We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,063: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel staff are so helpful.Rooms are so clean .Beach right beside hotel.We all had a great time .The food was excellent.We sat having afternoon tea looking out on to the sea.This hotel can be enjoyed even if the weather is horrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mmccorry
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the golf links for Mam and dads 50th wedding anniversary, 10 adults and 8 children. We were not made feel welcome, the menu was very limited, only calamari or soup for starter for the children and main course was fish or a pasta dish that was disgusting, and no choice for dessert for the children.the waiters constantly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonne13a
David M, General Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne13, I am disappointed to read your review. To address some of the issues you raise; firstly I am at a loss to understand how you did not feel welcome? I am sorry if the children’s menu was not to your children’s tastes. We do not serve nuggets and chips or burgers on our restaurant children’s menu, however they...

Mullingar, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What can you say about this hotel, but fantastic. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The facilities in the room again are great. The breakfast is excellent. The scenery from the rooms over the golf course are stunning. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank quantum_11
David M, General Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review

Dear quantumm11, Thank you for your really nice review. I am delighted to you read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I do hope you will return again sometime in the future for which I will look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards David David McGuinness Hotel Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lunch for the family, 2 kids and 2 adults today in the bar - to say the service was poor would understate the experience. I had to find a waitress to ask for someonevto take our order - then the food (kids dinners and sandwich) took 30 minutes to come. Of course the children were starving by the time it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Claire L
David M, General Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read of your experience. I will investigating this further with the team to identify what may have gone wrong. I am disappointed that this was not brought to the attention of any of my management team yesterday, who would have been more than happy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly, the hotel is absolutely fine with friendly staff and efficient reception.Good rooms and excellent breakfast. The food in the restaurant was substantial and well cooked, though not many diet options and relied mainly on gastropub items. It was great fun playing the course in weather ranging from hurricane conditions to early summer balmy. My only beef was the service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LorezoLondon
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

About a €25 taxi ride from Dublin Airport. Refurbishment now seems to be completed and the whole place is bright, clean very welcoming. This review is based on the hotel facilities and not the golf as I am a non player. Sea view bedroom really nice size, great views, sparkling clean bathroom with great water pressure. WiFi worked well throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grwpl
Missouri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first night of 10 that we spent in Ireland. The property is very nice as are the people we met. The rooms were bigger than what we were expecting which was a great surprise. A short walk to the beach was fun, but there really not much to see or do close by, unless of course wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the hotel to celebrate my birthday with afternoon tea. The staff were so welcoming and friendly I cannot thank them enough. The Seaview lounge has the most beautiful views and has a very relaxing ambience.Afternoon tea was a real treat a lovely selection of sandwiches, scones and sweet treats and the prosecco was delicious! A truly memorable experience,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seashells26
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel mid renovation to the foyer and reception area, spacious with fabulous views of the sea and beach. A bunch of friends had bar food and drinks here, great chicken wings and burgers, lots of wine options and reasonably priced drinks. Comfortable high back chairs to relax and unwind in, topped off with some traditional music. A nice place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lin S
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my husband celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary on Friday 31st March by staying for a night in this gorgeous hotel. We originally had our wedding reception in this hotel on 2nd April 1992. The hotel has changed considerably but it was lovely to be back. The staff were wonderful, really friendly and helpful. They couldn't do enough for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
David M, General Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that both you and your husband had an enjoyable wedding anniversary with us. I will be sharing your kind words with all the team. Yes please don't leave it another 25 years to return!! Look forward to welcoming you back again soon Kind Regards David David McGuinness Hotel...

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (296)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
2.8 km away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,463 reviews
0.6 km away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
343 reviews
9.0 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
11.4 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4,338 reviews
12.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Price Range: €98 - €205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, United Kingdom
over a year ago
atlanta
Atlanta, Georgia
over a year ago
northern ireland
over a year ago
Castleblayney, Ireland
2 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are looking for a sea view don't choose the first floor.”
845MBAH, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“request a sea view”
carolsbelfast, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the seaview, definitely worth it.”
juv920, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor family room for parents”
scampers2017, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay for the seaview it is worthwhile”
grwpl, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5