We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ballymascanlon House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 538: English reviews
Cheriton Bishop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed over for one night whilst on business, very impressed with food, overall feel of the place and the hotel grounds. The ideal location for a quiet break in a superb facility, very reasonably priced. If there was one negative I would say the mattresses were quite uncomfortable but overall very impressed

Helpful?
Thank skelington
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you chose Ballymascanlon for your overnight stay while in the area on business and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here the night before my wedding with 20 other guests and it was a nightmare from the outset. The manager was extremely rude about our booking, they made two extra guests we had for dinner sit completely separately from the main group as they would not allow us to sit them at the end of the table, the course... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
JeanineCarroll, General Manager at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Following your recent review on Tripadvisor I would like to respond to some of the unfair criticisms that are contained in your review. You did indeed stay and book a dinner the night before your wedding in Bellingham Castle last August, however when you booked the dinner you had not confirmed the final number of guests attending the... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The rooms are beautiful and pristine. The building is elegant. The gardens and grounds are stunning. There is a wonderfully peaceful atmosphere around the hotel no matter how busy it is. The staff are friendly and helpful - they create a great sense of belonging for guests. The leisure facilitates are fabulous, in particular the outdoor hot tub which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bunny Q
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your recent review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ballymascanlon and were able to avail of the many facilities on offer. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments regarding the team here and we very much hope to welcome you back... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

WEnt here for a family birthday celeration event. Many family from far and wide came to stay. Seems to be a popular venue for events like wedding etc. has a nice looking golf course. The bar is nice and staff are warm and friendly. Breakfast buffet is great.. lovely irish breakfast with all the trimmings. Rooms were traditional and well... More 

Helpful?
Thank kdaniel2015
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor and we are pleased that you and your family members enjoyed your recent stay with us to celebrate your family birthday celebration. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards More 

Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
590 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

My granny used to take me her for lunch when I was a wee nipper, but I haven't been back for many years. It was really good, with a large comfortable room and great dinner and breakfast. The only problem was the uncomfortable flat pillows that hurt my neck. Bacon and sausages were cooked perfectly and everything was tasty. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank HabLeaf
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that overall you enjoyed being back at Ballymascanlon after a couple of years. I will certainly highlight your comment regarding the pillows to the Senior management team and Housekeeping. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Great friendly hotel, very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Well appointed and firnished rooms with everything you could need. Wonderful food in the Restaurant both dinner and breakfast. Golf shop looked after us really well and we had two great rounds of golf on a short but demanding enough well presented course. Terrace Bar is a great spot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oceanspray46
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your recent Golf Break with us. We are delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction and were able to enjoy the many facilities here at Ballymascanlon. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay again in the future. Kind regards More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We decided to go to Ballymascanlon for my mothers birthday lunch last Sunday. There is a wonderful vibe around the hotel and all the staff are extremely helpful. The food was delicious and you can order a half portion of any adult meal for the kids!! I ordered the Turkey & Ham, which was lovely. The lamb my mother ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sinéad H
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your Mother's birthday Lunch here at Ballymascanlon, may I take this opportunity to wish her a Happy Birthday again from us all. We are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction and you were able to enjoy the beautiful gardens after your meal. We look forward to... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

What an amazing 4 days had at this hotel, food, rooms and staff and grounds spot on and perfect😆 We had full Irish breakfast buffet/help yourself which was amazing. 3 choices for starter, main & sweet courses. I would say the only downside is that if you like a strong cup of T you need to ask waiter/waitress to add... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your 4 days stay with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed the food, grounds and facilities here at Ballymascanlon Hotel. I will pass on your comments regarding the tea and thank you for bringing that to our attention. I hope we will have... More 

North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Have had a great time at this amazing hotel this week, staff very friendly,food excellent,facilities awesome,views and grounds stunning. First time to Ireland will be back Thank you Ann from north Wales

Helpful?
Thank Ann LLoyd W
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your very recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and indeed your first time in Ireland and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards More 

Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We have enjoyed staying at the hotel the rooms are fantastic the food is also to a high standard the staff are amazing and so helpfull the location is stunning and we plan to return with the family at a later date I would recommend this hotel to everyone I can not fault this hotel in anyway

Helpful?
Thank derekchadwick08
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here at Ballymascanlon and we also look forward to welcoming you back again to visit us in the near future. Kind regards More 

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
6.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
8.6 km away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
592 reviews
3.6 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#4 of 8 in Dundalk
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
591 reviews
16.2 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
4.5 km away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Address: Ballymascanlan House Ballymascanlan House 173) Carlingford Road (R, Dundalk, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Price Range: €131 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballymascanlon House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
northern ireland

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ballymascanlon House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to not betoo close to function room as when events are on can be a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles kdaniel2015, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“New wing where we stayed was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Oceanspray46, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms were good, maybe it is lovely te be in the oldest part of this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 979mail, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all room have lovely view of the grounds”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were on the second floor. Lovely view and very little noise.”
 of 5 bubbles leosea6, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay