We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alcock & Brown Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Alcock & Brown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alcock & Brown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We stayed a night on D, B & B deal with Livingsocial which was good value. The hotel is right in the centre of town but does not have any parking. We had not thought to check that a hotel with 3 stories had a lift, our mistake! We were told stairs only, which as my husband doesn't have the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryD0109
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel where you stayed on special Living Social deal. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the food in our Restaurant. Regarding the stairs, as we only have 2 floors of rooms this is not normally a problem. If requested in advance we can offer rooms on...

Dublin, Ohio
Reviewed 29 June 2016

The hotel is right in the centre of the town and very accessible to all the pubs/atmosphere of Clifden. The room was big - basic decor but more than adequate for our needs. Breakfast was great. The price was good too. Staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greatexperiences2014
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our freshly prepared breakfast and good price. Glad our staff impressed! Also pleased that you enjoyed our central location. We hope you stay again. Regards, Aideen

Reviewed 27 June 2016

We chose this cafe as after asking at serveral others who didn't serve soy milk, this one did. They then found they didn't have any in stock! However they went out and bought some. Nothing gluten free to eat. Not a cosy cafe but part of hotel decor. Grateful for the coffee, great customer service but overall average!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary k
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm not sure what time you visited hotel, but our Chef is always happy to provide gluten free options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In fact many items on our menus are gluten free and listed as such and we always have gluten free bread in stock. We appreciate your compliments on our customer service!...

Reviewed 20 June 2016

Excellent base for exploring the west coast of Ireland with breathtaking views around every corner of the coastline. The hotel is sited in the heart of the village and is a stones throw from eateries and brilliant pubs for 'craic agus ceol', - cliche but true

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are pleased you had a great experience in Clifden and that you liked our central hotel. Hope you can come back soon and explore the rest of Clifden. Regards, Aideen

Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Upon check in to our "superior room" full payment was taken from my debit card without being told, usually as with any hotel pre-authorisation is done!! As we entered our "superior room" we were greeted by a dirty bathroom (toilet & sink) including dated distasteful decor.. We made the hotel reception aware of the dirty bathroom but nothing was done!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was clear during your stay here that you were not happy - whether that was our fault is questionable. Every effort was made to address the issues you raised. Your response was to order the staff not to speak and not to attempt to resolve the issues !!! You would not listen to anyone....

Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

No real complaints, just the bedroom was a bit jaded and needs a good renovation. Breakfast was very good. Service both at reception and breakfast was excellent. Left a charger in the room which was found - a bit miffed though that they charged E5 + postage to send on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your food and our service. Sorry about the charge to forward the items you left behind but it is simply to cover our costs. Regards, Declan.

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

This place really is excellent value for money - we paid about £550 for a double room B&B for 7 nights. Breakfasts are excellent and the rooms well kept. We had some plumbing issues with the cold taps, but learned to live with them. The bar is the best of the bars in Clifden, the others varying from dark to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
vickersbar, Rception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review. Glad you enjoyed many aspects of your stay even the very popular Peroni! Our staff are always happy when guests have a good experience of their stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future. Many thanks again and regards, Aideen

Reviewed 14 June 2016

In the heart of Clifden this hotel feels like a home. The owner is very hands on. We were sitting in the lobby and she asked if we wanted a pot of tea. Immediately brought it to us, no charge. They were very busy with a race coming in but still made sure we were taken care of. The whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. Our staff always strive to ensure that our guests have enjoyable stay and we are glad that they impressed you. Please come back to see us soon! Many thanks and regards, Aideen

Amity
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We recently visited Clifden and needed a room. Got the next to last room at Alcock & Brown because of a big cycling event. The place is obviously a family operation, and the entire family made the stay delightful. Parents work the desk, sons the pub. Nice pub meal with live Irish music. Nice chat with proprietors about things to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John D
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and surrounding attractions. We always like our guests to feel welcome and you were impressed with the family welcome! We hope to welcome you back here very soon. Regards, Aideen

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Thanks Declan Sharon for your fantastic hospitality during the tour weekend. An excellent family run hotel that catered for our every need. One member commented that his experience was "1st class" and we all agreed. Continue the good work and hope to see you both next year Stephen and members of Drumquin Cycling Club

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased at your first class review! We are always happy to please our guests. Hope you will be back again for more enjoyable cycling. Regards, Aideen

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
215 reviews
0.4 km away
Clifden Station House
0.1 km away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
2.2 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 km away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Alcock & Brown Hotel

Address: The Town Square | Connemara, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Price Range: €61 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcock & Brown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Alcock & Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcock Brown Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alcock & Brown Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Galway, Ireland
Castleblayney, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Alcock & Brown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a corner room overlooking the street, as the middle ones only look onto the backside of the hotel entrance roof.”
 of 5 bubbles MacPow, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“higher floors better view”
 of 5 bubbles robertbowman1, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I didn't spot any elevator, so if you have a lot of baggage, it might be best to choose a room on the lower floor.”
 of 5 bubbles darrylgriffith93, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Town views from the panoramic front rooms are terrific”
 of 5 bubbles rickbon, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room had a lovely room over the village of Clifden!”
 of 5 bubbles joekarigabby, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay