We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ard Ri House Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 3 Hotels in Tuam
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ard Ri House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ard Ri House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I've stayed here many times. I always love it. It's great value, the rooms are lovely & the staff are happy & friendly. It's not 5 star or anything but for €52 ish room only it's better than most. Hard to get a B&B for that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
N17TuamGalway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for you kind review We are delighted you enjoy staying with us and choose to come back so many times. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Management

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Good moderate hotel. Was there to see family.Keep in mind bar food closes at 9:30pm, at least on weekdays! Rooms can be be warm so open windows or turn of heat manually,if in Winter. Decent breakfast but dining room is way too dark for mornings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita Q
N17TuamGalway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again We do take note of your comment regarding the dining room lighting and thank you for your feedback Kind regards Management

Waltham Cross
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

I'd booked this accommodation to attend a funeral in Corofin and needed a nearby hotel with only 2 in Tuam. The cooked breakfast was very good with the additional self service cereal, breads and yoghurts etc. So much so there was not enough room on the table for it all. The WIFI speed was good for most things except watching...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
N17TuamGalway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Paul Many thanks for your kind review We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future kind regards Management

Reviewed 24 October 2016

Stayed here for a 90th party that was on in the large function room. Check in was quick and easy as friendly receptionist had everything pre-prepared. Was upgraded to a suite which was fantastic. The room was large, bright and very clean. Bed was really really comfortable. I had requested a cot which was already in the room and also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fifitrixiebel
N17TuamGalway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad all went well for the 90th Birthday Celebrations We do take your comments on board regarding the service in the bar and we will make improvements on this We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future Kind regards Management

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Stay'd in this hotel as part of a cycle group, staff great , room top quality and service was amazing well worth a stay, you will find everything you need and staff always at hand to help, location is great just outside Ryan so quiet

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
N17TuamGalway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the cycle went well for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again Kind regards Management

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel for a quiet weekend break. Staff friendly and good atmosphere all round. Great value also. It's hard to find this hotel first time as it's off the main Milltown road with limited signs. Tuam town 5 mins away. Plenty of shops for my mrs and plenty of parking. Nearest IMC cinema is 30 mins drive towards Galway city....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony K
N17TuamGalway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us We look forward to welcoming you back again soon Kind regards Management

Rye, New Hampshire
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I stayed here on my way further north. The hotel is big, modern and non-descript and reminded me of a typical Holiday Inn in America. It has a restaurant and bar. I had a salad that was nothing extraordinary. The room was large, comfortable, and generic. The Irish breakfast/buffet that was included in the rate was good. There was nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NHjo
N17TuamGalway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us We are always delighted to hear our customers feedback and we will take your comments on board Kind regards Management

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Have been here a couple of times with family in Tuam. Sunday's are terrible. You struggle to find a seat, when you find one its always a dirty table. Staff are too busy chatting to clear it for you. Then you have to get up to get your own dinner, pay for it. Limited options available. Then you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackmurph90
Dublin
Reviewed 27 September 2016

It was my first stay in the Ard Ri and I have to say it was more than pleasant. The lady at the reception was extremely friendly and helpful setting the tone for my short stay. Liam in the bar served us with efficiency and good humour - food was lovely too. The bedroom was modern and sparklingly clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geoffmarg
N17TuamGalway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the great review We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again Kind regards Management

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel itself looks nice. I had Sunday dinner with my girlfriend, we were very disappointed with the food. It was quite plain/bland. We had two mains and two drinks and it cost around €50 so it's not exactly cheap either. I don't think I would return here for food again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ger C

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuam
1.4 km away
Corralea Court Hotel
21.3 km away
Claregalway Hotel
Claregalway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Claregalway
518 reviews
23.9 km away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
1,027 reviews
30.9 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,638 reviews
28.0 km away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ard Rí House Hotel on the Milltown Road in Tuam, Co. Galway invites you to enjoy a welcome with hospitality and service, last savoured in the time of ancient Irish kings. The Ard Rí House Hotel in the East Galway hinterland of low green fields and old stone walls offers the Cead Mile Faílte of a bygone time. Strategically located on the northern outskirts of Tuam we are the perfect launch pad to explore the West of Ireland with Galway City and the Gateway to Connemara National Park only a 30 minute drive away. Tuam is easily accessed with Ireland West Airport Knock on the doorstep and Shannon Airport as well as Dublin Airport within easy driving distance. Wether you are considering a short family break or that important business meeting, Tuam's Ard Rí House Hotel will meet all your expectations, having received the Service Excellence Award from Tripadvisor from 2012, up to and including 2016. Our 51 bedrooms of comfort and style are impeccably presented with the modern guest in mind. The hotel also offers five different Conference Room options with a range of state-of-the-art facilities. The dining experience at the Ard Rí House Hotel is presented by the Kiltevna Room Restaurant and our Dick Dowling's Bar. Experience for yourself the hospitality and service usually the preserves of royalty. FAILTE ISTEACH ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ard Ri House Hotel

Address: Miltown Road (N17), Tuam H54 V267, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Tuam
Price Range: €91 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ard Ri House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ard Ri House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard Ri Hotel
Ard Ri House Hotel Tuam, County Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ard Ri House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a view avoid the rooms 212 ; 214 ; 216 all of which back onto a brick wall..”
radioman60, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 214 on the first floor and there was no view out of the window as there was a wall in front.”
JENG374, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I have stayed in different rooms over the years and they were all quiet and very comfortable”
maurao517, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor room had accessible shower unit”
Meadowside64, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“we were on ground floor, suited our needs.”
Berniek591, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5