We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lough Rea Hotel & Spa

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (535)
Room & Suite (107)
Dining (41)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Loughrea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa is located in the historical town of Loughrea in Co.Galway. This modern and stylish Hotel is within walking distance from all the shops, amenities and attractions of Loughrea.The Hotel boasts 91 bedrooms with panoramic views of the town's beautiful lake, the Sliabh Aughty Mountains and the Burren. The Lough Rea Hotel and Spa Wedding team are specialists in ensuring that the Bride and Groom have a wonderful day to remember. The hotel can cater for up to 300 wedding guests in the De Dannan suite: a state of the art grand ballroom. There is a range of air-conditioned meeting rooms that provide clients with the very best conference facilities available, conferences for up to 500 delegates can be accommodated. This hotel offers fine dining in their Abbey Restuarant, Relaxation breaks in the tranquility of Shore Island Spa. Enjoy light bites and delicious cocktails in the Rooftop Garden and Sky Lounge where it boasts sensational views of Lough Rea and the mountains beyond.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Babysitting
Taxi service
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
1,940Review13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,075
  • 475
  • 218
  • 102
  • 71
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kevin C wrote a review Today
Cork, Ireland2 contributions2 helpful votes
What a fantastic Hotel. Great food and location and loads of parking as well the room was fantastic loads of room. I would highly recommend staying here and can't wait to go back myself. Hopefully in the near future with friends and family in toe.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Caroline L wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Had our wedding taster menu with Clayton this evening, great service, unbelievable food and the duty manager Clayton was very attentive. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tom M wrote a review 13 Apr
Maynooth, Ireland20 contributions10 helpful votes
My wife and I availed of bed, breakfast and dinner at the Loughrea Hotel on Sunday 7th and Monday 8th April, 2024. We arrived at approximately 2.15 pm and the receptionist very kindly allowed us to book in despite the fact that booking in time is 3.00.pm. The receptionist was very friendly, professional, courteous and helpful. She allocated us a King Room on the fourth floor with a panoramic view of the surrounding country side. The bedroom was large, bright and airy. It was absolutely spotlessly clean. The one outstanding feature of the bedrooms in the Loughrea Hotel is that they are soundproof which ensures that guests get a good nights sleep without interruption. The bed was large and very comfortable and we two excellent nights sleep. We had dinner each evening in the hotel restaurant and despite the fact that the restaurant was very busy we received excellent service from courteous, professional and friendly restaurant staff. The food was of a very high quality and it was very well presented which is a fitting tribute to the chef and the waitressing staff. Breakfast each morning was first class and thoroughly enjoyable. The supervisor in the restaurant visited out table and inquired if everything was to out satisfaction. On our way into breakfast we received a copy of the Irish Independent at reception which was a nice gesture and deeply appreciated. The one undeniable characteristic about the Loughrea Hotel and Spa is that the customer receives first class service, ecellent accommodation and good value for money. It is a comfortable modern hotel with excellent facilities. It is a real pleasure to go for a peaceful walk along the shore of the lake and view the wildfowl. When we booked out, the receptionist inquired if everything was to our satisfaction and told us that she looked forward to having us back at the hotel in the near future. We came away from the Loughrea Hotel with a feel good factor, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Loughrea Hotel and Spa is located on the verge of Loughrea town and a ten minutes walking distance from the centre of the town. There is ample parking facilities at the hotel which is approximately a forty minute drive from Galway city centre. I have no hesitation in highly recommending the Loughrea Hotel where you receive a friendly welcome, excellent food, excellent value for money and first class accommodation. Sincere thanks and well done to the management and staff. Tom Murphy, Maynooth.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It is nice to get a bedroom on the fourth floor with a panoramic view of the country side. It is...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gary M wrote a review 10 Apr
1 contribution
Absolutely fantastic spa facilties and lovely rooms . We will be back Garry & Jen parking was good there was shop close by and location was ideal loads to do while amenities aren't too far away either & in the current market it was reasonably priced and nice friendly staff and great vibes and lovely atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Geraldine O wrote a review 10 Apr
1 contribution
I took a trip to this beautiful hotel yesterday to check it out for a Christmas Craft & Gift fair. Met with Damien the General Manager he showed me around the hotel. The moment i arrived the hotel reception staff were very warm and helpful . Beautiful Bedroom -lovely and warm Bed was so cosy and very comfortable has everything you would need for the evening Tea & Coffee station. Has a very tasty dinner in the restaurant and was very cosy especially when i was eating alone . The roof top Bar & Garden is a beautiful space for a party. Overall its a beautiful hotel with lovely friendly staff. Cant wait to hold the Christmas Craft & Gift Fair. Christmas Craft Fairs By Geraldine
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Beautiful hotel-Shops are close you can walk into the town Great Parking Food in hotel is the best.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Paula T wrote a review 7 Apr
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Attended an engagement party in the Rooftop Bar last night. Food was lovely, venue was lovely but the bar staff were exceptionally rude to customers. Everything was a problem. There was over a hundred guests and it was like they were not interested in being there. Kept going in and out of a back room. Customers waiting to be served. Shelves had to be restocked during the night. I would be very slow to book an event again there as we did not feel very welcomed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damien Mc Manus, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review from your recent Event at the Loughrea Hotel and Spa. I am disappointed to read that you did not feel welcome and that we did not meet your expectations, and for this we are sincerely sorry. We take all guests feedback on board and set out to not repeat any wrong doings. I have shared your feedback with the entire team and we are disappointed that you did not feel welcome but glad to hear you enjoyed the food and the rooftop bar as a venue. We will continue to train our team on customer service as this is really out of character for our hotel and our staff normally receive positive feedback in person and online for their friendliness and welcoming approach to our customers. I do hope that this experience would not deter you from returning to Loughrea, and kindly ask that should you wish to return that you email me directly on gm@loughreahotelandspa.com and I will be happy to assist with the arrangements and ensure you get the best rates and room. Warm Regards, Damien Mc Manus General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AaronSlater wrote a review 6 Apr
Dublin, Ireland231 contributions84 helpful votes
+1
Our recent overnight went very well. The hotel staff were courteous and the check in process was a breeze. The rooms are a good size with comfy beds and the one we had had a small alcove with table and chair and was behind the main curtain. Great for reading the paper for those early risers. The food, breakfast and dinner were top notch and there was a wide and varied choice for the dinner starters and mains.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damien Mc Manus, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent night away at the Lough Rea Hotel and Spa. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed and we look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back for more celebrations. Best wishes, Damien Mc Manus, General Manager @ lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
James p M wrote a review 5 Apr
17 contributions3 helpful votes
Huge thank you to Damien and his team, his professionalism, decorum and dignity when catering for my late aunts funeral shows not only the high level of hospitality standards at the hotel but also the importance of respecting the community to which it belongs. Can’t speak highly enough of him and Aine and the staff this week. Thank you Dr James P Mahon
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
June O Halloran wrote a review 5 Apr
2 contributions2 helpful votes
From the second that we checked in with Anna at reception our stay at Loughrea Hotel And Spa was fantastic. Our breakfast with Katelyn and servers was delicious and our evening meals with the gentleman Clayton Fernandes and kitchen staff was absolutely amazing. We love coming here to stay because we are always so well looked after and that’s why we keep coming back. Turoe Pet Farm is also a stones throw away and the boys love going there. Five stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟from us every time and we can’t wait to come back. Go and stay for yourself and you won’t be disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damien Mc Manus, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent night away at the Lough Rea Hotel and Spa. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed and we look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back for more celebrations. Best wishes, Damien Mc Manus, General Manager @ lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LoveTravel580194 wrote a review 5 Apr
2 contributions
Delighted to find a dog friendly hotel, however we were disappointed with the reality of dog friendly. While we knew we couldn’t go into the bar the “lounge” area where we were allowed should be described as a waiting lobby/corridor/ doorway entrance. With only a group seating area (2 sofas 2 chairs all facing into one table. ) offering no privacy for a relaxing seated area, which was the only place we could go. So we were restricted to the room. Which was dated, only one chair in the room and a small table so as a couple we could not sit at the same time. The chair had cigarette burns it it, it was also worn and grubby. Perhaps that’s how the hotel deems guests with a dog, only good enough for old furniture! The carpet had the appearance of being dirty. The bed was fine. There was no mini fridge in the room, for a short stay ok but longer would have been a problem for the dogs food. You charge extra for the dog to stay…I would say you should be charging less! Menue in the bar & restaurant was the same for lunch and dinner. We only stayed a night so was ok but any longer the food choice would have been poor. Bar and restaurant, bland feel/decor. Unsure how it is rated as 4 star. Would not stay again, with or without the dog. Overall disappointing trip.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damien Mc Manus, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review from your recent stay at the Loughrea Hotel and Spa. I am disappointed to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, and for this we are sincerely sorry. We take all guests feedback on board and set out to not repeat any wrong doings. I do hope that this experience would not deter you from returning to Loughrea, and kindly ask that should you wish to return that you email me directly on gm@loughreahotelandspa.com and I will be happy to assist with the arrangements and ensure you get the best rates and room. Warm Regards, Damien Mc Manus General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Loughrea area.
PRICE RANGE
€96 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lough rea hotel loughrea, hotel lough rea
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayLoughrea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LOUGH REA HOTEL & SPA - Now €92 (Was €̶1̶1̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Loughrea, County Galway) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Loughrea Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Loughrea Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Maggie May's Bar & Restaurant (0.9 km), Away With The Fairies (0.4 km), and Saint Brendan’s Cathedral (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Loughrea Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Loughrea Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Loughrea Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Loughrea Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maggie Mays, Sizzler’s, and Weavers Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Loughrea Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Loughrea Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Loughrea.
Are any cleaning services offered at Loughrea Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Loughrea Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Loughrea Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Athenry Heritage Centre (15.9 km).
Does Loughrea Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.