We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr P25 X300 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$335
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$335
TravelocityUS$335
Priceline
HurbUS$347
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1366)
Room & Suite (595)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 28/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Castlemartyr Resort
Updated 28/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Castlemartyr
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand eighteenth century country manor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a fitness studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Hiking
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Butler service
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
2842Reviews18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,824
  • 513
  • 264
  • 156
  • 85
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ui May T wrote a review 15 Aug
Dublin, Ireland4 contributions
Spectacular spot! Now I know dogs are welcomed, guarantee to have the next trip planned. Amazing work/ breakaway with my children. Kids were amazed with the hotel and the surrounding areas. Suggest more choices for breakfast
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Avril W wrote a review Jul 2022
Cork, Ireland2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I booked this for my parents as was mums birthday and mum & dads anniversary within a week. They stayed overnight and had beautiful spa treatments also. They had gone through a lot the months previous and everything was aimed and riding on them having a nice, happy relaxing time there. I did my part and it was over then to the hotel and staff. They arrived to me the following day for dinner and i will never forget the glow about them both!! They had the biggest smiles, were so relaxed and had the best time . They would be well used to travelling to different hotels but i can honestly say, The Castlemartyr Hotel is now their favourite luxury and they can not wait to go back. The views were amazing, the service exceptional ...even the after stay follow up! They were also delighted to have met the General Manager, Mr Comerford on the day they left. Trevor Sheehan contacted me afterwards to make sure everything was good for them and the reception staff Lisa and spa staff were so good and friendly. Only thing , book the food well in advance as i was too late to book dinner for them so lesson learned. All in all ..a fabulous stay and well done to all at the Castlemartyr Hotel. PS... I now feel i need to go to see what all the fuss was about!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: book for more than 1 night and book food well in advance
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Trevor Sheehan, Guest Services / Front Office at Castlemartyr Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Many thanks for such a positive review.It was a pleasure talking to you recently after your parents stay with us. The team will be delighted to hear that they had such a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming them and yourself back to the resort very soon. Kindest regards, Trevor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jollifed100 wrote a review 15 Aug
Hamilton, United Kingdom4 contributions6 helpful votes
Lovely hotel, beautiful grounds, nice spacious room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good, and the weather perfect. We had a terrific time made by the event we were at, but nevertheless the Hotel was terrific. Being very picky pillows were a little too firm and we had to ask for the room to be cleaned one day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
eoinhoran wrote a review 15 Aug
Killarney, Ireland1 contribution
I was staying for a friends wedding we had a great evening, food at the reception was very good. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and only a short walk from the village. One of our party did have a rather long wait for a meal from the restaurant on our second day but the staff did comp two of their drinks for the inconvenience. Room was amazing and pet friendly even though i didnt have one with me.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
shaymaguire wrote a review 14 Aug
1 contribution
Very friendly staff, lovely facilities and grounds. Any criticism would be around the food & beverage offerings. Poor selections available to vegetarians ( my wife) in the Canopy restaurant, better in the golf clubhouse. Limited wine selection throughout the complex - a good number of bottles included in the wine list were not available when requested. No one on duty with an obvious knowledge or love of wine. Shutting Knights Bar at 9.00pm detracts from the hotel, it was a great focal point for residents. Overall the Manor House area feels deliberately separate from the ‘new’ hotel which is not a positive. We would certainly come back though as there are far more positives than negatives and the staff were excellent throughout.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
siubhan37 wrote a review 13 Aug
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
Castlemartyr Resort is a lovely place to stay. It was for a family wedding during sweltering weather. We could not escape the 3-hour meal/speeches session which was an endurance test in a very warm banquet hall. BUT the food and service was excellent. Pool and spa top class. Bedroom A1. Helpful obliging staff. Thanks to all. Joan, Dublin
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Thomas S wrote a review 13 Aug
3 contributions
Castlemartyr is centrally located, allowing visiting family members from the US to meet family in Cork. Always a great place but made better by the service of Lucy Byrne at the front desk. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lisa B wrote a review 11 Aug
1 contribution
Thanks so much to Trevor your guest relations manager, uve surpassed yourself once again and looked after us.to Katie in the restaurant nice one for minding us and to Kevin your chef thanks for feeding us .amazing food. Only criticism was not enough ice cream, I should have asked for more!!and for Alice and the girls in the spa we felt really pampered yeer stars!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
fiefiemurphy wrote a review 11 Aug
Prague, Czech Republic11 contributions
+1
Went on a mini moon and they upgraded our room free of charge which was a delux room. It was fabulous. Dinner and breakfast I could not fault. The only thing letting the hotel down is the bar service. We and what looked like others around us kept asking for their orders more then twice or sometimes three times from waiting staff. There seemed to be no order with waiting staff and tables. We had lunch there, which took approx 25 minutes to come out, and had to wait another 25 minutes for my 2 yo daughter's soup to arrive, after asking twice from waiter.. Such a shame. Pool was fab. Room was fab. Staff were really nice. Food was fab. I would recommend going to the Golf Club for food and Drinks, much faster service and it's a bit more quiet if you have kids. Lawns are beautiful and hotel in general is also beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gaggers1 wrote a review 10 Aug
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom42 contributions32 helpful votes
Overall, we had another wonderful stay at the Castlemartyr Resort. There were a couple of negative points. The first is that when we checked in, we were told that we had been given an upgrade from the junior suite we had booked, but the upgrade room was actually much smaller than the junior suite. When we asked to be moved to a junior suite, it took quite a long time for this to be sorted (around 1 hour), during which time we were just waiting around. However, when we did eventually get into our room, we were given a bottle of complimentary Prosecco, which was a nice gesture. The other negative is that the Knights Bar closed at 9pm on our first night - all other times we have stayed in the resort, it has closed around midnight. In our opinion, the bar is the most beautiful room in the resort, so this was very disappointing. Hopefully, the usual opening times will be reinstated. Also worth mentioning is that the meal we had in the new Canopy restaurant was fantastic, and the new terrace outside the bar is lovely. Looking forward to staying here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Trevor Sheehan, Guest Services / Front Office at Castlemartyr Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review.The team will be delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable break with us. We look forward to welcoming you all back for another stay in the near future. Kindest regards, Trevor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$275 - US$386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castlemartyr hotel castlemartyr
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCastlemartyr
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Castlemartyr Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Castlemartyr Resort?
Nearby attractions include Choctaw Native American Monument (7.6 km), Midleton Farmer' Market (6.9 km), and Ballynamona Beach (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Castlemartyr Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Castlemartyr Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Castlemartyr Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Castlemartyr Resort?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castlemartyr Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ferrit and Lee Restaurant, Farmgate Resturant & Country Store, and Sage Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Castlemartyr Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Castlemartyr Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Castlemartyr.
Are any cleaning services offered at Castlemartyr Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Castlemartyr Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Castlemartyr Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.