We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
West End, Bundoran Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$174
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$159
Orbitz.com
Agoda.comUS$176
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (99)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (19)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Bundoran
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Allingham Arms Hotel, named after a local 19th Century Poet, William Allingham is situated directly opposite the atlantic ocean on the beautiful coast of Bundoran, Co. Donegal. The hotel offers guests a unique experience in the superb seaside resort. The Allingham Arms hotel boasts two well equipped bars serving an extensive bar food menu and a high quality restaurant, serving delicious food. The hotel offers DVD hire with a choice of over 100 movies. Nightly entertainment is also provided where local and national entertainers perform. The Allingham Arms Hotel has been described as the “Capital of Country Music” with well-known acts such as Jimmy Buckley, Robert Mizzell, Mike Denver and Nathan Carter making regular appearances... we offer attractive packages and affordable rates, and as a family run hotel we are always willing to go "that extra mile" to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. Enjoy lazing in the beautiful surroundings, all of which are only a minutes’ walk away from the beach, town centre, Waterworld and numerous other amenities. Whether surfing, dancing or just simply relaxing, the Allingham Arms offers the guest the opportunity to make the most of their visit to the North-West.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Evening entertainment
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
547Reviews5Q+A99Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 313
  • 98
  • 54
  • 48
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Emma casement wrote a review 6 Aug
Downpatrick, United Kingdom1 contribution
Staff were great and hotel lovely only down fall was the deluxe room didn't have a walk in shower and we had to book a time slot for breakfast that wasn't a problem but food could have been better for breakfast as bacon was hard and eggs were like rubber other than that dinners were lovely and couldn't fault them. We had a lovely well deserved break and loved it the and would stay again as all staff and music in the bar at night was great and hope to go back at some point
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allingham Arms Hotel, Owner at Allingham Arms Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely break and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Allingham in the near future.
Read more
Carmel Cavan wrote a review 2 Aug
4 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed in Allingham with my Husband for two nights. We had bed breakfast and dinner on one night included in package. Dinner was so good on first night that we ate there second night also. We found this Hotel lovely, clean and well run. There was great music in the bar each night with a great atmosphere and dancing. We found all staff very helpful and friendly especially Peter and all the bar staff. The Hotel seemed quite busy but staff were cheerful and helpful at all times. The views from the Hotel were lovely and we look forward to a return visit. There was always plenty of parking spaces at Hotel which was a bonus and the bedrooms were well serviced and spotless. We would highly recommend The Allingham and found it to be a well run family hotel. The view from Hotel even late in the evening was beautiful which I am including here. Carmel O'Reilly (Cavan) Ireland.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allingham Arms Hotel, Owner at Allingham Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Please be assured that I will pass on your kind comments to all the team, it is reviews such as yours that makes the hard work all the worthwhile. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to the Allingham Arms Hotel.
Read more
C O’Donnell wrote a review 1 Aug
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I joined my sister and family for dinner this afternoon in the restaurant and I must say, the food was absolutely superb. The flavours were just beautiful and the food well cooked. The staff were polite, courteous and very friendly. I’ve eaten in the hotel a few times now and have never been disappointed, hence the good review. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allingham Arms Hotel, Owner at Allingham Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and I will pass on your kind comments to all the team. Hopefully we will see you all soon!
Read more
Lauren Freehill wrote a review 1 Aug
Cavan, Ireland11 contributions5 helpful votes
We joined my parents who were staying in the hotel for dinner on Saturday evening. Dinner in the restaurant was absolutely fantastic. So much choice and each course was just beautiful. The staff were so attentive and did all they could to make sure we were looked after. We went into the bar afterwards where there was great music and had a dance. Excellent atmosphere in a well ran family hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allingham Arms Hotel, Owner at Allingham Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at the Allingham. We have a great team who work so hard to ensure every guest is catered for. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Allingham in the near future.
Read more
Geraldine Freehill wrote a review 1 Aug
1 contribution
Just back from a fabulous stay in the Allingham. The room, the food, the atmosphere and the surroundings are just out of this world. Peter and his staff went above and beyond for us and made it a very enjoyable stay once again. The restaurant manager and staff every morning and evening were excellent and so attentive. Will definitely be back to see Peter and his staff very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allingham Arms Hotel, Owner at Allingham Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. We are blessed with an amazing team (and manager :-) ) who are always willing to do anything asked off them. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Allingham in the near future.
Read more
Cocopops wrote a review Jul 2022
County Donegal, Ireland89 contributions91 helpful votes
Had been told the rooms here have been done up??? The room myself and our friends 4 other rooms are still the same as 12 years ago. Reception area is nice but corridors old and boring . They "don't" take card in at the dance?!!!! Come on what day and age are we in?? Breakfast was the worst ever, warm Orange juice and may I add not even slightly chilled pure warm, I had to go out to vending machine and buy myself a cold fanta as I don't drink tea and need a drink while I eat. Service awful, staff going about haven't a clue what they are at, undercooked bacon, the toast was like warm bread wasn't even toasted Waited for ages on our breakfast, would highly not recommend. This place needs to get a grip and all our friends are saying the same €160 for 1 night, for what??? HOSTEL????
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Allingham Arms Hotel, Owner at Allingham Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent review. Has the rooms been done up - yes! We have completed a major refurbishment where a number of rooms are now themed, had you booked one of these you would have been allocated one. They tend to sell out first so when a last minute booking comes in, there may be none available which highlights how good they are! All other bedrooms have been refurbished over the last three years (only wish we could get 12 years out of them!) I am not sure what more can be done with the corridors but if you have any suggestions, please let us know. We don't have a machine in the ballroom as we find it can take time to process the transactions and it can delay guests however there is an ATM machine available which the majority of guests are happy with. If you had highlighted your concerns at breakfast to the restaurant manager, I am sure he would have been more than happy to look after you however you did not afford us the opportunity. I never had the pleasure of staying in a hostel therefore I cannot comment on your last opinion.
Read more
Roisin D wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
My Fiance and I stayed 4 nights in the deluxe Seaview room and had such a lovely stay. The view from the room were such a joy to wake upto every morning and watching the sunsets in the evening. The room was spotless and so comfy. We had the 3 evening meals deal which were absolutely delicious. The choice of starter, main and dessert was fantastic. The food was the best we have ever had and the service was second to none. The entertainment in the bar was an added bonus to a wonderful stay . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allingham Arms Hotel, Owner at Allingham Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay. I am delighted that you both enjoyed your few nights away. Please be assured that I will pass on your kind comments to all the team, it makes the hard work worthwhile. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Allingham in the near future.
Read more
JM wrote a review Jul 2022
Bundoran, Ireland1 contribution
We arrived at Quay West at 7.40pm on a Sunday evening and the waitress stated they were open for orders until 8.30pm. We had starters and main courses; before the main course was cleared the staff arrived at our table with a bill. This was at 8.50pm; we were advised that the restaurant was closing and that we would have to go to the hotel bar if we wanted another drink. We asked if it would be possible to get desserts and the reply we received is: “We will have to check if the kitchen will do desserts”. The staff advised that we would be able to get desserts so we ordered; however, the staff started closing the curtains, locking the doors, turning off lights and stacking chairs on tables whilst we were still eating. We were made feel very uncomfortable and it was clear that the staff were just waiting for us to leave. Furthermore, this all happened in the presence of the hotel owner. It was a very disappointing experience; we had to choke down our desserts and drinks to get out of the restaurant. Paying over €200 for a meal you would expect a little bit of respect from the staff and owner; not to be made feel unwanted and unwelcome.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allingham Arms Hotel, Owner at Allingham Arms Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you felt rushed yesterday evening, this was certainly not intended. The staff will always start to clean down at the end of service as there is so much to be done to prepare the room for the following day. We also like to try and get our staff home to their families as early as possible after a long busy day. It's unfortunate that you felt that you had to join Trip Advisor to express your disappointment rather than going to the owner who was there and air your concerns with them.
Read more
Patrick M wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This really isn’t and doesn’t need to be a very long review because I can basically sum-up my two night stay at the Allingham Arms by saying it was one of the best hotels stays I’ve ever had, absolutely fantastic experience, every aspect of my stay was superb. From the exceptional food in the Allingham’s restaurant, to the very friendly staff and as a wheelchair user the disabled room I had was first class. Finally I just want to give special mention and thanks to Sandra on reception and of course the main man, the boss man himself, Peter, thank you so much for a wonderful stay and I hope to see you all again very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allingham Arms Hotel, Owner at Allingham Arms Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your kind comments to Sandra and the main man himself. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Allingham in the near future.
Read more
Lydia wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely beautiful hotel, with lovely friendly staff. Our room was amazing, with a lovely view of the sea. The hotel is in a great location being away from the business of the town centre, but only a short walk. The breakfast in the morning was delicious also, with very attentive and fast service. We will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Allingham Arms Hotel, Owner at Allingham Arms Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are blessed with our ocean views from the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Allingham in the near future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
allingham bundoran, allingham arms bundoran hotel, hotel allingham arms
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalBundoran
NUMBER OF ROOMS
132
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Allingham Arms Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Allingham Arms Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bundoran Adventure Park (0.1 km), Brennan's Pub (0.2 km), and Dizzy's Den (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Allingham Arms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Allingham Arms Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Allingham Arms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Allingham Arms Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Allingham Arms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taj Mahal, Fox's Lair Bar & Restaurant, and Maddens Bridge Bar.
Is Allingham Arms Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 km away from the centre of Bundoran.
Does Allingham Arms Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Allingham Arms Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Killaghtee Old Church (0.3 km).
Does Allingham Arms Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Allingham Arms Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.