We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Strands End House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Strands End House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Strands End House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 85: English reviews
Tokyo
Reviewed 9 October 2014

We had a great stay at Strands End! The breakfast was fantastic, the beds were very comfortable, and the room was large and very, very quiet. The downstairs social areas were very pleasant and "homey". But the highlight of the B&B is the Bowlers! Their entertaining conversation alone was worth the price we paid to stay. I really hope to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieZogs
Joan B, Owner at Strands End House, responded to this review

We would be delighted for you to return and thanks for your kind review, I am sure it was Eamonn bombarded you with the gift of the gab, he must have kissed the Blarney Stone at some stage, I remember I could not get a word in. Glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to meeting you again...

Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We stayed here or two nights, the owners are simply amazing people. The Irish breakfast is honestly the best we had while Ireland. The husband is a true gentlemen, our only complaint is that the bed we had was very hard and we had no water in our room besides tap. However, it was worth the money to stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewNewEnglander
Joan B, Owner at Strands End House, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your great review although I feel terrible about the shower, you did not say anything, If it was the carpet room you were in you have to pull the string in the shower before it starts and as these showers are very common in Ireland we presume Guests know how to work them, it is the...

United States
Reviewed 3 October 2014

Sometimes you don't need to experience other places to know when you've been to the best and this has to be the best place to stay while in Cahersiveen. Clean. Great location. Amazing breakfast!! (Eat the fruit salad after your main meal, that's the Continental way. Make sure to eat that fruit salad!) And the nicest people you'll meet in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John G
Reviewed 26 September 2014 via mobile

Nicest people and most beautiful landscape. (If ure lucky Ull have a clear night and see the stars and the Milky Way). Only problem was the sign. Not very visible if u arrive after dark. Looks like resto so keep eyes open. We kept going around till we found it by going in to what we thought was a fish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica E
Valletta, Malta
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We stayed at Strands End House on a friend's fervent recommendations and we were not disappointed! Our only regret was that our stay was too short! The B&B is perfectly placed along the Ring of Kerry and its owners, Joan and Eamon are absolutely lovely. They went out of their to accommodate us and our dietary requirements. We were given...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank raqu04
Joan B, Owner at Strands End House, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope your trip to Dingle was o.k. We have to look after anyone Keith send us. We hope to go to Malta ourselves sometime soon. Joan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I used this B&B as a stopover when we were walking the Kerry Way. The room was enormous and extremely comfortable. We were made to feel welcome, complete with homemade apple cake and papers. The breakfast was more than ample. The location isn't ideal, either for the Kerry Way - it's a slight distance away - or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen W
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Had an a fantastic time, the reception was very warm and welcoming and have never been made to feel so welcome and at home! Eamon and Joan are friendly and informative of the local attractions and places to wine and dine! The B&B is of a high standard, comfy beds with an on-suite bathroom, and the breakfast is large and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Glyn E
Joan B, Owner at Strands End House, responded to this review

Thanks very much for quick review,it was a pleasure to have you both stay with us, I hope you got home safely and enjoyed Skellig Ring, Joan

Santa Clarita, California
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at Strands End B&B before going on the Skellig Michael the next day. It was beautiful. Joanne was a wonderful and caring hostess. It's obvious that she really enjoys taking care of her guests. When we asked her about other places to see in the area that weren't already on our list, she happily obliged. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan R
Joan B, Owner at Strands End House, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind remarks, much appreciated.

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were traveling around the Ring of Kerry and needed a place to stay. My wife and I just pulled into the driveway and asked if a room was available. Joan and her husband, Eamonn were so nice. Our room was very clean and they went out of their way to make us feel at home, even looking up the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David W
Trebur, Germany
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights. The room was directly beside the dinging room for breakfast in the moring and had a seperate entrance. Eamon was very pleasant and arranged a trip to Skellig Michael. The breakfast was great with fruit salad and cereals and a very well done warm irish breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 271172Chris

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahersiveen
4.7 km away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cahersiveen
100 reviews
0.0 km away
Caitins
Caitins
#2 of 3 in Cahersiveen
42 reviews
26.2 km away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 19 in Cahersiveen
211 reviews
5.5 km away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 19 in Cahersiveen
120 reviews
8.9 km away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Strands End House

Address: Strandsend | Cahersiveen, Co. Kerry, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Price Range: €68 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strands End House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Strands End House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Strands End House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Strands End House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“From what I could see all rooms were lovely.”
michelledX2913IU, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family room option good for family of 4”
M8156MUhollyb, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If staying for more than a single night, ask for a larger room to better spread out your belongings.”
2011lovinitsteph, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Can't go wrong with the rooms. All are quite nice, spacious, and quiet.”
TravelHappy365, 2 Dec 2014 | Read review
“They have a family room which is large and comfortable.”
958Texas, 24 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5