We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 441: English reviews
Start your review of Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
 Click to rate
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visit to see friends who live in Athlone.Lovely lunch for under €10, very good quality food. Very friendly staff and a very pleasant and Calum environment. Spotlessly clean. This was our second visit and we will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catmcmanus
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear catmcmanus, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your second visit and will come back again to see us at another time. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our chefs and our staff, it is always great to hear. Thank you so...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for Valentines night, my partner and I really enjoyed our stay. From check in we were treated with respect and treated nice by everyone. The room was very nice and had a nice touch for valentines day. We had dinner booked for 6 and the table wasn't ready on time but we didn't mind. We waited at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
Alan M, Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Steven D, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review for our hotel. We are absolutely thrilled that you had such a good time and I am delighted that you were very well looked after. We like to offer a personal touch to our guests as it is the little things that make...

Athlone, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I go to the Shamrock lodge hotel when I can and I must say always enjoy it. Whatever the occasion or if its Sunday dinner the friendly staff alone make it a worth while visit. The food is very good and hot which can be unusual with a nice feel to be there. I had my own wedding there and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liamcappuccino
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Liamcappuccino, Thank you most sincerely for your 5 star review our of hotel. It is our pleasure to welcome our repeat guests back time after time and we thank you very much for your custom. I hope that we can welcome you many more times over the coming year and if we can be of any assistance with any...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am delighted to review this hotel, I had never stayed there before and I must say that i was very pleased with the Shamrock Lodge, First we were greeted by two very friendly and profession ladies at reception when we checked in, We were given two key cards for our room and there was a third already in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sspierin
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Sspierin, Thank you most sincerely for your fantastic review, it is hugely appreciated. I am delighted that our staff looked after you well at reception and in the bar, and I will be sure to let Rory know your wonderful feedback. Thank you for your recommendation also, it is great to hear that as we really try to make...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a very pleasant stay at the shamrock lodge , this hotel is a little gem the staff are all very friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable we slept very well its set in a very peaceful location , breakfast was excellent! would definately return thanks for a lovely stay !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinabyrne16
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear tinabyrne16, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our family run hotel, it is greatly appreciated. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, you had a good sleep and that you were well looked after by our staff. I hope that we can welcome you back at another time very soon. With every...

Celbridge, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night , nice hotel , very clean , rooms very comfy ! Nice big bed , fine size bathroom n the shower was brilliant! Reception staff upon checkin where very pleasant n very helpful ! Deducted one circle for the food ! Food was just ok but otherwise lovely n would Defo stay here again !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ciaragannon
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear ciaragannon, Thank you so much for your taking the time to review our hotel, it is greatly appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were treated well by our staff. I am sorry to hear that your food was not completely to your satisfaction. If you wish to be more specific about the food...

Naas, Ireland
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, walking distance of the town center. Plenty of car spaces. Breakfast was good and hot which I find is not always the case in hotels! We had an evening meal in the bar which was excellent and the bar staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BB24356
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear BB24356, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for our family run hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much and that everything was to your satisfaction. It would be wonderful to welcome you back to stay with us at another time. With every best wish, Alan McCaul General Manager

Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 11 January 2017

This was a really sizable great room, extremely well furnished and equipped. The breakfast was superb but the service was appalling. The waitresses kept disappearing for ages when they were required in the dining room. The bar food was good but again the service was poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perle369
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear perle369, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our family run hotel. Your 5 star rating is hugely appreciated however I am concerned that service was not up to stractch for you and for this I apologise. In order to improve our services so that other guests do not experience the same service, may I please...

Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We got a double bed, only to find out it was two signale beds pushed together, It was not very comfortable. The hotel and staff are very nice, very clean hotel. The hotel is just out side the town, its very quite at night , great breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paddyhannon1
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear paddyhannon1, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry to hear that you did not find the bed comfortable. May I ask that you contact me with details of the room that you stayed in? My email address is amccaul@shamrocklodgehotel.ie. I wish to investigate this further as we wish for all...

Athlone, Ireland
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Wonderful place to visit and stay. Rustic setting. Marvellous car park. Family run hotel with Paddy and Alan at the helm. Excellent entertainment over the Christmas period. Great attention to detail. Welcoming staff. Rooms of a high standard. Quality food .A place to return to

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doveandhawk
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear doveandhawk, Thank you so much for your 5 star review and very nice feedback, it is hugely appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us over the festive period and I wish to thank you for your custom. I hope that we do welcome you back many times in 2017! Wishing you...

436 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (49)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (63)
Viewed
Suite (113)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
1.0 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,736 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.8 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,898 reviews
3.9 km away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
197 reviews
2.7 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: €45 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the room are of a very high standerd .”
 of 5 bubbles Sspierin, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any room would be quite because the area around the hotel is very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles paddyhannon1, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I was on the ground floor and I found that I could hear the radio outside my door so perhaps go for a room on an upper level”
 of 5 bubbles tonysteph, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel was fully booked, hen party also but no disturbances whatsoever”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pick any room”
 of 5 bubbles mal-tripadv-longmore, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5