We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waters Country House

Save
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (12)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good17%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“natural spring”(8 reviews)
“glass of wine”(7 reviews)
“quirky charm”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
92
21
4
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
92
21
4
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnatural springglass of winequirky charmhomey placesitting roomopen firecomfy couchescommon areasone nightfeel right at homecouple of nightsquiet roomhome away from homefriendly ownershonesty barhis wifea wonderful place to stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

This is my first time ever writing a Trip Advisor review. I am the Father associated with the 2 other recent reviewers. Horrible experience. We had reserved 2 rooms and each felt the same - dirty, dusty, cobwebs, and in my wife's and mine, bugs...More

Thank nkeller16808
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while exploring The Burren. The hotel is quirky and interesting. It has a fresh water source that is actually in the hotel. Our room was small, but serviceable. Wolfgang the owner was very friendly and the breakfast was great....More

Thank Trish S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dusty, bugs in bath, water damage on ceiling. Informed owner that we wouldn't be able to stay due to unexpected conditions. Was told we wouldn't be charged, but they went back on their word. An unpleasant experience.More

Thank Ashley D
Response from Wolfgang D, Owner at The Waters Country HouseResponded 1 week ago

This person the is the same as the other review, they threatened to write bad reviews if we charge cancellation fee when they left (not because the conditions of the house they just expected a Hotel with all amenities instead of a B&B but of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I visited Water Country House during our wonderful two week stay in the Burren trying out lodges/BnBs for my wedding next year. Unfortunately the waters was our biggest (and only!) disappointment during our stay. After checking into our rooms, we were a...More

Thank claramkeller
Response from Wolfgang D, Owner at The Waters Country HouseResponded 1 week ago

This person the is the same as the other review, they threatened to write bad reviews if we charge cancellation fee when they left (not because the conditions of the house they just expected a Hotel with all amenities instead of a B&B but of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous location in the central Burren. Beautifully appointed rooms...all rooms, dining, bed, lounge, foyer have a magical quality. Although the property is only 20 years old it has been constructed of local stone and old castle timbers. The freshwater well in a small grotto off...More

Thank Marilyn D
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Ballyvaughan
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$105 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$105 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (12)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Frank D
18 March 2018|
Answer
Response from heather b | Reviewed this property |
I’m not sure what the cutoff was, but I feel like it was either 7-9 or 7-10. They have buffet items set out and then a cook will make you a hot breakfast to order. They were very attentive to our needs. The dining room was... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We had a ground floor room near the Chapel and it was perfect."
Read review
"Ask for a room it's in own bungalow! :) Very quaint!"
Read review
"We had a larger family room (20 I think) and it had great space for a travel cot and sofa bed. Private lodges..."
Read review
"main house rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing