The Waters Country House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Waters Country House

Newtown Ballyvaughan, Co. Clare, Ballyvaughan Ireland
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 11 B&Bs in Ballyvaughan
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our unique Country House is situated in over 40 acres of land at the foot of the Burren hills with a scenic view across Galway Bay.​Our bedrooms are all en suite and comfortable and furnished in the antique style, so that you can relax in comfort, feeling the peace and quiet, for which The Waters is known. We can accommodate up to 30 guests in a mix of double, family, and twin rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Horseback riding
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Windsurfing
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Room features
Housekeeping
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Italian
225Reviews3Q+A35Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 178
  • 34
  • 7
  • 1
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kittycosengas wrote a review Aug 2020
Cork, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived to the Waters and I have to say that the pictures do not do it justice. It is a very different place with lots of old world charm and an abundance of comfort and warmth. This is achieved through both the property itself with its decor, it has a country house feel in the original building where the couple put their own stamp on it with a nod to the Dolomite heritage of owners, Wolfgang & Maria.
The original building has a library and a sitting room with an honesty bar. This was well stocked with a good variety and a great variety of ware also. even though it is August, it was so miserable on the evening we welcomed the warm embrace of the fire in the room and the quiet of the room.

We were greeted and given a tour instantly getting our bearings. we saw the little chapel where small weddings can be held and i could only imagine how amazing this venue would be for a wedding especially in this Covid climate. Our accommodation was in a newer build of the property but the old world decor ws cleverly recreated with vintage and reclaimed materials through out.

We had the pleasure of staying in the Burren Suite which has a four poster bed with a comfy suite of furniture and a corner nook where we could all sit.
We were there with our daughters aged 9 &7 who were loving the canopied bed with nets around the sides.

Breakfast was a sight to behold as an array of fruit/breads/cheese and charcuterie was presented and the choice for the cooked breakfast was your own choice of the usual traditional mix of Irish Breakfast. It was beautiful. the charm was in the setting with candles on the tables and the vintage feel of the room. the couples son helped with attending to the guests and he was a very polite and helpful teenager. we had disposable gloves for use when going to the buffet and the rest was table service to be mindful of Covid. we were able to spread out in the sitting room / library area and also bring the wine/beer to our room as there was an honest bar in our building also. you are given a card to keep track of this. very reasonably priced also. we found a deck of cards in ther room so we had a few rounds of twist there with the children.

We will certainly be back again to this beautiful property as it was so relaxing ticked all the boxes for us. we were delighted to have found this accommodation off the beaten track with such beautiful views even in the dull misty weather we had.

Of interest we ate in the Storehouse in Lisdoonvarna, about a 15 minute spin for our dinner- amazing Pizza. The following morning we went to the Mountain Chocolate Factory which was an 8 minute spin according to Google Maps!! and then we went on to the Burren Perfumery. Another hidden gem, the shop/cafe/surrounds are stunning and beautiful food but we were too full due to the breakfast Maria served us to even contemplate the food in either the factory or the perfumery. Both a certainly worth a look. It was unfortunate that we did not go to to the Team Rooms in Ballyvaughan in the village but we had to leave something to come back to! our surfing was cancelled at Lahinch Surf School but we will also get back to that once the winds are not so fierce. A beautiful part of the country.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Burren suite was enchanting for our girls who attempted to rob the main bed from us!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bloggsy11 wrote a review Aug 2021
County Cork, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here last night and was a great experience. Wolfgang and Maria were fantastic hosts and my kids loved their friendly and welcoming nature.
The house itself is different from your normal hotel and all the better for it.
There are medieval touches to the house and a natural spring inside the house (the water is drinkable)
Perched on a hillside on the burren, it’s a fantastic location and enjoys great views from all sides.
Rooms are extremely comfortable and cosy and because you are in the countryside on a hillside it’s very quiet so a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was great and had a full buffet as well as options for a full Irish breakfast,fantastic value.

I would highly recommend 😀
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Plenty of parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison M wrote a review Apr 2022
Galway, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my husband stayed for 2 nights B+B and it definitely exceeded our expectations. My husband was doing the Cliffs of Moher charity cycle, while I enjoyed the peace and quiet and the beautiful scenery in the sunshine, when it got cool I was able to sit in the cosy sitting room with open fire and quirky decor. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, everything from cold meats and cheeses to homemade soda bread and locally made sourdough bread and full cooked breakfast. Tea/ Coffee complimentary.... available 24/7 . There is also a good selection of wines and beers available....self service... honestly policy, just fill in card when you fill your drink ☺️ We were in one of the small buildings away from the main house, it was really comfortable and spotlessly clean. The B+B is built over a fresh water spring which flows through the limestone of the Burren hills, a totally unique feature which we were shown by Wolfgang on arrival. Lovely host , so welcoming , as were his wife and children. Genuine people who really make you feel at home.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerard Q wrote a review Aug 2021
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I and our two kids spent four nights in The Waters Country House last week and it made a memorable trip to the Banner County even more special. Right from arrival we were made feel incredibly welcome and our hosts could not have been nicer.

The breakfast was a sumptuous feast every morning, the kids gave it a ten out of ten and they laid on free tea and coffee and biscuits that we could access any time day or night. The staff and management couldn't have been kinder or more welcoming. Both Wolfgang and Marie were exemplary hosts and they greeted you by name each morning and were incredibly quick and efficient in serving breakfast in a very nice, atmospheric room with background music that wasn't overly intrusive but struck all of the right notes. Waters Country House is a treasure and a real find for me and my family. We will be back. Two very minor things, the double bed in our room could have been a little more comfortable - it was a little soft for our liking and the WIFI connection was poor, neither of which impacted our enjoyment of this fine guest house. We would highly recommend The Waters Country House to singles, couples or families seeking an alternative to the stereotypical guest house experience. We will definitely return to this wonderful spot.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Make sure to sample the delicious spring water from the onsite well and the brown bread for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah G wrote a review Aug 2021
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and i stayed here for a week in August. This absolute diamond of property exceeded our expectations far above what we had hoped for. The main house is stunning set amidst mature trees and shrubbery. Smaller apartment type rooms are set within wildflower meadow gardens with fabulous views of the burren. The main house boasts the most most amazing curios and antiques within a beautiful timeless setting. There is a wonderful prayer room, an indoor natural spring from which you can drink, lots of interesting rooms filled with books and an honesty bar where you can relax at night enjoying a drink while a turf fire crackles in the grate. Breakfast is an absolute feast of continental/ cooked food enjoyed within what has to be one of the most interesting rooms we have ever been in!
From our room window we were fortunate to see an Irish hare! A pine Martin frquents the grounds alongside lots of butterflies amidst the wildflower meadow.
Wolfgang and Maria truly make this beautiful place extra special. Amazing hosts who really take a personal interest in their guests. A wonderful couple who are kind, friendly, great fun and who clearly care passionately about giving their guests the best possible experience.
Genuinely lovely people who have created something extremely rare and exceptionally special!
A beautiful unforgettable paradise!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bellch_Who_Else wrote a review Aug 2020
Kingdom of Kerry
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This whole place is full of charm and character, from the great and friendly owners, Wolfgang and family, through to the spring water on the ground floor.

The common areas are just wonderful, with an honesty bar with wine, beer and whiskey, normally a fire burning and plenty of reading material. It is within easy walking distance (20 minutes ) to the village, taxis are available...and if not I heard the owner offer to run someone down.

Breakfast was great with choice of cheeses, meats, hot and cold food.

Thanks to the hosts it was a great start to our trip.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angelina N wrote a review Mar 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What an amazing place to stay. We had three rooms for our group of 5. A room with two twins, a room with a king and one of the suites. The suite is AMAZING. The furnishings, decorations, linens and everything were perfect. The owners are just absolutely amazing. There are free coffee, tea stations. Three sitting rooms with chess, fireplaces and TVs. Water pressure was great and super hot water. Also the natural spring that you fill your water container for your room was so unique. Breakfast was the best we've had so far. I could just go on and on. If your anywhere near the cliffs and need somewhere to stay, this is the place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Evi C wrote a review Sept 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms were acceptable comfort level and clean. Check-in was a complicated and inefficient affair with incomplete information and misinformation regarding WiFi and when the common areas closed for the evening. These areas were cute and eccentricity decorated and cards and books available in the library. Breakfast was a decent buffet but the service was anything but hospitable: we were abruptly sent out of the breakfast room breakfast room to a room in an isolated corner by ourselves away from the buffet; when I laid on the sofa for a moment because I felt unwell, staff started to unceremoniously clear my unfinished breakfast and continued to do so after we told them to leave it; after we had checked out upon being told that they were fully booked the following night and we couldn't extend, I informed them that we would be in the library relaxing and planning our day - after 40 minutes, the same Spanish woman (manager?) who had been abrupt about breakfast and defensive about the staff taking the food came in and said, "It's time for you to leave now. We're going to clean the room"...just as we thought she meant the room, she muttered that "it's already check-out, time to go". This has never happened in any of the 100s of hotels either of us has stayed at and if we hadn't already thought that this place was cheeky to charge what they charge for the quality of what we offer, we were disappointed to have paid for such treatment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wolfgang Dietl, General Manager at The Waters Country House
Responded 27 Sept 2023
Dear guest, we are sorry you had a bad experience here but just to clarify a couple of things. First of all you checked in outside check in hours and despite multiple phone calls and emails from our selves trying to contact you in order to confirm you were coming that night and to arrange a late check in because we are a B&B and we don’t have 24hours concierge, all of them were ignored and you arrived 3 hours later. We sent someone to show you to your room and I’m not really sure why you think the common areas are closed for the night because they are 24 hours open to guests. This is explained in the different emails we sent you too. We offer breakfast from 8 :00until 10:00am it was 10:30 when you were lying on the sofa and we have to tidy up breakfast in some stage specially if you are not in your table anymore. You wanted to stay an extra night (we cant be that bad , don’t you think?) and it’s true that were fully booked so you sat down on one of our living rooms after check out time for “a small bit”. Bare in mind that check out is 11:00pm so that gives us time to get ready for the following guests arriving and you were sitting around until 2:30h (I know time flies when you are enjoying yourself but that was more than 40 minutes) so we had to ask you to go because we needed to clean that room (guests start coming at 3:00 pm). One last thing… we put tables for breakfast everywhere and you sat first on a used/dirty table that’s why you were moved to a clean ready to go one. We wish you the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cait C wrote a review Sept 2022
Detroit, Michigan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent a few nights here with my family. The location was ideal for us- near Doolin and Kinvarra, as well as some of the smaller castles and abbeys we wanted to visit. Plus, it's tucked away in the countryside. It feels so secluded and magical, despite being an easy drive to the sites. The rooms were large and comfortable with great hot water in the showers. The shared living spaces are well0funished and beautiful. Wolfgang and his crew were so friendly and kind, getting to know a little bit about each guest and checking in constantly to make sure our stay was excellent. We loved the breakfast, which included both a buffet and a served hot breakfast made to order. We wish we had stayed longer!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
baz867 wrote a review Aug 2023
Crawley, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A delightful group of converted house (mill, I believe) and outbuildings providing an unusual array of differing styles of room. Some might consider the décor to be quirky however for me this added character to a restful ambiance. Very clean and comfortable in a quiet and scenic location, ideal if one is looking for a base in this area. My first visit to The (beautiful) Burren and most impressed with the care and thoughtfulness of the hosts, Wolfgang and Maria, who are most charming. Stopping only one night on our travels we didn't have the opportunity to use the communal areas fully, would happily return if exploring the area further. The breakfast was first class, certainly one of the best ever. With it's own spring there is plenty of fresh cold water available to be enjoyed. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this charming establishment.

The only minor factor preventing me scoring maximum points is the shower being dated and in need of modernisation. As one only spends a few minutes in a shower I am guilty of being a little picky perhaps.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: B & B only but close to Ballyvaughan for pubs and shop.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
joe c asked a question Aug 2022
Oneida, New York146 contributions220 helpful votes
Hi, are the rooms equipped with blow dryers (hair dryers)?
Answer from Wolfgang D
Ballyvaughan, Ireland1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hi Orlaigh, the double deluxe its a bigger room than the double standard. Family room is a Double deluxe but with 2 additional single beds. Hope this helps. Maria
Frank D asked a question Mar 2018
1 contribution5 helpful votes
What times are Breakfast served?
Answer from heather b
Hazlet, New Jersey12 contributions
I’m not sure what the cutoff was, but I feel like it was either 7-9 or 7-10. They have buffet items set out and then a cook will make you a hot breakfast to order. They were very attentive to our needs. The dining room was ornate and intimate. Hope this helps!
Mary M wrote a tip Yesterday
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Main doors to the hotel are never locked."
Read full review
AJ_SF, CA wrote a tip Apr 2024
7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in a separate building that had a large "family room" which was perfect. They have a few separate buildings close to the lodge."
Read full review
baz867 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Crawley, United Kingdom32 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"B & B only but close to Ballyvaughan for pubs and shop."
Read full review
Jenny R wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay here is you are looking for a charming experience and want to enjoy a peaceful setting."
Read full review
marilyn c wrote a tip Apr 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom22 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s quite remote so transport s a must"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ballyvaughan area.
PRICE RANGE
€147 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty ClareThe BurrenBallyvaughan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WATERS COUNTRY HOUSE - UPDATED 2024 B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Ballyvaughan, The Burren, County Clare) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Waters Country House
Which popular attractions are close to The Waters Country House?
Nearby attractions include Caherconnell Stone Fort & Sheepdog Demonstrations (7.2 km), Burren Birds of Prey Centre (2.2 km), and The Burren (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Waters Country House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Waters Country House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Waters Country House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Waters Country House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monks Ballyvaughan, The Wild Atlantic Lodge, and Tea and Garden Rooms.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Waters Country House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Waters Country House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caherconnell Stone Fort & Sheepdog Demonstrations (7.2 km), Poulnabrone Dolmen (6.5 km), and Gleninsheen Wedge Tomb (7.0 km).
All Ballyvaughan HotelsBallyvaughan Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BallyvaughanHotels near The Waters Country House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire