The Wild Atlantic Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Wild Atlantic Lodge

Main Street Ballyvaughan, Co. Clare, Ballyvaughan H91 HD90 Ireland
Traveller (105)
Dining Area
Dining (29)
Room & Suite (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 11 B&Bs in Ballyvaughan
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated along the Wild Atlantic Way, The Wild Atlantic Lodge offers charming, family-run accommodation and a welcoming bar. The picturesque County Clare coastline and the Cliffs of Moher are nearby. Enjoy traditional food and drink in the inviting bar, with regular entertainment. Cosy features include beamed ceilings and open log fires. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The Wild Atlantic lodge offers comfortable rooms, with en suite facilities and a TV.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Diving
Hiking
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Fishing
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Main Street Ballyvaughan, Co. Clare, Ballyvaughan H91 HD90 Ireland
438Reviews4Q+A53Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 264
  • 111
  • 36
  • 18
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rourkey15 wrote a review Aug 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 2 nights here and dined on the first night. The room was small but nicely decorated and had everything we required. Our meal on the first night was delicious, including the vegetarian option. We would have loved to have a drink in the Snug Bar but obviously this was not possible due to Covid restrictions. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent. Initially we were disappointed not to get a space in the car park but as it happened we were able to park on the street directly outside the front door. We were not aware that the restaurant closes early midweek and so was already booked up when we tried to get a table on our second night. This was disappointing as we had really enjoyed our meal the previous night and also because we then had to drive 20mins to Kinvara to eat (the other restaurants in the village were not open on Monday). However this was just a minor issue. Our main concern before staying anywhere was Covid precautions and we were pleased to see the utmost care being taken in this hotel. All staff wore face shields, there were numerous hand sanitisers throughout the hotel and we observed staff sanitising all tables after use (including all shared items e.g. salt and pepper shakers). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Wild Atlantic Lodge and would recommend it to anyone visiting North Clare.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth C wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This little hotel in the beautiful town of Ballyvaughan ticked all the boxes for us. There were 3 of us travelling and we stayed in a triple room which was absolutely spotless . Everything from the bed linen to the decor and spacious bathroom was just fabulous. The full Irish breakfast was freshly cooked and delivered to our table every morning by the delightful staff, along with freshly baked brown soda bread . The breakfast was probably the best we ever enjoyed in all the hotels we have stayed in when travelling around Ireland . But wait for it as it only gets better!! We were fortunate enough to stay for dinner on two nights and the sea bass fillets & sirloin steak in particular were totally to die for and served with piping hot veg . The staff were wonderful and attentive at all times. Thank you AIainn, Harry, Daniel , Tara and of course Paul for making our stay so memorable. This was our third visit to this wonderful hotel and we are v much looking forward to returning there again very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Voyager557032 wrote a review Sept 2020
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic four night stay, once again Paul and his team made us feel very welcome. Robust Covid protocols in place, very safe. Dinner in the restaurant was first class, fresh produce and well cooked. Will definitely be coming back, hopefully in the Spring. One of the best boutique hotels I have ever stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PaulG wrote a review Aug 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived in the Atlantic Lodge on Tuesday, 11 August, with great expectations, but unfortunately were left slightly dismayed. Firstly, the miniscule car park can only cater for around 10 cars, so it fills up very easily. I ended up parking the car near the pier, 700m away. Our room was located outside of the hotel in an adjacent building, which in hindsight I would not have booked, if this was clearly stated on their website. Also, due to recent Covid guidelines, the Snug bar is completely closed. I was informed that if I wanted a drink, I would have to bring it to my room. This would mean bringing a drink out onto the main street to consume in our room in the adjacent building. Bizarre concept! This is also not stated on their website. The restaurant was also not available on this particular night and we were informed that anywhere available was booked up, but pizza was available in Spar across the road. The very helpful young girl working at reception provided me with a number to contact the owner/manager, but inevitably he did not answer his phone or respond to my text. I was not the only customer who had zero success in contacting the owner/manager. This episode unfortunately soured our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Wild Atlantic Lodge, Owner at The Wild Atlantic Lodge
Responded 15 Aug 2020
Hello Paul Firstly I would like to thank you for your review and for highlighting our shortcomings. Firstly regarding car parking, we have 12 car parking spaces at the rear of the hotel, there is also on street parking at the front of the hotel and if this is not available there is a public car park just a two minute walk away. It was not necessary for you to park 700 metres away and I am sorry you were not informed of this. there is no mention of parking being available at all on our website and I will rectify this right away. The room you were allocated is in the main building but it does have a separate entrance door to the main building which is located 15 metres from the main door.This room is one of our snug doubles which I believe offer amazing value at €100 for Bed and Breakfast for two people. We have several other room types which are a little more expensive which would probably have suited you better. The room in question is a brand new room beautifully decorated with a brand new en suite bathroom. We have guests that specifically request these rooms, there are two, because of the privacy they offer and of the quality of the rooms and also because of the safety factor during this pandemic. However I am sorry that it was not to your taste. Regarding the Snug bar being closed, this is not our choice it is the law. we are obliged by law to close the snug bar and this is for your safety and well being as well as that of our team. Finally about our food offering. If you click on the Restaurant page on our Website it does state clearly that we serve dinner from 6 to 9 pm Monday to Thursday inclusive. I am sorry that you were not able to find this information on our website. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your one night with us and that we did not live up to your expectations. I am taking on board the car parking not being mentioned on our website and I will get this updated right away. Thank you again for your review and I hope I have answered some of your issues.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob wrote a review Sept 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on the final leg of a trip around Ireland. The covid restrictions were stricter than in any other hotel we stayed in. This is fair enough as it is up to the management to interpret guidelines and decide best practices for overall safety. It was the managers reaction and complete lack of interest that was a little annoying. We wanted to checkout and stay somewhere else, the management would not even agree to partial refund for even one night. Manager looked as if he would rather be anywhere in the world rather than work, showed a complete lack of interest in customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Wild Atlantic Lodge, Owner at The Wild Atlantic Lodge
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Hello Rob. Thank you for your review. may I begin by saying that I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I appreciate that this is a very stressful time for people as they are no longer able to live life as they used to and most leisure activities must now be pre planned and booked . The days of going for a spontaneous pint are gone for now I am afraid. My understanding of what happened is that you wished to have a pint or two in the Bar and to read your book. The Manager informed you that this was not possible but that you could reserve a table for food and then you could have drinks. However you did not wish to eat with us and I believe you were very unhappy that you could not have a few pints in the Bar. It was at this stage that you mentioned that you did not want to remain for the duration of your stay and you requested a refund. The cancellation policy for our property is seven days and because you were outside the cancellation period we were unable to refund you. I am sorry that we were not able to accommodate your request for drinks but to do so would have meant breaking the law, putting our Licence at risk and putting the safety of the other Guests and our Team at risk. The rules we have in place are for the safety of our Guests and Team and the General feedback that we are receiving is that people feel safe while staying or Dining in our Hotel. I believe that safety must take precedence in these very difficult times.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
H01idays wrote a review Jul 2021
Dublin, Ireland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked in quickly but no parking, not once in 3 days did we manage to get on site parking, had to park a good 15 mins walk away. Rooms are grand. Breakfast is average at best, not special. Dinner, not great, over priced for what it is. Harry was a lovely lad and very accommodating. Older barman with glasses was very rude and not accommodating. Not much to do in village, nothing else open. A good drive each day to go anywhere. Maybe in non covid times it would be better, found the whole experience very boring.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
finbarrk wrote a review Jun 2021
Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had nice dinner and drinks in the bar. Good staff service. Nice room, good shower. Breakfast was good also. I was cycling in the area and storage for bicycles was available. A good centre for a cycle holiday in the Burren area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Geraldine Power wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Wild Atlantic lodge in Ballyvaughan, County Clare after a cold rainy day sightseeing.
We were welcomed and greeted by every member of staff. The owner took a lot of trouble to secure the last parking spot for us.
Our room which was large for such a small property was tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. The whole place was bright and so quirky but upgraded to a very high standard.
Dinner was superb with a delicious bottle of wine. Breakfast which was cooked to order was first class.
Drinks in the bar which adhered to covid rules was a lovely end to the first day of our stay cation.
I can only say that with good taste and effort it has become a lovely place to stay.
We would love to return again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VBIreland wrote a review Aug 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
So disappointed with our visit to the restaurant. First impressions great. Spacious and lovely decor. However food really unimpressive. Daily specials menu includes chicken gougons and lasagne!! Prawn starter was tasteless. Main course was served with a large platter of over steamed vegetables....such a turn off! Steak dry and overcooked. Desserts poor. Won't return
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
t44rog wrote a review May 2022
Harpenden
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Small hotel situated on a main road, with free car parking on site.
Good location for touring the Burren National Park, and for visiting the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher.
Our room was clean and comfortable but very small, and the bathroom (with walk-in shower) was extremely small. Our room was at the front of the hotel, overlooking the main road. We had to keep the window closed because the traffic noise was intrusive.
We dined at the hotel on our first night - the food was good. Breakfast was good but nothing special.
We would look for a quieter location if we visited again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Ethel G
Dublin, Ireland33 contributions21 helpful votes
No
Sunny D asked a question Aug 2018
Vancouver, Canada97 contributions70 helpful votes
Is there free parking at your location?
Answer from happycouple090
Athlone, Ireland177 contributions47 helpful votes
Hi there yes there is free parking at this hotel
BRB_On_Vacation asked a question Aug 2017
Oakville, Canada76 contributions45 helpful votes
Are you a family lodge? Do you have baby cribs?
Answer from Paul H
Hi Keith. Yes it has been sold. We have upgraded the restaurant and intend to complete the upgrades over the winter. We hope you will come and stay with us again
Marie H wrote a tip Oct 2022
Limerick, Ireland6 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check other hotels or B and Bs in the area before booking this one"
Read full review
Martina J wrote a tip Jul 2021
County Tipperary, Ireland5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely area with lots to explore. "
Read full review
clohanes wrote a tip Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland205 contributions196 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Car park side are Sunny"
Read full review
CindyD wrote a tip Aug 2019
New York282 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There's a shop across the way where you can buy bottled water, snacks, toothpaste, etc."
Read full review
STEWART L wrote a tip Aug 2019
Sterling, Virginia303 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms further back from the street are very quiet."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ballyvaughan area.
PRICE RANGE
€202 - €303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Logues Lodge
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty ClareThe BurrenBallyvaughan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WILD ATLANTIC LODGE - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Ballyvaughan, The Burren, County Clare)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Wild Atlantic Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to The Wild Atlantic Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Burren Birds of Prey Centre (0.4 km), The Burren (7.4 km), and Poulnabrone Dolmen (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wild Atlantic Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Wild Atlantic Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Wild Atlantic Lodge?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wild Atlantic Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monks Ballyvaughan, Linnane's Bar, and The Wild Atlantic Lodge.
Is The Wild Atlantic Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Ballyvaughan.
Are there any historical sites close to The Wild Atlantic Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Poulnabrone Dolmen (7.4 km).
All Ballyvaughan HotelsBallyvaughan Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BallyvaughanHotels near The Wild Atlantic Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire