Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel

Nesbitt Arms Hotel in Ardara
Traveller (111)
The Corner at Ramblers
Dining (42)
Room & Suite (37)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Ardara
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel is the only hotel in the centre of the beautiful heritage town of Ardara in County Donegal. Fully refurbished in 2016/17 the hotel boasts 49 ensuite bedrooms. At Ramblers Bar & Restaurant our award winning chefs will delight you with the best of local fresh produce. With daily deliveries of fresh fish from Killybegs Port and sumptuous meats from Dunkineely both only a small distance from the hotel, our menus offer a great variety of dishes with options for vegetarians also. Upstairs @ Ramblers, is an ideal spot for more formal dining where many a party has had a great night. FREE High Speed WIFI is available for all guest to catch up with the news of the day. Weavers Suite is the ideal place for bigger groups, weddings or meetings. Conal Haughey Suite offers private dining along with great meeting space with all up to date technology. There are an amazing amount of activities and attractions in the area to suit all our guests desires.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Fishing
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English

Location

The Diamond, Ardara Ireland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Donegal Airport
31.5 km
See all flights
Dublin Airport
204.9 km
See all flights
529Reviews4Q+A60Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 279
  • 150
  • 61
  • 18
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Fiona wrote a review Sept 2020
33 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is maintained to a really high standard and is situated on the Main Street in the town. Extremely clean which is most important in covid times. Lovely bright decor. Friendly staff in the bar & restaurant. Food lovely. Would highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire O Reilly, Owner at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Responded 14 Sept 2020
Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and got to experience our true Donegal welcome. I will certainly pass on your very kind comments to our team here. I do hope you will return to us in the future for another Donegal break. With kind regards Claire , Liam & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul O wrote a review Sept 2020
County Monaghan, Ireland5,318 contributions205 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2020. Hotel is located on Main Street of Ardara and does not have it own car park. However on street parking is free (although hard to find space) and there is a also a free car park less than a 5 minute walk from hotel.

Check in was smooth and overall staff were polite and helpful. The room and bathroom was not overly large but no real issue with size. However the room has no air conditioning and gets very warm and you have no choice but to leave windows open.

The bar food and breakfast were both excellent.

Finally being the only hotel in the town the prices reflect this and would be more expensive than similar quality hotels in different parts of the county.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire O Reilly, Owner at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very fortunate to be situated right in the centre of Ardara which does make matters very convenient for exploring the Town. I am glad you enjoyed your time here with us and I have taken on board your comments and thank you for bringing this to our attention. I do hope you will join us again in the future. Kindest regards and once again, thank you for your review, Claire O Reilly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ashmonman wrote a review Apr 2022
Monaghan, Ireland245 contributions93 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment I spoke to Grace on reception to book our room i knew we would not be disappointed.
Grace was on duty when we arrived and gave us all the the information we needed for the next couple of days.
Parking is on the street or just around the corner in a free public car park.
We stayed in Deluxe king room and definitely could not fault it, very clean room with comfortable bed, good shower.
The hotel was clean throughout, staff were all very friendly and helpful.
We eat in the hotel both nights and food was very good and keenly priced. Breakfast in mornings was also very good.
Its a great base for exploring south donegal, the Secret waterfall at Largy , Assaranca waterfall, Maghera caves and beach, Glencolmcille, Silverstrand beach etc
Definitely will return to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire O Reilly, Owner at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Dear Guest Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us and you experience our very friendly team. I will pass on your kind words to Grace and all the team here. We are blessed to be situated in such a lovely Town and area and so central for exploring SW Donegal. Please do come back again. Kindest regards Francis & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean Purcell wrote a review Aug 2020
42 contributions24 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I recently stayed here on our trip around Donegal.

It was just a one night stop off - which we were relieved about.
The hotel is in the middle of the small town and is quite dated.

The pub was booked out for food when we arrived so we were put into a back function room which was being used for serving extra people. The room was roasting and the food was greasy - quite slap up for the high prices.

However as this was a stop off the room was the only thing that mattered. This was a disaster. The rooms are tiny and as the windows face out onto a middle section of the hotel there’s absolutely no air circulation. With the weather so good
It meant the room was almost impossible to sleep in. To be honest with such little
Air I think the room Would be stuffy even in winter.
My wife slept in the bed and I slept on the ground as the heat was unbearable.
We did manage to get a small fan from front desk which slightly improved the situation but neither of us got much if any sleep. We were even looking to see if we could find another accomm at midnight as didn’t think we could stay in the room.

We were out of the hotel as soon as we could.

I don’t like to be too critical in these tough times for hotels but how they can charge those prices for these rooms is beyond me. A local BnB would be better value and we regret not staying in one instead.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire O Reilly, Owner at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I do apologise for your experience here and have taken on board your comments. Regarding the dining options, as we are adhering to social distancing, like all other hotels, we use our property to the very best to ensure our guests safety at all times. As we are very Covid compliant, modifications and dining options are necessary. Stay safe and kind regards Liam, Claire & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca F wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my boyfriend recently stayed here for one night! And I am very happy that it was only one night! The ‘standard’ rooms are some thing of a one star hotel. The smell in the toilet was absolutely disgusting and the tiles looked gross. It was something from a nursing home! We had stayed in a four star hotel the previous night as we were on a road trip and this was €20 dearer to stay in! We said to the front desk that we were quite disappointed with the room given to us and we were told that it was a standard room and nothing was done!
We dined in the restaurant that evening and my boyfriend was given the wrong order and our chips were absolutely swimming in grease.
The whole experience was horrific and we are so glad we had not booked to stay any longer here. I can’t get over the price they charge for the rooms provided. The rooms were absolutely nothing like the pictures shown when booking and I will never be returning here.
I have attached pictures that show what we stayed in compared to what was shown when booking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire O Reilly, Owner at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am deeply upset to hear of your experience here with us and have taken on board your comments. However in our defence, I would like to point out that like all hotels in the whole world, there are different grades of rooms and different prices too. The pictures that you display are of our deluxe rooms and having checked, you booked one of our standard rooms so it would be impossible to get one of these rooms when you didnt book same. Our standard of cleanliness is always of a very high standard as you will see from all our other reviews but unfortunately you didnt feel this was the case. We really were not the right hotel for your expectations and for this I apologise. Kind regards and stay safe. Liam Claire & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L.G wrote a review Feb 2020
Letterkenny, Ireland5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just home from a wonderful stay at The Nesbitt Arms. The warm friendly welcome from the receptionist on duty upon our arrival set the tone for our entire stay. Our room was warm and cosy, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We decided to dine in the bar and were spoiled for choice, the Philly Cheesesteak was melt in the mouth! The service was both efficient and engaging, every member of staff had a smile on their face.
Breakfast the next morning was of an equally high standard, even though we arrived at peak time we were seated straight away and again greeted by courteous and helpful staff. The traditional Irish breakfast certainly set us both up well for the day.
We will certainly make a return visit, highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClaireO1489, Owner at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for visiting our property and thank you also for your great review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us and got to experience what we call "True Donegal welcome". I will pass on your kind comments to our team here who work tirelessly to ensure that all our guests have a great time. I do hop you will join us again in the future. With kind regards and once again thank you. Liam, Claire & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cruisejennie wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland14 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed the bank holiday weekend and had a great stay but had dinner in the restaurant the first night and we couldn't eat our meal it was swimming in grease. We couldn't even face breakfast and went out for breakfast the following morning. We braved it the second morning and it was ok, not great but had a 40 min wait. It arrived with half portions of pudding, no rolls, no pastries a lot missing. We didn't bother complaining as the staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel could be a bit cleaner too, someone dropped a wrapper on the floor on Friday and it's still there so no hoovering or polishing being carried out on our floor.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: avoid family rooms very noisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire O Reilly, Owner at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologise for the issues you raised and be assured that we have addressed your constructive comments, I only wish you would have brought it to our attention at the time as we would have been happy to rectify same for you. Times have changed and we are all adapting to the protocols etc. I do hope you will join us again in the future so we can show you that your issues are not habitual as we are normally renowned for our good food and cleanliness. Stay safe and kind regards Liam, Claire & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
itm75 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were visiting Donegal for the first time and wanted an ideal location to base ourselves for the 5 nights. Nesbitt Arms hotel and Ardara were just that. We arrived late on a Saturday evening after a long drive and were welcomed to a complimentary upgrade as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The staff were most helpful and friendly throughout our time there. Our room was beautifully decorated and everything you need in it during these covid times. All the necessary covid 19 measures are taken by the hotel and we couldn't have felt safer. We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and had dinner there two evenings. We found the food to be very nice indeed.

Ardara was the ideal location with the Assaranca falls, Maghera beach and the Glengesh pass close by. Such a central location to visit all of Donegal.

We look forward to returning to the Nesbitt Arms hotel and Donegal soon.

We couldn't recommend the Nesbitt Arms and Ardara enough and we hope to return again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire O Reilly, Owner at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Dear Guest Wow, what a great review of our hotel and many thanks for same. I am delighted you both enjoyed your time here with us as it is an ideal base for exploring SW Donegal. I will pass on your kind comments to our team here. We would love to welcome your back in the future so please put it on your list! Stay safe and many thanks again Liam, Claire & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorraine M wrote a review Jul 2020
Dublin, Ireland29 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a family of 6 and had a lovely meal, everyone was happy with their choice and it was empty plates all round. Found this hotel by chance and so glad we did. Staff were friendly and all were wearing ppe which made us feel very safe while eating out. I would highly recommend for dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire O Reilly, Sales at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Dear Lorraine, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your dining experience with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all round our food and friendly team. We are committed to ensuring that Failte Ireland guidelines are being adhered to, to the best of our knowledge and so happy that our compliance pleased you. We do hope you join us again in this beautiful part of Donegal. With kind regards Liam, Claire & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rose D wrote a review Jul 2021
Inishowen Peninsula, Ireland25 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What can I say other that the best experience I’ve had in long time . From the very start of me enquiring about dates and booking the whole process was made so easy by the staff of the hotel. The girls on phones Ciara and Claire were fantastic so helpful and advised on best rooms for the amount of people in our group and even on arrival the whole check in process was straight forward and simple . They also helped me balloons and banners for the birthday celebration . The meal we had booked on the evening was excellent and even with social distancing in place we all felt as we were together he way they say the tables . Breakfast was another treat it was delicious and had a great choice available. . And our checkout was also made so simple and easy also and again the lady on front desk was so helpful and kind . So would recommend the hotel so much and the Town of Ardara is a lovely place to go and stay and for seeing the surrounding country side also .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Parking can be difficult to get at times during the daytime but never to far to have to walk...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire O Reilly, Owner at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2021
Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write this amazing review. I am super thrilled to hear your great comments and will pass on same to all our team here who work tirelessly to ensure our guests have a good experience. I do hope you will join us again in this beautiful part of Ireland. Kindest regards to you and to all your group Claire
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie7707 asked a question Dec 2018
Belfast, United Kingdom11 contributions7 helpful votes
Comfortable beds?
Answer from james p
Dublin, Ireland70 contributions55 helpful votes
excellent stayed in the hotel many times
marcusjj asked a question Feb 2017
Klamath Falls, Oregon20 contributions1 helpful vote
I saw something about free parking but is it on the street or do they have a lot? Thank you.
Answer from Claire O
11 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi Marcus Many thanks for your enquiry. All of Ardara has free parking. The hotel has no bespoke car park but the town has a car park which is only a minute from the hotel and there is on street parking, all for free. I hope this answers your query. With kind regards Claire O Reilly
Answer from DAMSON59
Craigavon, United Kingdom74 contributions19 helpful votes
The Hotel staff are very accommodating and I have no doubt they will make the required rooms available.
Starbug 1 wrote a tip Jun 2022
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom371 contributions52 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the breakfast."
Read full review
mrcreosote2017 wrote a tip Oct 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom22 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
",could’ve done with shelf to put clothes on,only one small rail with a few coat hangers,rooms designed for only1/2 nights?"
Read full review
Michael M wrote a tip Oct 2021
Derry, United Kingdom25 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid breakfast at 9.00am as that’s the busiest time"
Read full review
S Reilly wrote a tip Aug 2021
Johnstown, Ireland4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is quiet so it doesn't really matter. We were beside the elevator because we had a pram."
Read full review
Niamh R wrote a tip Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to park in the public carpark, not the street as someone knocked off my wing mirror on the first night."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ardara area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
nesbitt arms ardara
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalArdara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NESBITT ARMS BOUTIQUE HOTEL - Reviews (Ardara, County Donegal)

Frequently Asked Questions about Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Maghera Beach and Caves (7.3 km), Glengesh Pass (6.3 km), and Assaranca Waterfall (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nancy's, Charlie's West End Cafe, and Nancy's.
Is Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Ardara.
Does Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Dolmen Centre (6.9 km).
Is Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ardara HotelsArdara Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ArdaraHotels near Nesbitt Arms Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire