We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Save
Share
Clonown Road, Athlone 0000 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$114
US$95
View Deal
SAVE US$19
Free cancellation until 15/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
eDreamsUS$95
Expedia.comUS$95
StayForLongUS$114
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (118)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (252)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 9 hotels in Athlone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Body wrap
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English
703Reviews11Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 337
  • 207
  • 92
  • 31
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
emy123 wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
I arrived to stay on the 19th of dec with two friends, we all live locally in Athlone and we where really looking forward to staying. When we arrived we asked to book in for our dinner, we were advised that dinner was fully booked out and that there was no space for us. We had booked through booking.com so they had no way of contacting us, that was grand it’s not there fault was very disappointed as I have been contacted by hotels emailing me to my booking.com account. We asked to book in for breakfast in the morning we were advised that we didn’t have too, that it was served between 7 to 10.30am, that was perfect no bother. We then asked where we could have a drink, as they have a sign up saying the bar is being renovated we were advised that despite being residence that we would have to pay for a meal to be able to have a drink and that they would only be serving lunch till 5pm. That is what my main issue was, as residences we should not have to buy a meal to have a drink, the regulations do not say that, myself and other members of the stay had stayed in other hotels during the course of the pandemic and we were never asked to buy a meal as residence. We went to our room, rang a few restaurants and could not get a meal anywhere as it was the Saturday before Christmas we did however get a different hotel. We went to reception to leave the keys and we were advised that they had spoken to a manager and that they could fit us in for dinner at 8.30pm, we advised that we were going to go elsewhere. I will say the woman who was on reception that day was very lovely and did her best for us which is clearly shown when she was able to get us in for a dinner booking. I was just so disappointed that we couldn’t have a glass of wine without buying a meal, which would be true for non residence but we booked in to be able to have a few drinks as a Christmas treat. We are all local, had been to the shamrock lodge for things before and was very much looking forward to staying, it just wasn’t a good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan McCaul, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you feel disappointed with your stay however we had to, and have to, follow strict rules when it comes to regulations for Covid-19 in order to keep our patrons and staff safe. At the time, the rules stated that residents could purchase alcohol one hour before and one hour after dining at the hotel but that they must purchase a meal. We did try our very best to facilitate your group so that you could dine with us. We were very disappointed that you left but we just had to follow the rules that were given to us. We hope that when people can travel again that you will return to us so that we can improve your opinion of our family run hotel. We appreciate your business and hope that you will return with your friends in the future. With every best wish, Alan McCaul General Manager Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Read more
Amy S wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland395 contributions13 helpful votes
I feel like I stayed in a different hotel to all of the reviews below!? Not a great experience. We stayed in one of the 'family suites' outside the main hotel building. This was not the most family-friendly room for people with small children, with heavy safety doors that almost trapped our child's fingers more than once, and no way to block off the stairs apart from putting the cheap metal chairs in front of it. No Netflix on TV as promised. One of the bedrooms was right beside a water pump, so we (and our small child) were woken up by a loud WHIRRRRRRR! every 15-20 mins during the night. Absolute torture. We would have moved to the other bedroom, only... there was a blood stain on the carpet. Yikes. On the upside, staff were all great so I couldn't fault that. Food was good in the hotel bar, but the breakfast buffet was rubbish. No hot food for vegetarians apart from bland scrambled eggs and toast. Reception area is nice but I found the rest of the hotel a little dated and dingy, unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't book a family suite.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan McCaul, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Dear Amy, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of our family run hotel. I am very disappointed to read your review. I have taken all of your comments on board and apologise for any shortcomings that you encountered. We wish to ensure that every guest enjoys their stay with us, and that they will want to come back to stay with us again. I hope that we can welcome you back again to have a more positive stay. Kind Regards, Alan McCaul General Manager Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Read more
Stephen wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
Stayed in this hotel last week for 2 nights and it was an absolute pleasure from the minute we walked in the door. The staff were so friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The family room was spotless and also massive great space for kids and also has netflix option on television which helps a lot to keep kids occupied while we get ready. The food in the restaurant was fantastic and they had no problem fitting us in as we were with another family so we had 12 in total and this was fine as its very spacious in restaurant. Breakfast the next morning was also gorgeus and again staff were amazing too. I woukd highly recommended this hotel for family vacation or even a night away with your partner as it will give you a fantastic experience on what standards hotels should d be at. Thanks to the manager and staff for a lovely 2 days we will most definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan McCaul, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Dear Stephen, Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It was our pleasure to welcome you all to our family run hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed our dining options and felt safe while you were here with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and I hope that we can welcome you all back in the not too distant future. With every bets wish, Alan McCaul General Manager Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Read more
Waterford Man wrote a review Aug 2020
Galway, Ireland29 contributions34 helpful votes
We had our daughter’s christening at The Shamrock Lodge yesterday. It can’t be faulted. The hotel were great in regards to the repeated cancellations and delays due to Covid19 over the last number of months and very quick to reply to any emails I forwarded them. As for the event itself, the room was beautifully laid out, the menu had plenty of options and was food itself was great value for money. Staff on the day were extremely friendly from the waiting staff up to the management. Every request was facilitated. The food was served promptly and was delicious and hot. I can’t recommend The Shamrock Lodge highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan McCaul, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Dear Mrs Burke, Thank you so much for your fantastic review, I am thrilled to hear that you were so well looked after and that you enjoyed your special day with us so much. It was our pleasure to welcome you all and thank you for choosing our family run hotel. I hope that we can welcome you all back in the not too distant future. With every best wish, Alan McCaul General Manager Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Read more
Lee G wrote a review Aug 2020
County Dublin, Ireland4 contributions10 helpful votes
The staff here are really gorgeous. Elaine on reception and Mary who came to put Netflix on our tv. I didn’t get any other names, but they all stood out. The friendly waitresses and Barman to the gardener. Rooms very very spacious. Breakfast was delish. Our dinners were just ok, but we ate it. If I had one request for our return it would be for a tv in the bedroom. We had busy days. Just wanted to crash in bed with the tele but there is only one tv and really only comfortably seats 2. But that’s just how we like to end our day. We will definitely be back at the Shamrock Lodge, close to everything. Thanks for having us
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan McCaul, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Thanks a million for your wonderful review. It is fantastic to hear that all of our staff looked after you so well. They always try to make sure that our guests are comfortable and safe when they are with us. I have taken on board your shortcomings mentioned and do apologise. It is great to hear that you will be back again and we will look forward to it. Kind Regards, Alan McCaul General Manager Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$70 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shamrock hotel country
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty WestmeathAthlone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Which popular attractions are close to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone?
Nearby attractions include Sean's Bar (0.6 km), EXIT Athlone Escape Rooms (0.8 km), and Athlone Castle Visitor Centre (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bacchus Restaurant, Bastion Kitchen, and Thyme Restaurant.
Is Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Athlone.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Clonmacnoise (10.8 km) and Clonmacnoise (10.9 km).
Is Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.