We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Lakeshore Road Glasson, Athlone Ireland
Booking.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
FindHotel
Official Site
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (907)
Room & Suite (413)
Dining (148)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 31/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 31/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 9 in Athlone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. During your time at Wineport Lodge, completely relax your mind and body with us at Cedarwood Spa. This intimate spa sanctuary on the shores of the serene Lough Ree has been created to deliver sheer luxury, pampering and relaxation. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Boating
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Hiking
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
1643Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,163
  • 251
  • 136
  • 60
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
anne626 wrote a review 16 May
dublin6 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice experience food nice. Very expensive for drinks. Also charge 4 euro for table water which we didn't realise there was a charge. Also lodges could do with a screen between them as feel ur too near ur next Lodge for privacy. Sorry to say I won't return just felt it was ott for stay for what you got. Stayed in farnahm estate cavan wasn't charged for infinity pool nor was I given a time limit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Wineport Lodge, General Manager at Wineport Lodge
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Anne626, Thank you for review in relation to your recent stay at Wineport Lodge. We are sorry to read that we did not live up to your expectations in relation to certain aspects of your visit with us here at Wineport Lodge and we certainly take your comments on board. We do hope that we may have the chance of welcoming you back and restoring your faith in us. Kind regards, Norma Wilson General Manager
Read more
2frank2 wrote a review 5 May
Cavan, Ireland90 contributions98 helpful votes
Just a one night stay . Very interesting and very glad we did it. It is unusual. The all wood buildings give a rather agricultural or commercial effect especially as we approach along the road. The front overlooks the lake and all rooms have lake view including Dining room and Bar etc. The rooms are small but lovely with patio or balcony overlooking the lake - very peaceful and scenic. Plenty quality towels and lovely bed linen. Both breakfast and dinner were good. Staff excellent - friendly and efficient. plenty of little areas to sit and read/relax. Plenty of outdoor tables to eat at including 3 nice wee glass pods. It is expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Wineport Lodge, General Manager at Wineport Lodge
Responded 4 days ago
Dear 2frank2, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Wineport Lodge and we have shared your comments with the team. We hope to see you in the future and make your time at Wineport Lodge worthwhile. Kind regards, Norma Wilson General Manager
Read more
Gusbear wrote a review Apr 2022
Dublin, Ireland36 contributions30 helpful votes
Greeted by rude staff in the bar before our meal. The meal was served, tough and cold were the comments from the table. Overpriced and underpar was the consensus on the night. Unfortunately this was the second time visiting and nothing has improved. We will not be giving Wineport a 3rd chance.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wineport Lodge, General Manager at Wineport Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Gusbear, Thank you for review in relation to your recent Visit to Wineport Lodge. I am extremely sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience and we did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be discussed with my management team and we will certainly take your comments on board. We do hope that we may have the chance of welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge and restoring your faith in us. Kind regards, Norma Wilson General Manager
Read more
Nichola L wrote a review Apr 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom268 contributions136 helpful votes
+1
Soooo peaceful We were warmly Welcomed on arrival With a welcome drink walked to our room ( I love that part of the customer service) Staff were amazing anything you needed they had you sorted Views stunning Our room was fab Food great Hot tub a great experience too
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Wineport Lodge, General Manager at Wineport Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Nicola, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Wineport Lodge and we have shared your lovely comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Norma Wilson General Manager/Guest Relations
Read more
904joana wrote a review Apr 2022
County Dublin, Ireland6 contributions1 helpful vote
From the moment we arrived to when we left three days later the management and staff could not have been more helpful. They made our wedding so special. Nothing was too much trouble. I cannot praise The Wineport enough. Joan Armstrong, Wicklow.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Wineport Lodge, General Manager at Wineport Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Joan, Thank you for your lovely review, we were delighted to look after all your family and friends. It was a pleasure to have your family wedding here with us. It really was a special day. We look forward to welcoming back you in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Norma Wilson General Manager/Guest Relations
Read more
Joe K wrote a review Apr 2022
Dublin, Ireland3 contributions1 helpful vote
Don’t stay or dine at the Wineport Lodge Glasson Athlone. We booked 2 nights and they got the booking wrong, we had to leave after 1 night as they said they we’re booked out. I didn’t believe them as I think they were selling the room for the long weekend as we had booked Thursday and Friday and they wanted us out Friday so the could sell the room for Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. They did the same to one other person we know about. The food was terrible. Starter- Cold food served on cold plates. Main-Beef wellington tough as an old boot. Told the server who was a supervisor and she couldn’t care less. Discussed all the above with the female manager who’s attitude was disgraceful and thoroughly RUDE and very disrespectful. She is dragging down that business and should not be in a position dealing with clients. There was an English gentleman supervisor who was very polite and customer focused who previously worked at the Hodson Bay and I thank him for his service. I will never forget my experience at the Wineport Lodge. Hopefully the owner will become aware of how some of his staff are treating his customers and providing unexceptionable food quality. Thoroughly dissatisfied. Joe
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Wineport Lodge, General Manager at Wineport Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Joe, It is very upsetting to see this review on Trip Advisor, both by myself and members of the team. We strive for excellent customer service which we are confident we provided at this event, especially from the feedback received from other wedding guests. However when the bride & groom return from their honeymoon I will be discussing your review which you have posted with them. Regards, Norma Wilson General Manager
Read more
danielv wrote a review Apr 2022
Kew, United Kingdom90 contributions44 helpful votes
A short two night stay in a perfect peaceful setting, everything was above expectations and the staff were great both in the hotel and the restaurant. The spa was not fully open but the hot tub overlooking the lake was very enjoyable especially with champagne
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Get there early and enjoy the setting, book for dinner
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Wineport Lodge, General Manager at Wineport Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Daniel, Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Wineport Lodge. We have our Cedarwood spa fully up and running, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant Future. Kind regards, Norma Wilson General Manager/Guest Relations
Read more
pippy03 wrote a review Apr 2022
Dublin, Ireland55 contributions29 helpful votes
We stayed 1 night over Easter weekend at the Wineport and it was FAB!! Norma and the team are so welcoming and the service is just great. Everybody is so friendly and nice and really give individual attention to guests. The food was delicious. Great wine list too. It is just so relaxing looking out onto the lake and the atmosphere on the hotel adds to the relaxed vibe. Everything was just perfect thank you Wineport!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Wineport Lodge, General Manager at Wineport Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Pippy, Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing visit at Wineport Lodge. I am very happy to pass your feedback onto all staff. We look forward to welcome you back to Wineport. Kind regards, Norma Wilson General Manager/Guest Relations
Read more
Anne Matthews wrote a review Apr 2022
Dublin, Ireland75 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
Another amazing stay at Wineport Lodge. We were booked on the dinner and room package and it was exceptional quality and value. From arrival to check out everyone was so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Can’t wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Wineport Lodge, General Manager at Wineport Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Anne, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Wineport Lodge and we have shared your lovely comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Norma Wilson General Manager/Guest Relations
Read more
ch limk wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Just back from a midweek break at this beautiful hotel.. Stunning location, quality decor & furnishings throughout, excellent breakfast & dinner both room service & in the lovely dining areas, but it is the exceptional hospitality and service from the friendly staff that made our stay at Wineport Ladge so enjoyable. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Wineport Lodge, General Manager at Wineport Lodge
Responded 3 Apr 2022
Dear TravellingTipster, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Wineport Lodge and we have shared your lovely comments with the team and management. We look forward to welcoming you back for another break away Kind regards, Norma Wilson General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$262 - US$369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wineport hotel athlone, wineport athlone, wineport lodge athlone
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty WestmeathAthlone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wineport Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Wineport Lodge?
Nearby attractions include EXIT Athlone Escape Rooms (5.6 km), Baysports (6.7 km), and Sean's Bar (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wineport Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Wineport Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Wineport Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wineport Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wineport Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bacchus Restaurant, Bastion Kitchen, and Thyme Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Wineport Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Wineport Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Wineport Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Wineport Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Wineport Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.