We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,499: English reviews
Quin, Ireland
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Visited the Radisson after a great meal in Athlone... The bar has a great view of the river Shannon and advertises an appealing range of cocktails. Unfortunately, the bar staff do not know how to make them! Following a 30min wait for 3guiness and 3 cocktails, we had to leave and go back to our hotel(not the Radisson). Very poor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brian m
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Brian m, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to our Quayside Bar & Lounge, your feedback is much appreciated. Your comments about service in our bar has been highlighted to the relevant departments and we will do all we can to ensure the bar staff is trained how to make cocktails. I will make...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We booked in here for one night at short notice. We were delighted to get a river view from the 5th floor. The room was lovely, clean, well equipped and comfortable. We went for a pre dinner drink on the sun terrace, looking at the boats on the river. We eventually managed to get the attention of a waiter, who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann M
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Ann M, Thank you for writing feedback about your recent stay at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Your points have all been taken on board and shared amongst the relevant departments for immediate consideration. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back at...

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

The hotel was well situated and I was thrilled to stay there. Now, I like the Radisson Blu hotels and frequently use them in Ireland. The hotel in Athlone was convenient for walking in the town, near the beautiful River Shannon and had a beautiful big foyer to sit in and have coffee and watch the world go by. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gildas G
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Gildas G, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent visit to Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I was especially thrilled to hear you admired our attention to detail and found our dedicated team of service staff to be exceptional, providing you with a special and memorable experience. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments...

Highland Beach, Florida
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

The town of Athlone with it's narrow streets and castle offers a charming stop on the Shannon River. The Radisson Blu Hotel is not charming and does not have any appeal! The hotel is a sub par excuse for a hotel. The staff are from the continent and I did not meet anyone who was Irish working there. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katharine R
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Katharine R, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. I was disappointed to read your review. Most of the time receive nice feedback about the food served in our bar and restaurant and we also receive many positive reviews about our staff. As an international hotel chain we are...

Longford, Ireland
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night as part of a conference in the hotels function room. The room was warm and comfortable with a lovely view of the river and cathedral. The breakfast buffet had a great variety. The Nespresso machine in the room was a nice touch, but unfortunately the three capsules that were provided were either dented beyond usability or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weefers
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Weefers, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your feedback about the Nespresso machine, I will speak to our housekeeping staff to make sure there is a variety of coffee capsules to make a nice...

Reviewed 18 April 2016

Stayed in Athlone before taking an early flight out of Dublin the next morning. Check in was easy, and the hotel room was nice. In the morning the hot water wasn't working, which was unfortunate, but these kinds of things happen. We called the desk and they informed us they were working on the problem. On check out, we spoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear John S Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate your positive feedback which will be shared with the entire team and I'm sure they will be delighted. I would like to apologise for the issue with hot water and for understanding the unfortunate situation. Thank you once again and we look forward to your return visit....

Reviewed 13 April 2016

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night and the bed was huge and really comfortable. The room was spacious with a very high standard of linen and towels. Beautiful place to stay all round. Very centre of athlone. Close to all the amenities and night life. The restaurant was peaceful and elegant. Food was delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ywhy
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Ywhy Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Victor O’Brien General Manager

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Having stayed in Radisson hotels in many different locations I can certainly say that this is one of the best. The staff were warm, welcoming and very helpful. The hotel is well situated in a central location, with ample parking in the hotel grounds. The entrance is bright airy and spacious with plenty of seating areas. The bar is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TAA00
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear TAA00, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on your recent stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. Your very kind words have been shared with the entire team here. We delighted we could provide you with such an enjoyable experience. In relation to the mini bar in the bedrooms, it is...

Galway, Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoHare_81
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

669 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Business Class Double Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (58)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,783 reviews
5.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,954 reviews
0.3 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
874 reviews
0.7 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
6.3 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Element's Bistro
Element's Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, European
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: €65 - €206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early and as high as you can to see Athlone castle best and listen to the water running over the weir at night.”
fergal115, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room with a river view and higher up”
MaireadMayo, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very thing was nice.”
GrahamV696, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the river”
Eily1961, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in business class over looking the river Shannon. Lovely room with a great view. Poor wifi quality though”
obeeone11, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5