We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,509: English reviews
dublin
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Parking is available at this very reasonably very central to all hotel.Rooms are lovely with all mod cons and are very very comfortable.Checked in fairly quickly and staff were prompt.Prices are average for drinks while food seemed abit pricey for what was on offer.Nice hotel however and would return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dublindaveDublin
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear dublindaveDublin, Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you also for the lovely comments about service. Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Victor O’Brien General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Curlyann70
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Really nice hotel for stags hens or weekend always. Rooms clean and modern apart from old TV. Bathroom functional. Location to town is it biggest attraction. 2 minutes walk to castle restaurants pubs etc and along the river with lovely views. Car park is ticketed when you park to check in, don't pay but make sure you tell reception you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear David R Thank you so much for taking the time to post the nice review about the Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone. I was delighted to read your weekend went as planned. We are currently changing the old TV’s to anew plasma screens, they already have been changes in all our suites and business class rooms. Thank you also for...

Ireland
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Lovely modern and lean hotel with friendly staff... Athlone is a nice town to wander around and with the hotel directly attached to a large shopping centre, there's plenty of shopping or window shopping you can do if that interests you. Nice petting farm outside town for the kids. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron_C
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Aaron_C, Thank you so much for you review about our hotel. I do appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Athlone. Kind Regards Victor O’Brien General Manager

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Good location but without parking. Dinner was good and the staff friendly. Breakfast was excellent but service slow on beverages. Bar service awful, servers kept forgetting orders and service was painfully slow though popular with locals. Sadly the small room was a big disappointment; it came cheaply furnished, faced on to a wall and was dark and listless. Though booking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MayBee2013
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear MayBee2013, Thank you very much for taking the time to send in your recent feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here and I will be discussing all you comments with the managers and staff. Kind Regards Victor O’Brien General Manager

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Very spacious Room and clean as one would expect helpful friendly staff at all times. Limited out front Parking slightly difficult at times as conference venue but idealy situated for walking into town anyway.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DAVID S
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear DAVID S, Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your review. I was delighted to read that you had you had a great time here on your visit to Athlone. Thank you also for the lovely comments about the Hotel and Staff. Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Victor O’Brien General...

Reviewed 30 March 2016

Got a good deal as it was winter season. Rooms is not as good in other Radisson hotels its more suited for the business type of crowd. Did not get to eat at the restaurant for dinner but we did try the bar area which was full that time as there was a match on. Location is very central, walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zer0memory
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear zer0memory Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate the feedback and I would like to apologise if you felt certain elements of your stay were not satisfactory. The Management staff have a breakfast in the restaurant from time to time, as they want to make sure that the breakfast standards and service...

belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mairead A
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Galway
Reviewed 29 March 2016

I booked a double room & had asked for a river view.. When I checked in (3 of us) two of which were children.. The receptionist looked at us & said you booked a double room, I replied that's correct & asked how many beds in the room? She replied condescending it's a double room.. 1 bed. I said most...

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CdeBGalway
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear CdeBGalway, Thank you for your review. I will discuss all the shortcoming with our Reception Team. We always aim to provide our guests with enjoyable experiences here and it’s clear that we didn’t achieve this in your case. Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortcomings during you stay. Kind Regards Victor O’Brien General Manager

Dublin
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a bank holiday Sunday. When I booked I never added breakfast so my booking cost me €119 rather then the €89 I had booked for. I didn't mind this when paying. On the Sunday night I also asked the man on reception for a late checkout and I was told that that was fine. On Monday morning...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Erinn M
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Erinn, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I was disappointed to note your dissatisfaction with the hotel and your stay in general. We always aim to provide our guests with enjoyable experiences here and it’s clear that we didn’t achieve this in your case. Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortcomings during...

669 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Business Class Double Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (58)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,785 reviews
5.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,956 reviews
0.3 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
875 reviews
0.7 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
6.3 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Element's Bistro
Element's Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, European
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: €65 - €206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book last minute”
M2204ODchristopherb, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very disappointed with upgrade ”
annebZ821VE, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great view of Shannon on First Floor”
mumsyone, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book early and as high as you can to see Athlone castle best and listen to the water running over the weir at night.”
fergal115, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room with a river view and higher up”
MaireadMayo, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5