We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wineport Lodge

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (518)
Room & Suite (411)
Dining (78)
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good15%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,170)
There are newer reviews for Wineport Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveller rating
829
178
97
39
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
829
178
97
39
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubchampagne suitebalcony overlooking the lakeon arrivalbreakfast in bedwalk in wardrobecomplimentary upgradesteakspecial occasionunderfloor heatinghappy birthdaywine listlittle touchesrelaxing breakbrowniesconesmain course
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
321 - 325 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights here with our baby. We have loved the wineport in the past so much so that we had our wedding reception here and we were looking forward to coming back for our anniversary. We were terribly disappointed. Firstly the cleanliness was...More

Thank Lavchamps
Response from Norma W, General Manager at Wineport LodgeResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Lavchamps, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We were delighted to host your wedding here & it was lovely to welcome you back for your anniversary. I was most disappointed to read your review. I hope to make contact with...More

Reviewed 12 August 2016

I recently attended the Wineport Lodge for a meal with friends. I have been there before but the menu, service and prices have improved since my last visit. I arrived by boat with three friends and we were seated at a lovely table overlooking the...More

Thank prospect45
Response from Norma W, General Manager at Wineport LodgeResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Prospect45, Thank you for taking the time to post your review which I was delighted to read. We pride our selves and excellent food and even better service so your feedback is really appreciated. We have recently updated our menu to include our new...More

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Had the pleasure of a short stay at the Wineport Lodge. A truly georgous inland setting overlooking a spur of Lough Ree. Beautiful room with a private veranda overlooking the lake. Room was spotless and had everything you could wish for, including your own cafetière....More

Thank Jonathan D
Response from Norma W, General Manager at Wineport LodgeResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Jonathan D, Many thanks for taking the time to post your very nice review. I will be sure to share your lovely words with the rest of the team. The quality of our produce is a strong priority for our Kitchen team, who aim...More

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I and another couple spent two nights at the wine port lodge this week. The setting is beautiful and the views from the rooms on to the lake are stunning. The rooms themselves are lovely, modern roomy and well finished. We had...More

Thank JohnD0565
Response from Norma W, General Manager at Wineport LodgeResponded 11 August 2016

Dear JohnD0565, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are delight you and and your friends chose to stay with us at Wineport Lodge and that you were impressed by the style of our bedrooms & the stunning views....More

Reviewed 10 August 2016

Wineport Lodge was recommended to me and what a great find. The food was lovely the service was excellent and the location beautiful and very relaxing I enjoyed a glass of Bollinger champagne which was sold by the glass, quite rare unless you happen to...More

Thank Lindsay D
Response from Norma W, General Manager at Wineport LodgeResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Lindsay, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We pride ourselves on customer service & are delighted to hear you experienced excellent service during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another glass or two of Bollinger...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$179 - US$442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$179 - US$442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (518)
Room & Suite (411)
Dining (78)
Pool & Beach (3)
Amenities (32)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Loloughlin2011
7 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from siobhainkiernan | Reviewed this property |
10minutes by car
1
Vote
Lorraine B
7 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Norma W | Property representative |
We do not have a steam room or sauna, however we do have two outdoor hot tubs which are available for all guests use without reservation
0
Votes
katyc635
14 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Johnrave | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I don't know, as I didn't have a pet it wasn't real envy to me, having said that I didn't see any dogs there, the best way to find out would be to e-mail direct
1
Vote
Room Tips
"I think all rooms over look the lake but if not I would definitely recommend you request one."
Read review
"We requested and were assigned a king room with a lakeview balcony. It was on the first floor and was nice..."
Read review
"lakeview room and in the restaurant a window seat overlooking the water"
Read review
"Most rooms seem to have a lake view and a balcony"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing