We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Donovan's Hotel

Pearse Street, Clonakilty Ireland
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (97)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#6 of 8 hotels in Clonakilty

If you’re looking for a quaint hotel in Clonakilty, look no further than O'Donovan's Hotel.

While staying at O'Donovan's Hotel, visitors can check out Temblebryan Stone Circle (1.9 mi), which is a popular Clonakilty attraction.

Rooms at O Donovans Hotel offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a desk providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Room service, a gift shop, and shops are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. Free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to O'Donovan's Hotel, free parking is available.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Molly's Cafe & Wine Bar, The Winery, and Arís Café & Wine Bar, which are some wine bars that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for something to do, Michael Collins House (0.1 mi), Birthplace of Michael Collins (0.1 mi), and Fernhill Gardens (0.8 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of O Donovans Hotel.

The staff at O'Donovan's Hotel looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Bar / lounge
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Nightclub / DJ
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
241Reviews1Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 69
  • 11
  • 15
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
breige m wrote a review Sep 2020
15 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed 4 nights sept 2020- my dog and i. Super friendly hotel. Dog friendly. People friendly . Comfiest beds on earth. Air con in bedrooms. Amazing. Hotel and bedrooms and bathrooms immaculate. Staff fantastic. Food lovely . Breakfasts surreal. Cant wait to get staying again. Hotel works like clockwork. Zero panic . .or mayhem. Loved it and felt so at home. Such a homely hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Response from Dena O'Donovan, Owner at O'Donovan's Hotel
Responded 28 Oct 2020
Many thanks for your lovely review. We do try and make it as homely as possible, I'm glad that you were able to bring your dog. We might see you again in the not too distant future. Dena O'Donovan Hotel Proprietor
Read more
Jill V wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland63 contributions55 helpful votes
Brilliant hotel right on the Main Street in the centre of everything! Our room was spacious and clean! The shower was powerful and we even had a little balcony looking out over the street! The food in the pub was good and really reasonably priced! Staff were all extremely helpful, I would stay here again if back in Clonakilty!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from Dena O'Donovan, General Manager at O'Donovan's Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Many thanks for your kind words of encouragement. In the midst of this world pandemic it is hard to look after the public sometimes. It's nice to have positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Dena O'Donovan
Read more
Andrea M wrote a review Aug 2020
40 contributions14 helpful votes
Perfectly located within the beautiful town of Clonakility. Ideal location to base yourself if looking to see the sights of Cork. Fabulously run family hotel, lovely bedroom with a balcony and comfy beds. Multiple bars and restaurants and a lovely large garden terrace where you can eat and drink. Will definitely come back and recommend to others! Thank you 😊
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from Dena O'Donovan, General Manager at O'Donovan's Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2020
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our family run hotel. Many thanks for your encouraging review !!! Hopefully we will see you again shortly. Dena O'Donovan
Read more
anonymous wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Stopped here a few days ago for breakfast with my family, as where we originally planned to eat was closed. Looked nice from the outside so chose here. Walked in and reception staff paid no interest in us, so we walked ahead into the dining room. Every table was full, bar one, which was dirty and full of someone else's leftovers. After queuing for ages when the line wasn't even that long, the table wasn't even clean by then - which is unacceptable, especially now with the covid situation. We sat at the edge of the table and tried to enjoy our meal - however it was stone cold (definitely reheated) apart from the toast. There was no other staff present apart from the 2 ladies behind the counter who I'm sure were doing their best, but there simply was not enough staff to cater for everyone's needs. Just as we were about to leave, a cleaning lady came in and started clearing every other table but ours and took no interest in us whatsoever.. Perhaps we came on an off day.. and I don't really blame the staff - there wasn't enough on. However they should have ensured each table was clean before a new sitting - especially right now!!! Left hungry and disappointed. Don't come here for breakfast!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from Dena O'Donovan, General Manager at O'Donovan's Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review our establishment on trip advisor. Yes, as we are a long established and very central cafe in the town center it can indeed get quite busy. For this I apologize, that there was not enough room for you during your visit. Certainly you are indeed correct to say that there were obviously not enough staff on duty, but that can appear the problem when there is a rush of customers. As its a casual café with counter service, we don't have "sittings" and waitresses. I spoke to the girls on duty at that time and yes, you are correct to say that a "cleaning lady" appeared to come on duty... she did just come on duty and immediately began to clean the tables... she was unaware that you were sitting at an unclean table. If you were not happy with the fare why did you not ask for a replacement. ? This problem could have been fixed in a jiffy, and you wouldn't have left disappointed. Of course the problem should not have arisen in the first place but we do try and keep standards above the bar. Why don't you make contact with me and send on a forwarding address and I can send you back your money or perhaps send you on a voucher ( whichever is easiest for you ). Dena O'Donovan. Cafe Proprietor
Read more
West Cork Weekends wrote a review Aug 2020
Clonakilty, Ireland3 contributions
Love this place! Like stepping into a New Orleans hotel in the 1950's, a cool place just to sit and have a drink and soak in the charm. Prices very reasonable and the food is great, we barely waited - exactly what you want!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Response from Dena O'Donovan, General Manager at O'Donovan's Hotel
Responded 19 Sep 2020
Many thanks for stopping by at our 250 year old establishment... Glad you had a great time in Clonakilty. see you again soon. Dena
Read more
US$130 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
o donovans hotel clonakilty
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkClonakilty
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about O'Donovan's Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to O'Donovan's Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Michael Collins House (0.2 km), DeBarras Folk Club (0.06 km), and An Teach Beag (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at O'Donovan's Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at O'Donovan's Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at O'Donovan's Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at O'Donovan's Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to O'Donovan's Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Whale's Tail Restaurant, Scannells Bar, and Molly's Cafe & Wine Bar.
Is O'Donovan's Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Clonakilty.
Are pets allowed at O'Donovan's Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does O'Donovan's Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to O'Donovan's Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Birthplace of Michael Collins (6.3 km).
Is O'Donovan's Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.