We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Island View Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Island View Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Island View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Dublin
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I decided to try this establishment for Sunday lunch - never again! We both had the roast beef and while the food was average at best what turned both of us off eating was the lack of cleanliness - the cutlery trays were filthy, the tables weren't cleared or washed down and there seemed to be very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pennykavanagh
shar36, Manager at Island View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review as all feedback good or bad aids us in trying to improve our standards. I was surprised to read that the cutlery tray was dirty as all trays were thoroughly cleaned and cutlery polished before opening for business that morning as is done everyday. As you stated there was a large queue on the...

Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a great two night stay at the Island View. We arrived (28 of us) Saturday afternoon and left Monday lunchtime. Had a brilliant stay. Can't thank all the staff enough for being so helpful and friendly during our stay. The rooms were lovely and clean. Breakfast was very great. Thanks again Tony and all your staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here two nights staff very friendly and helpful rooms very clean and tidy and very warm breakfast was best we've had in a long time had dinner on both nights in hotel it was lovely and good quick service and welled priceed will be back Thanks to all the staff enjoyed our weekend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nobbymt1
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in need of some renovation. Beds and mattresses were old and uncomfortable. The rooms were surface clean,but on closer inspection,the cobwebs were thick. The staff were either rude or just didn't care,especially the very tall,thin "gentleman" behind the bar,he had absolutely no customer service skills at all. The only good thing was breakfast. Top marks to Joan...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheend61
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

What a horrible dodgy place! From the minute you try & open the front door...this place is just awful. Reception area in shambles...zero friendliness or information from person checking us in. Extremely dirty & ugly. Island view? Ha! Our view was a construction site (see picture of our view) Worst place I've stayed in a long time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ellewall
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Reviewed 11 June 2015

We booked this hotel last day of our stay in Ireland to be closer to the airport and looking for something cost-effective on Friday when the prices seems to be higher in Dublin and around. Staff is semi-helpful, hotel seems old, not very big rooms, from window we saw technical "patio" only, not a sea. Hotel has a parking. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gaginho007
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

We went to Oscar Taylor's for my mother in law's birthday dinner. We have dined there before and it was ok. Just ok. But this time around the whole dining experience was bad. Seriously bad. We had a table of 12, with 4 kids, so managed to see quite a lot of the starters and mains. The food is poor....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dorota O
Ronan K, Manager at Island View Hotel, responded to this review

May I thank you for your review as it is only with customer feedback that we can improve our standards. I regret to read that you did not enjoy your meal as we pride ourselves on the standard of our food and service as you can see from the majority of reviews. When we have fallen down however the lack...

Reviewed 27 October 2014 via mobile

Arrived early off a flight exhausted on a bank holiday weekend. Booked here as it wasnt too far from the airport. Was very worried after reading previous reviews but proceeded to hotel. Was allowed to check in early just after noon which was greatly appreciated. The corridor leading to the bedrooms isn't very inviting nor the bedroom doors themselves. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank lorraine w
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 28 September 2014 via mobile

Second time to stay here and such a let down. Bedroom had cobwebs on the light fixtures and curtain poles no excuse in this day and age for rooms not been cleaned. Eat in the restaurant for dinner ordered the steak burger..... Presentation was lovely that was about it. Two bites of the burger was enough, tasted like gravel. Looking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maggiemay0
Ronan K, Manager at Island View Hotel, responded to this review

HI maggiemay0 We at the Island View Hotel are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with is . We are a two story , two star , 11 bedroom hotel with a very busy bar , lounge and restaurant . We have live music playing every Saturday evening from 10:30 to 12:30 and last Saturday was the very popular...

Donaghadee, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2014

My wife and i stayed here for 3 nights bed and breakfast from 31/8/14 to 3/9/14 staff were very welcoming and the food was great.The bedrooms are in need of an update but apart from that they were clean and tidy. The downstairs bar and lounge has a good atmosphere and the locals were friendly. I was going to rate...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Paul F

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,445 reviews
1.9 km away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
338 reviews
2.5 km away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Waterside House Hotel
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
10.4 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Island View Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Price Range: €72 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Island View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Malahide
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Island View Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in hotel but eat elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 2 was nicely located- didn't see others so hard to assess.”
 of 5 bubbles bear100no, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 was grand”
 of 5 bubbles CRC55, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Maytrea, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask where the room is in relation to kitchens, bars etc.”
 of 5 bubbles DeeBee905, 1 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5