We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Milltown Road, Tuam H54 V267 Ireland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 05/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ard Ri House Hotel
Updated 05/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Tuam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Ard Rí House Hotel on the Milltown Road in Tuam, Co. Galway invites you to enjoy a welcome with hospitality and service, last savoured in the time of ancient Irish kings. The Ard Rí House Hotel in the East Galway hinterland of low green fields and old stone walls offers the Cead Mile Faílte of a bygone time. Strategically located on the northern outskirts of Tuam we are the perfect launch pad to explore the West of Ireland with Galway City and the Gateway to Connemara National Park only a 30 minute drive away. Tuam is easily accessed with Ireland West Airport Knock on the doorstep and Shannon Airport as well as Dublin Airport within easy driving distance. Wether you are considering a short family break or that important business meeting, Tuam's Ard Rí House Hotel will meet all your expectations, having received the Service Excellence Award from Tripadvisor from 2012, up to and including 2016. Our 51 bedrooms of comfort and style are impeccably presented with the modern guest in mind. The hotel also offers five different Conference Room options with a range of state-of-the-art facilities. The dining experience at the Ard Rí House Hotel is presented by the Kiltevna Room Restaurant and our Dick Dowling's Bar. Experience for yourself the hospitality and service usually the preserves of royalty. FAILTE ISTEACH !
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
336Reviews1Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 177
  • 95
  • 36
  • 18
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Finbarr Dolan wrote a review 3 Jun
2 contributions
We are a golf group from Dublin and spent three nights in Ard Ris . The Hotel is a well lad out Hotel .The staff were fantastic from front of house ,restaurant and Bar . The bedrooms were lovely and comfortable, the food was great with a large selection on the menu and very fairly priced. I would highly recommend a visit, you won't be disappointed. Finbarr Dolan Sparro Tour
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Ard Ri House Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Ard Ri House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Finbarr Many thanks for your very kind review. We are thrilled you all enjoyed your stay and had a great golfing trip. Hopefully we will see you back again soon. All the Team at Ard Ri House Hotel
Read more
triciapritchard27 wrote a review May 2022
Derby, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
We held our mum’s memorial service at the Ard Ri last weekend and the service and support from the whole staff team was second to none. The room was set out beautifully and the meal was first class. Thank you to everyone involved in making our weekend so special. Our guests all commented too on how comfortable the accommodation was and many will be making return visits.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ard Ri House Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Ard Ri House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for very kind review of the Ard Ri House Hotel We are absolutely delighted to have hosted your mother's memorial service and so glad everything ran smoothly for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards All the Team at Ard Ri House Hotel
Read more
33kellym wrote a review May 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom104 contributions52 helpful votes
In a nutshell it is far from luxurious, it is quiet rough around the edges. Has great potential just needs a serious refurbishment. - bed was very uncomfortable sadly that’s what really bothered me. - but on positive side the staff are extremely friendly & welcoming. - good atmosphere in the bar - food was really good and I didn’t think it would be - loads of parking around & east to find Would I return, probably not but might suit others.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is no room service & bring water with you, as there is none in the room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ard Ri House Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Ard Ri House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Ard Ri House Hotel. We are disappointed to hear that your stay was just average, but delighted to hear that the staff were extremely friendly & welcoming and the food really good and exceeded your expectations. We have invested in all orthopedic beds that are designed to support the joints, back and overall body.
Read more
Kathleen C wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for two nights when attending a funeral in Abbeyknockmoy. Couldn’t have wished for better accommodation. Lovely big bedroom, more like a suite. Spotlessly clean, would pass any cleanliness test with flying colours. Great full breakfast plus continental. The staff couldn’t be more helpful. A special mention to the helpful, friendly Receptionist Mary Ann.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ard Ri House Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Ard Ri House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for your very kind review of the Ard Ri House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make a sad time just a little more comfortable for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards All the Team at Ard Ri House Hotel
Read more
Elva B wrote a review Oct 2021
28 contributions1 helpful vote
We had our wedding in the Ard Ri House Hotel on 8th October. Siobhan, Jean and all the staff were very attentive and well organised. The food was really good everyone loved it. We had our ceremony in the hotel as well and the room was decorated beautifully. A lot of our guests stayed in the hotel and all agreed it was a great stay. There are some really good bar staff who are friendly and helpful with food/drink recommendations. We will be recommending the hotel to anyone planning a wedding.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ard Ri House Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Ard Ri House Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Many thanks for your very kind review. We are delighted everything ran smoothly on such an important event and that you and all your guests enjoyed your special day. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards Jean, Siobhan and all the Team
Read more
Lival wrote a review Oct 2021
Cork, Ireland75 contributions76 helpful votes
Loads of parking. Great friendly welcome on check-in. Clean tidy room. Spotlessly clean en-suite. Comfortable beds. Tea/coffee facilities. Great breakfast choice. Handy place to stay if in North Galway area. Second time staying here and would return again. Fantastic value for money for a family room. Very friendly staff on check out too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ard Ri House Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Ard Ri House Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Many thanks for your very kind review of the Ard Ri House Hotel We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us
Read more
Liam G wrote a review Sep 2021
York, United Kingdom91 contributions45 helpful votes
Recently spent 2 nights there, as attending a funeral nearby. Place was very modern and clean. Staff were very attentive, helpful and friendly. Very happy with all the facilities. Would be very happy to stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ard Ri House Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Ard Ri House Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Many thanks for your very kind review of the Ard Ri House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Brett H wrote a review Aug 2021
DERBYSHIRE15 contributions10 helpful votes
Stopped over whilst travelling around County Galway havin stopped there in the past when visiting family nearby. Great location on what was the N17 before the bypass was built. Liked the place first time round many years ago and pleased to see it is just as good now. Great food, accomodation and easy car parking unlike in Galway city hotels. Pleasant outdoor eating on a warm August week, Certainly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ard Ri House Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Ard Ri House Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Many thanks for your very kind review of the Ard Ri House Hotel We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us
Read more
marieola wrote a review Aug 2021
wexford, ireland2 contributions
Had a lovely stay at Ard Ri Hotel, Tuam, Co. Galway. Accommodation very good. Staff very helpful and friendly. Wasn't sure where to venture on Sunday and receptionist recommended St. Brigid's Celtic Garden and Cafe in Moycullen. It was a great choice. Food exceptional and portions just right. Would definitely stay again. We were very happy with Covid guidelines adhered to.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ard Ri House Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Ard Ri House Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Many thanks for your very kind review of the Ard Ri House Hotel We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us
Read more
SoloStays wrote a review Aug 2021
Belfast, United Kingdom55 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Located on the outside of Tuam this is less of a destination hotel and more out of convenience. I stayed here for two nights and upon entering the hotel had good expectations for it. The bar and restaurant were bustling and had a nice atmosphere. The reception area is also well decorated with fixtures and fittings to a high standard. The lady at reception was very welcoming and the check in process was effecient. Upon entering the room I was impressed by the size with an immediate sitting area, then a large bed and then to my surprise an additional large space with table and chairs. However as I settled into the room it became apparent the signs of time were showing. The furniture a little tired and showing the signs of wear and tear. Stained walls, chips in furniture, makeshift repairs in the bathroom etc. The biggest issue was unfortunately the bed. It was a fold down bed Murphy style bed. Each time you got on the bed is creaked and sequeled as the feet found even-setting on the ground. There was also no back head board to lean against. And laying fully back in bed left me in hope it wasn't going to fold up on me. While you lay there with your head cocooned inside the wooden surround you realise you can not get access to the bedside table or light. In addition there are were no plugs either side of the bed. The large seating area in the room could have been made into a suite room if adaquate furniture had been placed there. Finally the internet was a let down. No Teams meetings or streaming youtube. I measured this at 2mbps, the worst I have experienced. I even went down the corridor with the laptop connecting to different points to see if this could be improved upon. Breakfast was grand, served by the chef to your own choosing. A full Irish or continental with tea or coffee. I would recommend trying to go at a quieter moment in the morning. When busy things take time. Overall this has the potential to be a lovely hotel deserving of 5 stars. A few tweaks and upgrades here and there and I would happily stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Ard Ri House Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Ard Ri House Hotel
Responded 8 Aug 2021
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Ard Ri House Hotel We really appreciate your feedback and we will review all the issues you have raised here Kind regards The Management Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$132 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ard ri hotel
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayTuam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ard Ri House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ard Ri House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Knockma Forest Walk (1.6 km), Quilt Yarn Stitch (1.2 km), and Cathedral of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ard Ri House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ard Ri House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ard Ri House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ard Ri House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gather Restaurant, Olivia's Cafe & Bistro, and The Galway Roast.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ard Ri House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ard Ri House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ard Ri House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Ard Ri House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cathedral of the Assumption Tuam (12.1 km), Abbeyknockmoy (11.8 km), and Temple Jarlath (12.2 km).
Is Ard Ri House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.