding, the steak. All delicious! Staff: top class staff here . Best staff super helpful and friendly. Spa: spent the entire day in the spa and left totally distressed. Bliss and highly recommend coming here. I will def book a treatment next time as I left it too late to book and it was booked up. The estate: loads of walkways and beautiful scenery The bars: cellar bar is a must. Great atmosphere. Also recommend the espresso baileys martini Just to note we had a minor incident in our room on our second day and when I brought it to the attention of the staff, they couldn’t have been more helpful and they bent over backwards to fix things for us. Their attitude towards fixing the issue was so lovely that we immediately booked another stay. My fiancé said it was the best hotel he has ever stayed in. We can’t wait to return for his birthday!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridie McManus, Guest Services / Front Office at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Donalsjoycie Thank you for your review and lovely comments. Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to the chance of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate for your fiance's birthday. Kind regards Bridie McManus Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dawn S wrote a review Sep 2022
Belfast, Northern Ireland142 contributions110 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel last weekend to celebrate a birthday. Rooms were good; very clean and spacious. We were impressed with breakfast. There was plenty of choice and items were replenished often. Staff were very good from George on the bus to reception; cleaning and restaurant personnel. We used the swimming pool which was great especially the outdoor bit on a lovely sunny day. We spent a few hours walking the trails and ended at the golf clubhouse for tea which was very pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridie McManus, Guest Services / Front Office at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Dawn S Thank you for your review and lovely feedback, which is very much appreciated. Delighted that you had an enjoyable visit and we look forward to seeing you soon again. Kind regards Bridie McManus Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynne M wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
In all the years we have been going to Farnham Estate, we have never had “Afternoon Tea”. On this occasion we did and my word, what we have been missing. It was just beautiful. Fabulous sandwiches and wonderful sweets. Great choices of tea and….. I was able to have coffee too. It just put the “icing on the cake “ of our very relaxing 3 nights. Looking forward to our return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridie McManus, Guest Services / Front Office at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Lynne Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, your Afternoon Tea in particular. Your lovely comments have been shared with all the team and are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate again soon! Kind regards Bridie McManus Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$149 - US$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
radisson blu farnham estate hotel, cavan hotel cavan, radisson cavan, cavan radisson
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Radisson SAS
LOCATION
IrelandCounty CavanCavan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
158
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort?
Nearby attractions include Elena Brennan Jewellery (6.6 km), Blessings Bar (2.8 km), and Kingspan Breffni Park (7.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oak Room Restaurant, Shades Bar & Grill, and People's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Drumlane Abbey (11.9 km) and Jacobean Church (8.4 km).
Does Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.