We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

An Sugan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
An Sugan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
Start your review of An Sugan
 Click to rate
Greater Cincinnati
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent seafood chowder and mussels for lunch. Visited on a quiet weekday, waited a bit for staff to appear, but very happy with service once seated. All of us enjoyed our food. Great town to have a stroll in as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petemel91
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

My family and I went to An Sugan on a Saturday evening looking forward to a nice meal. We had heard good things about An sugan but on this occasion an sugan failed to deliver on every level. We might as well of been invisible when it came to the service, we would of done a better job of serving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenny m
Clonakilty, Ireland
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

It's been a few months since I've been in to An Sugan so went along for the lunch today. Had a cracking beef stew, real comfort and tasty food, 10 out of 10 for portion size and taste. It came out fast enough and the dining room is spotless as always. As a local blow in 😀I'm always happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mkelleherclon
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

The promise of fresh fish and great food was tempting. We went to eat with high expectation. It was December 27th. The staff were friendly. The food was hugely disappointing. Tiny portions and high cost. Overall it was very poor value for money and we won't return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate1211
Tantallon
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Very well-equipped, spacious, modern, comfortable room with ensuite bath. The house has historical significance and the walls are filled with posters and newspaper clippings marking significant events.The owner, Brenda, is a wonderful host, and provided a delicious cook-to-order breakfast. She has her personal touch on the entire house, and made our stay extra special. When we told her I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leat511
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Nice homely atmosphere and the B&B is next to the An Sugan Seafood Restaurant & Bar. Room with double bed, wifi, tv, wardrobe, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker on table with ensuite bathroom. My wife and I had a lovely toasted An Sugan sandwich at the bar next to it and washed down with a creamy pint of Guinness for lunch. Friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KLeongCork_Ireland
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

spacious room, clean and tidy. the seafood restaurant was excellent,as was the breakfast. the staff were helpful and pleasant, great location,in the town center,close to all the bars and shops,traditional music in most bars, enjoyable !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _obrienpat2
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed at An Sugan for 2 nights for a wedding and we simply couldn't have picked a better place. First of all, the restaurant is lovely - we arrived rather late and they still served us their delicious seafood chowder and seafood pie. Our room was airy, bright and clean with plush beddings. The breakfast was top notch -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hohohohaha
AnSugan, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review. We look forward to eeing you soon again!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I always made it my business to eat in this restaurant when I visited West Cork.Unfortunately standards have dropped considerable.Service was slow. The decor was drab and I thought the premises looked dirty. My table was not cleaned properly.The food was pricey for a basic burger . I wont be returning until I hear different 2/10 rating

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vortex66
AnSugan, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not find An Sugan to your liking. we use the finest and freshest ingrefients. The prices are printed on the menu as well as a full description outlining the artisan produce we use. We are a traditional Irish pub, however there are more modern sections to the restaurant that may have been more to your...

Baldock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Visited here twice in one week two fab meals, great atmosphere really fresh food and lots of variatiy. Chose the starter platter one night then the main seafood platter both were delicious. Better atmosphere in the bar area than the restaurant but both very good. Mussels were very good and great portion size. Tried to get in another night but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
AnSugan, Guest Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Clonakilty and An Sugan and we hope we get the chance to welcome you again. Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are lucky to have all that West Cork has to offer on our doorstep.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.0 km away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
236 reviews
0.3 km away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
160 reviews
3.3 km away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
1.5 km away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
355 reviews
3.9 km away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a Georgian property, once home to poetess Mary Jane Irwin, An Sugan is a family-run guesthouse and seafood restaurant. Located at the heart of the historic city of Clankilty, the guesthouse is 10 minutes' walk from Clonakilty Museum, which boasts a display of Michael Collins memorabilia. Each room at An Sugan feature a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities. The furniture is chic and modern and guests can enjoy a stylish environment. Yoghurt, cereals, and Full Irish breakfast are also included in the room rate. Next door to the guesthouse, the An Sugan seafood restaurant boasts an award-winning menu which is designed to complement fresh fish delivered daily and local produce. Guests can enjoy the West Cork Seafood Pie and Traditional Fresh Fish & Hand-Cut Potato Chips. The restaurant also offers lighter options and home-made desserts. 5 Km from the property, Inchydoney offers beautiful beaches and scenic views of the sea. Whale watching, fishing and surfing are amongst the activities available in this seaside town. Templebryan Stone Circle, also known as the Druid Temple, is 2 and half km from the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about An Sugan

Address: 41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty 00000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Price Range: €66 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — An Sugan 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your An Sugan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from An Sugan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In the heart of downtown, a block off the main street.”
leat511, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“not sure, only know about the room we stayed in”
_obrienpat2, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't ask for room 9”
Chris_fss, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Didn't get to see any of the other rooms so can't advise”
carolef850, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had a twin bedded room on the front which was very acceptable for the price.”
AnnP245, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5