We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Leitrim Village Carrick on Shannon, Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon Ireland
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (22)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Leitrim Marina Hotel
Updated 05/06/20

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Leitrim
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sitting along the banks of the Shannon-Erne Waterway, the Leitrim Marina Hotel is a peaceful haven, less than two hours from Dublin. With a large outdoor deck leading onto the Marina, and fully glass fronted bar and restaurant to make the most of the commanding views, this is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy great locally inspired cuisine, good Bewley's Tea & Coffee or even a cocktail between exploring the local attractions such as Arigna Mining Experience or Lough Key Forest Park.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
372Reviews5Q+A65Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 244
  • 75
  • 26
  • 10
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christina wrote a review 5 Sep
1 contribution
Lovely comfortable room with all the amenities that you need. We stayed with our disabled daughter and the staff were so helpful. Unfortunately our daughter became unwell and all credit to the night porter, Alan and Colette the hotel Manager who were both amazing and very supportive. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robbie Rigney, Owner at Leitrim Marina Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for this top review, we were very sorry you and your family couldn't stay for the extent of your holiday but we were very glad to be able to help when needed. A warm welcome awaits everytime.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary P wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
This hotel does not represent the helpfulness and kindness we recevied on the remainder of our trip to Ireland. A broken toilet should have easily been fixed either through it being mended or some sort of gesture. Instead we were accused of lying about it and the invisible manager who was to ring me, never called or appeared. This left a very bad taste and i would not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robbie Rigney, Owner at Leitrim Marina Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear mary, we are sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your visit, but we did do everything we could to assist you, within one hour of your report we had a technician visit at 8pm who couldn't identify an issue, relaying that fact to you was not an insinuation you were lying. It was not appropriate to waive the room charge of €68 for alcohol and food as you demanded on pain of "writing a bad review". Your room booking of €129 including delicious fresh cooked breakfast for 2 was excellent value at high season. The manager checked you out and was fair and polite even wishing you enjoyment of the wedding you were attending.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trevor M wrote a review Aug 2022
Barrow-upon-Humber238 contributions107 helpful votes
Understaffed restaurant means that you may have a lengthy wait. The staff themselves were fine but had too much to do and I guess more help needed in the kitchen. The food was fine when we finally got served - then the lights went out (local thunderstorm). The waiting staff handled it very calmly, though!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robbie Rigney, Owner at Leitrim Marina Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Trevor, thank you for visiting. The day you visited really was a rare event when too many people arrive in a very short period. It happens sometimes in the hospitality business and our error on the day was we didn't wish to turn people away hungry. It took some rime to clear the backlog which was compounded by the community wide power cut. We did manage to feed everyone good quality wholesome food even in the dark. Nobody left hungry!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CMcGovern wrote a review Aug 2022
Ireland10 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed in the marina (on the water not in the hotel) so we had dinner and some breakfast. We had a very warm welcome from the owner and all the staff we met - exactly what we needed after a long days journey. They arranged space for the boat, told us about what to see and do in the area and did so in a warm relaxed manner.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robbie Rigney, Owner at Leitrim Marina Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear conor, thank you for this lovely review and for visiting by boat. A great way to explore the beautiful river Shannon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy M wrote a review Jul 2022
Athlone, Ireland4 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights while at the joe Mooney summer school in drumshanbo. Couldn’t fault the hotel. Clean rooms and the most friendly Irish staff. Big shout out to Colette on reception could not have been more welcoming and helpful. I will be back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tara Maria B wrote a review Jun 2022
Dublin, Ireland13 contributions6 helpful votes
Fantastic hotel in a great location, close to the lively town of Carrick-on-Shannon. Within a relatively short drive to Arigna Coal Mines visitor centre, Sligo, Enniskillen, Lough Allen, Lough Key Forest Park. Wonderful food, very friendly and efficient staff, especially Colette at reception who made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. Looking forward to my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Special views from the marina side of the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ROD wrote a review Jun 2022
25 contributions10 helpful votes
We really enjoyed a lovely family day out in the Leitrim Marina Hotel for our daughter's 1st Holy Communion in May. We ate in the function room and had a lovely set menu to choose from- the food was fabulous! After dinner, the children had such fun playing in the playground on the grounds of the hotel. It was great that we were able to relax and chill in the large outside terrace towards the evening time and watch the boats go by. The cocktail menu is definitely one to return for! Thank you to all the staff that made our day so special. Can't wait to visit again soon
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robbie Rigney, Owner at Leitrim Marina Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Rosemarie, thank you for visiting on this special occasion. We are so happy your family enjoyed the day, it is even more special now to share these precious moments. Thank you for the lovely review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean H wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
The accommodation was excellent the rooms were large and of the highest hygiene standards. The staff were friendly throughout our stay ( 3days) and attention to detail were of the highest standard. I would certainly recommend this hotel for comfort and a relaxing stay. Sean Hayes
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tom F wrote a review May 2022
St Mullins, Ireland234 contributions107 helpful votes
I have to say I was a little taken aback when I arrived at the hotel as it seemed a little tired. But after a long day and drive not an issue for me. So why five stars from me. Well it’s about the experience isn’t it. So checked in and from the moment I got the big key it was a great experience. It’s the fantastic staff at the Leitrim Marina that truly make the experience. The lady at reception was just fun and you would just want to be there. The guy in restaurant couldn’t be more helpful in his recommendations and service. The receptionist in the morning was again genuinely happy and helpful and same for Carol who did breakfast. So yes my experience was five star. Great food in restaurant and really good breakfast. Bit of a gem beyond the initial impression. As they say. Never judge a book by its cover. Friendly, spotlessly and quirky relaxing. Definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robbie Rigney, Owner at Leitrim Marina Hotel
Responded 24 May 2022
Dear traveler, thank you so much for this lovely, detailed review that captures the essence of Leitrim Marina Hotel. Friendly staff, good service and tasty food. Always lovely to meet our guests. And even better news, the painters are on standby, waiting for a period of good weather to complete a full repaint of the complex. Hopefully in the next week or two. Thanks again for visiting.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steph McDyer wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
+1
Myself and my husband visited here for a weekend break, Colette, Jess, John and all the other members of staff couldn't do enough for us, the food, service, and cocktails were amazing. Prime location as we were only a five minute drive from Carrick-on-shannon, we were able to taxi there for a night out. Leitrim Marina Hotel is in a great central location if you want to visit many attractions located in towns surrounding it. We will definitely be back and will hopefully be able to stay longer next time. I highly recommend the cocktails, especially the Sunshine Spritz, they're gorgeous. Thanks again to Colette and the team at Leitrim Marina Hotel, from Stephanie and Séamus McDyer.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robbie Rigney, Owner at Leitrim Marina Hotel
Responded 24 May 2022
Dear Stephanie and Seamus, what a lovely review to recieve, thank you for your recent visit and kind comments. Our bespoke cocktails, expertly crafted by Jess really add to the holiday vibe. We look forward to welcoming you on that return visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$121 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty LeitrimCarrick-on-ShannonLeitrim
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Leitrim Marina Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Leitrim Marina Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Costello Memorial Chapel (0.10 km), Murtagh's Bar (5.1 km), and Cryan's Traditional Irish Music Bar (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Leitrim Marina Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Leitrim Marina Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Leitrim Marina Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Leitrim Marina Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leitrim Marina Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Red Bank Restaurant, The Cottage Restaurant, and di vino.
Is Leitrim Marina Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Leitrim.
Does Leitrim Marina Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Leitrim Marina Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rindoon (6.8 km).
Does Leitrim Marina Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Leitrim Marina Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.