We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ice House Hotel

Save
Share
The Quay, Ballina F26 Y9E8 Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$232
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$232
US$198
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/21
CheapTicketsUS$232
Official SiteUS$214
TravelocityUS$232
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (852)
Room & Suite (250)
Dining (75)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 08/08/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/08/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 9 hotels in Ballina
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Canoeing offsite
Spa
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English
1747Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,022
  • 403
  • 193
  • 78
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paul_Donegal_Ireland wrote a review Jul 2021
County Sligo, Ireland25 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
A fantastic place to stay. We were greeted by Matthew when we arrived, and he was so friendly and helpful to us, a lovely way to start off our trip. We went down to the outside restaurant for a drink while our room was being prepared as we checked in earlier than normal. We took in the fantastic views and relaxed for an hour and then we got down to our room. We has booked in for a mud bath and herself had a tangled up wrap booked with Aoife, and she came back more relaxed than ever after it, so job well done!! We both thoroughly enjoyed this experience. The spa area is fantastic with 2 jacuzzi baths and a hot tub that can be used any time. We didn't have dinner in the hotel as we had other arrangements made, but we did have the breakfast the next morning and it really hit the spot! Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and would we come back?? Absolutely, already planning our return. The only downfall I'd have with the Ice House is the prices of their drinks at the bar - a bit over priced in fairness but apart from that, everything else was perfect and we look forward to returning for another trip here
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ice House Team, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to read of your enjoyable stay with us. I will ensure to pass on your lovely comments to Matthew, Aoife and all the staff at The Hotel. Regards Niall Kerins
Read more
KateFloodT wrote a review Jul 2021
Burry Port, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
We were greeted abruptly, given no direction to our rooms, which all are named and not numbered. A lovely idea, totally impracticable when with a family of 6 rooms. When it came to splitting a bill or even contacting each other, thank god the WiFi is good! Our rooms differed some nicer than others but all with extremely comfortable beds. No soft touches due to Covid, that’s fine. As for requesting house keeping to refresh your room due to Covid, sorry didn’t buy it. There is enough PCR on the market for business to resume as normal as possible. When I asked for anything I did receive it promptly ie fan, fresh towels. The staff were really attentive. We made our way to the spa for our pre booked treatments, I really couldn’t say enough good about the staff, what lovely ladies, they really tried to make the experience special even when working next to a building site (which we paid premium treatment prices for). The outdoor area is less than poor, two paddling pools (supposed to be hot tubs, the electrician had still not arrived! ) were in the blaring sun. An umbrella, outdoor potted plants, furniture anything would make this area more attractive. In the corner next to the building site partition we did find a hot tub which worked and was in the shade. This was lovely as long as you enjoyed the banter between the builders and the wafts on Benson and Hedges enveloping you! We had bar food that evening and again the staff were fantastic, the food was what you’d expect bar food to be. The next morning breakfast was mundane, nothing exciting or special. Again the staff were great and got you anything you asked for. But there’s an opportunity missed here, the menu is totally standard. In our stay of 2 nights bed and breakfast with one evening meal €620. The evening meal was fantastic, the service second time none the food tasty, flavoursome and presented well. Even if the desserts were missing elements (brandy snap twirl). But all in all I’ve come away feeling deflated, sad as my expectations were obviously way to high and most definitely out of pocket.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Maybe wait until the work is complete or the hotel offer a massively reduced price in line with...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ice House Team, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your reviw. I was disappointed that you did not enjoy every part of your stay. I was glad to read that you found all the staff very attentive. I will pass this on to all the staff. I will take all your points on board. Kind regards Niall Kerins
Read more
Rosie wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I have just returned from a few nights stay at the Ice House in Ballina. This is the first time I have ever been compelled to write a review. The customer service was outstanding. A special mention must be given to Matthew at the Front Desk and Ellie in the restaurant who were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is on such a picturesque setting, you can sit outside and enjoy the view whilst eating the excellent food on offer from the restaurant. There are building works going on at the moment but this did not impact on our trip at all. This hotel is well worth the visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Ice House Team, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our stay with us. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to Ellie and Matthew. Kind regards Niall Kerins
Read more
Mollyol wrote a review Jul 2021
Templeogue, Ireland69 contributions39 helpful votes
Just back from a girls trip away to the ice house. I absolutely loved it. The spa which has just been newly renovated is gorgeous. The outdoor hot tubs are bliss, looking out into the water. We also got the seaweed baths which were so relaxing. There is building work going on around it but we didn’t mind we were just so glad it was open for our trip! The staff in the spa were fantastic. Breda and Fiona looked after us so well and were a pleasure to deal with. They really added to the experience. There was a mixup with the treatment I got and it was dealt with very quickly and fairly. Rebecca who did the treatment was also wonderful. The food was good, loved the restaurant for breakfast and lunch as it trendy style but for an evening meal didn’t find it as comfortable or relaxing. There was also no bar as such to relax with a drink. That was the only negative for me. We went to crockets just down from it for dinner one night and had a drink in keanes bar beside it. Both were fantastic little spots!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Ice House Team, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time out to complete a review. I was delighted to read of your enjoyable stay with us at The Ice House. I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to Breda, Fiona, Rebecca and all the Staff. Regards Niall Kerins
Read more
Niamh P wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
+1
The room was nice and clean and the bed comfortable. Those were about the only positives. Unfortunately there was very loud noise from the building all day and after a long drive to Ballina we wanted to rest. We were hoping for a relaxing stay , hence why we booked a spa suite overlooking the river and it was the furthest thing from relaxing. So so disappointed with the hotel overall. The spa looked nice but we used the thermal area and the two jacuzzis did not even work. We were told they were waiting for the plumbers to come to get them working. The complimentary prosecco on arrival was a welcome gesture however given the price we paid for what we got, it was close to daylight robbery and it was not good enough. Didn’t have dinner there because genuinely wanted to get away from the hotel for a while and breakfast was very mediocre. It said on the website that 7th of July, the spa was open, we were there on the 14th and it clearly still resembled a building site. We should have been informed beforehand and in my opinion the spa is not ready to be open because it is not a relaxing environment . While we were in the hot tub, a builder was beside us fixing something. Our room was right adjacent to where the work was ongoing and it was an absolute nightmare to be honest. The noise was awful and we had to leave the room all day till builders were done because the noise was so bad. Very disappointed and would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ice House Team, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest It is disappointing to read that unfortunately we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. We would love the opportunity to discuss this issue further. You can contact me on chill@theicehouse.ie or call me on 096 23500. Warm Regards Niall Kerins
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$154 - US$308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ice hotel ballina, the ice hotel
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty MayoBallina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Ice House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Ice House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Belleek Castle Museum (0.8 km), Jackie Clarke Collection (1.7 km), and Rosserk Friary (4.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ice House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Ice House Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Ice House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ice House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ice House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dillons Bar & Restaurant, Belleek Castle Restaurant, and The Cot & Cobble.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ice House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Ice House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ice House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rosserk Friary (4.9 km) and Ballina Town Centre (1.7 km).
Does The Ice House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Ice House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.