We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,373: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This is our 2nd time staying in this hotel we booked in for two nights just after Christmas.The hotel was busy but really nice atmosphere.We ate mostly in the hotel food was ok but service was quiet slow.On the second night we wait nearly half hour for our dinner in the bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DM2223
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As a returning customer I cannot speak highly enough on the Hodson Bay Hotel. I have stayed as an overnight business traveller, as an attendee at a black tie dinner and also to enjoy a relaxing few days away with my wife and every time the hotel has nailed the brief as to what I expected. On the occasion of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garethclements1971
Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel, great location right on the Shannon with the shopping center a short stroll away. Our room was clean and spacious with a fantastic view of the river and boats. Nice pool with gym facilities also. The hotel is in need of some minor updates but we were informed by the very helpful, friendly manager Victor that refurbishment is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brigieee
Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Super up to date clean rooms, good size of the room with nice beds and view to the river Shannon, great staff, good central location. Good bar with good food, nice ambient atmosphere after a long days work. Gym and sauna/steam bath are OK too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravllingCEO
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Always enjoy staying in the Radisson Athlone, very friendly staff, especially the ladies who greet you in the morning for breakfast and the bar staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is always excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanoneillirl
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyable stay over New Year...hotel overstretched themselves on new years eve with two big functions resulting in the folks on new years packages being short changed. Excellent friendly staff though and good brekkie selection.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
Dunmore East, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is long overdue a makeover as the carpets, soft furnishings are all showing signs of wear and tear but the good news is that such a refurb programme is about to start next month and should be finished by June of this year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DominicDeBurca
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on New Years eve and had an enjoyable stay. We arrived at 1pm and were happy to find that 3 of our 4 double rooms were ready to check into. The fourth room only took another hour, great service for such a busy time of year. The rooms were spacious and bright. My only complaint is that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne O
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was v clean, spacious with comfy bed. Buffet breakfast was very good with great selection of healthy foods. Hotel was quiet at time of stay. Just around the corner is a little pub for a few drinks and some trad music. Good Indian close by, cant think of the name! Centrally located in town. Ample parking outside hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frotete
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Frotete, Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your review. I was delighted to read that you had you had a great time here and enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Victor O'Brien, General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel and price was right, but it is now showing signs of age. Bar chairs ripped, non flat screen tvs in rooms etc. Still a good hotel for a night away as long as the price is right. Thanks again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M T
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear M T, Many thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel. I would like to apologise for any shortcomings during your stay.. We will begin an extensive refurbishment off all areas of the hotel including bedrooms commencing January 2017. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel. Kind Regards, Victor O'Brien, General...

664 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Business Class Double Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (58)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,709 reviews
5.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,873 reviews
0.3 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
825 reviews
0.6 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
5.7 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Element's Bistro
Element's Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: €60 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the lake are stunning...”
 of 5 bubbles garethclements1971, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Improvements needed in gym facilities, especially mens showers and the steam bath needs an overhaul.”
 of 5 bubbles TravllingCEO, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Position the pancake machine out of reach of the little people...adults like pancakes too!”
 of 5 bubbles 932hughm, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a river view as the rooms that face away from the river have quite a drab view over rooftops etc.”
 of 5 bubbles DominicDeBurca, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a suite with a view of the Marina”
 of 5 bubbles 408germ, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay