We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

959 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 929: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely long weekend staying at the Royal. Staff were helpful and friendly. Full Irish breakfast was ideal for 10euros and the rooms comfortable. Would recommend to anyone who wants to stay outside Dublin at a seaside resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
Euxton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room had been refurbished and was very comfortable and clean family room. The hotel in general was great, the food served in McGettigans was excellent. The breakfast served in the Hotel was very good with plenty of choice. The hotel is in a great location with easy access to Dublin and plenty of attractions to visit and beautiful scenery,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 999PeterK
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for one night after an event in Dublin. My friend and I were knackered, so the beds were amazing ! the girl at reception was lovely and checked us in straight away. the bar downstairs was quite lively but if you wanted food it would be advisable to book in advance! We had food in the bar, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashbee33
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Just spent two nights there with a group for a family gathering , this hotel is the worst I have ever come across some of us had to wait over two hours to book in and two were over 80 years old and not even offered a cup of tea, staff were rude and just repeated the same line that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John C
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed here for a weekend 1 night stay the rooms are dated but have character, exact same as pictures but great value. McGettigans bar is new modern drinks and food are nice, everyone is very friendly and great atmosphere!! I loved this hotel for everything around, the history and beautiful Wicklow of course. The leisure club was amazing the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

23 oct 26 oct Coach party 73 passengers miner problems first night sorted by staff not one complaint on food or staff bar entertainment good relaxing 4 days relaxing would stay there again with a coach party

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Brian G Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor We are delighted you all had an enjoyable stay with us and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel very soon

Stevenage
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We travelled to Bray in 2 coaches for a 3 night stay. Upon arrival we were given our room keys and made our way up to room 406 on the top floor and was very disappointed with the room itself. The TV was an old fashioned 14" type and not the flat screen type: there was no aerial plug, just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derek H
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Derek H Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor We are delighted our staff assisted in changing you to one of our newly refurbished rooms and thrilled that you had a pleasant experience in the hotel. We do hope when you return to us again that you can experience our amazing leisure centre and our beauty treatment...

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Leisure facilities very limited and compact and you have to walk through the bar to get there! Slightly disappointed with the Room as rain dripping all night on flat roof outside window which was very noisy! On the plus side the bed was very comfortable, everywhere appeared clean and the hotel is well situated between town centre and coast! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Sarah M Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very important to us and we can only continue to improve ourselves. It is refreshing to receive lovely comments about our staff, so Thank you We do look forward to wecolming you back to the hotel soon

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Staff are really helpful and friendly. Rooms small but modern and clean. Corridors are quite worn and tired looking. Some floors have a lift so far then stairs so if access is an issue be sure you mention when booking. Carpark is small and a €5 charge. Not all residents are guaranteed a space. It is very hard to find....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Mary M Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. The upgrade of our bedrooms is our main priority. Once this has been completed we will then move onto the upgrade of our corridors. We hope to see you soon

stratford upon avon warwickshire
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Room on the 2 nd floor, lift available. Room standard very clean with great bedding. All the things you would expect in a 4 star room. Meal in the restaurant very good, breakfast buffet style with service for the hot food. Where this hotel excels is with the staffing. Excellent customer care from the manager down, even a maintenance chap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beverley s
RoyalBray, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear beverley s Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and had the pleasure of experiencing one of our new refurbishment bedrooms. We do hope you to see you soon !!

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.8 km away
The Martello Hotel
2.1 km away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
412 reviews
1.1 km away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
928 reviews
9.9 km away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
1,849 reviews
12.8 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Price Range: €67 - €130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try not to get a room on the main street. Way too loud!”
 of 5 bubbles tjh112016, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a completely renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles jacko096, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Hotel is Central to the Town and just off the Main Street with Shops and Pubs so well located”
 of 5 bubbles DUKE747, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stat somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles DeirdreW1, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Phone after you book through whatever medium to ensure you getting what you requested and paid for when you arrive.Be nice to Danka.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay