We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

McGettigan's Hotel

Save
Share
100 Main Street, Letterkenny F92 C440 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$101
View Deal
Booking.com
US$101
US$91
View Deal
SAVE US$10
eDreams
US$101
US$91
View Deal
SAVE US$10
Trip.comUS$101
Agoda.comUS$91
Expedia.comUS$101
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (234)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (19)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#8 of 13 hotels in Letterkenny
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, McGettigan's Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes McGettigan's Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Nightclub / DJ
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Polish, Turkish
1,070Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 412
  • 326
  • 168
  • 93
  • 71
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jennifercuffe85 wrote a review 7 Jan
1 contribution
Picked this hotel because had some business to do on the main street early in the morning. On first arrival, I was very pleasantly surprised at this hotel, it was bigger and a lot nicer than I thought. Lovely local girl on reception was very pleasant and helpful got us booked in for dinner and breakfast . Had dinner and a few drinks in the restaurant ( fish was huge) was lovely food all very nice and very reasonable prices also very nice staff and atmosphere. Breakfast very nice as well... Rooms where spotless clean. And very nice and comfortable Only problem we had was walls quite thin and there was a lot of door slamming? Over all this was a lovely Stay and I would return again and I would recommend it.. All staff we encountered were very nice and friendly Thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
sfogarty557 wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Great place to stay especially in December been there a couple of times Staff can't do enough for you always very helpful if room are great and clean the lady's that do the cleaning and changing the rooms are also very nice and helpful
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Jacqueline M wrote a review Dec 2020
Magherafelt, United Kingdom11 contributions12 helpful votes
5 of us had a 2 night stay. Hotel was excellent, clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel both days, the food nor the service could be faulted. Situated in the middle of Letterkenny, so walking distance throughout the town. Less than half an hour drive to stunning beaches and Glenveagh National Park, if you like walking. Highly recommended
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
starsrem wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
The staff were deplorable. The bathroom looked like it was given a quick run over with a dry cloth. Hair in the bath, toilet seat fixture broken (I found out the hard way) the extra single bed in the room looked like it was lay on, hair also on that and a piece of rubbish laying on top of it. We let that slide as we hardly ever complain. Also, Fines if you bring your own bottle into your room and fines if you bring any snacks into your room. We used their bar and dining facilities. Everything was going very mediocre but hey, we were just glad to be away for a couple of days. We used the dining facilities on the second night also, then the real side of the staff came through. I dared challenge the receptionist about a few Euro that she owed me as she had worked out the wrong exchange rate, she was very irritated and distracted and ended up giving the money she owed me after I explained where she was making the wrong calculations, I was handed the money like I should have just let them away with ripping me off. From then on the staff seemed to wolf together, it came to a head after a staff member accosted me on my way back into the dining area. He tried to make up some trumped up reason about wearing a mask, and he was quite aggressive in his demeanor. He had been drinking secretly from under the counter at the entrance to the dining area. I challenged him on said fact and pointed out that, that maybe a bit of the reason he was becoming so irate, he then brought up the mask story again to which I produced an email from the HSE to try and clarify his unreasonable behaviour, he point blank refused to read the document. So I just asked him to move aside so I could finish my post dinner drink with my partner, he kept on blocking my path, I told him if he didnt move from my path and my space that I would knock him out and told him he was under the influence, he moved aside at that, he would not tell us his name so we left peacefully and retired to our pig sty... sorry, our room, we received a phone call from a lady and she simply said ï am the manager I want you to leave the hotel or she would phone the guards" When I enquired why that was she said "you were rude to a staff member now leave" We complied and were left standing in the street in the dark and cold. We eventually got a night in th Mount erigal hotel were we treated like anyone else would expect to be treated, with a wee bit of respect. Draw your own conclusions people.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallaghers Manager, General Manager at McGettigan's Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Your review is somewhat different to the reality of events.  In the interest of health & safety and for the welfare of hotel guests and staff you were asked to leave the hotel on Monday evening by the hotel manager.  We apologise that you were overcharged on the currency conversion, this was simply human error, which can happen, it was not deliberate and you were refunded the €2.50 immediately when you made the receptionist aware.    Just to clarify the facts of your review,  you were very intoxicated, disruptive and abusive to various members of staff in the bar & restaurant and reception desk and therefore asked to leave the premises by the manager.  The bar manager did not accost you, he approached you to remind you on the face mask policy as you were not wearing a face covering, this is not 'trumped up', it is in fact mandatory by the government to wear face coverings in all public areas and when not seated at your table when dining.  You were not singled out, we would remind any guest not wearing a face covering and not displaying an exemption lanyard or badge of the government guidelines and our guests are usually understanding and compliant.  You proceeded to shout and disrupt our other guests by asking them why they were wearing face masks.  You falsely accused the bar manager of secretly drinking alcohol, this was certainly not the case, our staff do not drink alcohol on duty.   As you admit in your review, you threatened the bar manager with physical violence, we do not tolerate this behaviour, our staff are working extremely hard throughout this pandemic, following the government guidelines and doing their best to ensure that our guests and team members are safe.  The overwhelming majority of our guests are supportive and appreciative of our efforts during these strange and unusual times.  As you said in your review, people will draw their own conclusions and I am sure they will when given all the facts. Regards
Read more
roger950 wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Very friendly staff, service excellent, room very good. Overall experence very good. I have stayed here before and I will stay here again. Food in the bar was very good as was breakfast. Reception were friendly and welcoming. Room was well equipped and comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Gallaghers Manager, General Manager at McGettigan's Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for choosing McGettigan's Hotel on your recent visit to Letterkenny and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your lovely review and are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. . I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay. Warmest Regards
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gallaghers hotel letterkenny
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalLetterkenny
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about McGettigan's Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to McGettigan's Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Glebe House and Gallery (0.2 km), St. Eunan's Cathedral (0.2 km), and McGinleys Bar (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at McGettigan's Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at McGettigan's Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at McGettigan's Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to McGettigan's Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lemon Tree, Wholegreen Healthfood, and The Brewery Bar and Restaurant.
Is McGettigan's Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Letterkenny.
Are any cleaning services offered at McGettigan's Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does McGettigan's Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at McGettigan's Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Polish, and Turkish.
Are there any historical sites close to McGettigan's Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Glebe House and Gallery (0.2 km).
Is McGettigan's Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.