We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great National Hotel Ballina

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great National Hotel Ballina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Start your review of Great National Hotel Ballina
 Click to rate
Ballina, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I have to say since my Mum passed away we have always tried to replicate mothers dinner on a Sunday. Well now we have found it. I came here 3 months ago on a friends advice and have been coming back ever since along with my brothers. The beef ,lamb, fish and chicken are just very well cooked. The meat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PNAW
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Dear PNAW, I am sorry to hear that your mother is no longer with you and we know that her meals can not be replaced but its lovely to hear that when you dine with us that it brings back lovely memories. I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and I...

Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just back from my second stay at this hotel. Meant to do the review the first time but forgot. Initially stayed on the recommendation of a friend and it definitely didn't disappoint. There was an issue with my booking on this occasion(not their system but another website) but it was handled efficiently and professionally and caused no hassle. I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubbles1984
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted to read that you had a "Great Stay" and that you have highlighted the extremely friendly team at the Great National Hotel Ballina and that you have pointed out Ania on the breakfast team for special praise. I have informed Ania of your comments and she is very happy that you had a enjoyable stay....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Exceeded our expectation in terms of hospitality. The food was great, with good size portions. We had dinner on one night, and because it came a bit late, the manager noticed this and came over to us and offered us drinks (note: we did not say a word about food coming late, the manager noticed that himself, and the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank condrea2017
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Dear Condrea, I am very happy to read that we have "exceeded your expectation" and that you had great relaxing stay. I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you back to the Great National Hotel in the near future. Kind regards Andrew Keane

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went for a visit with the kids for mid term. Can not fault this place. Great food. Great staff and great hotel. We were there for the week. My daughter got very sick and the staff were so helpful. Got us a number for a local doctor and everything. Could not do enough for us. Remembered us and asked how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carrieryan76
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Dear carrierryan, I would like to thank you for your very kind review and we are extremely pleased to see your caption of "Great Hotel. Worth a visit". We strive to make sure all our guest feel special and i hope that your daughter is feeling better. I will pass on your comments to William and he will be delighted...

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here recently prior to a wedding. Hotel room was spacious and very clean with a good selection of shower gels and soaps. Fresh towels and a warm, quiet room on the ground floor. Staff helpful. Ate in the bar and enjoyed my meal. Breakfast was good, porridge was made fresh especially for me and it was lovely. Receptionist was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janhen14
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Dear Janhen14, I am delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us recently and that you found every thing to your liking and especially your freshly made porridge. I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Great National Hotel Ballina...

Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here for one night and found the hotel and our room very spacious and bright. The bed was very comfortable. There was plenty of storage space and a good sized bathroom. Very clean and tidy hotel. The staff were friendly though very busy answering phones as well as speaking with guests at the counter. It is quite a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gusswisstrip
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very happy to read that you had a most comfortable stay and that you found the staff to be very friendly. I am grateful to you for taking the time out of your day to send in a review about your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Great National...

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a night away for our 20th Wedding anniversary. We were checked in by Kevin Doyle (I think that's his name) he was lovely. Our room was very nice and on the third floor. It was clean and lovely and warm. We had booked the Valentines package and had a rose and chocolates waiting for us in our room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrishDisneydude
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that Kevin took great care of you for your 20th Wedding Anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind regards, Andrew Keane General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

when we arrived we went straight to reception. there was a women think her name was mary, we said can we check in she said one second and went on the phone for about 15 mins while we were standing there. i then went down the next evening and asked could i get a cake for a birthday meal and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip K
andrewkeane2017, General Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Dear Philip K, I am very disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us due to the concern that you have outlined. I have sent you a message in try to talk to you about your experience and would be grateful if you can take the time to speak to me as we want...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a very good value 52euro B and B option for a business visit. I hadn't time to use the Leisure facilities but the breakfast was cooked to order and the full Irish was excessively generous and I couldn't finish it. The room was spacious and nicely decorated but the oldish TV had no working remote and when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyDublin_Ireland
Jane_OHora, Sales and Marketing Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Hi Tony, Thank you very much for your review. The 52 euro B&B rate is indeed great value - we have had a January Sale which is now extended until February 6th. We're delighted you liked the breakfast. Hopefully, next time you are here, you will have a chance to use our newly refurbished Leisure Centre. I will pass your...

Dunmore East, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel waqs originally known as the Ballina hotel but has changed its name with new ownership. It can be a bit awkward to find at first as access to the hotel is located by means of a road that runs by the back of the property even though you can see it from the main road. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DominicDeBurca
Jane_OHora, Sales and Marketing Manager at Great National Hotel Ballina, responded to this review

Hi Dominic, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We have new signs in place but will review it again to avoid any confusion on entry to the hotel. We're glad you liked our large bedrooms and that it was warm. The hotel has recently been bought so the hotel is being refurbished with the leisure centre and...

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
2.9 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
428 reviews
3.9 km away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
546 reviews
3.2 km away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ballina
1,228 reviews
5.3 km away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#2 of 9 in Ballina
471 reviews
13.8 km away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Great National Hotel Ballina

Address: N 59 Dublin Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Price Range: €47 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great National Hotel Ballina 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Great National Hotel Ballina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great National Hotel Ballina staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Tucson
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Great National Hotel Ballina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Everest is great for Indian food in the town.”
 of 5 bubbles seanconn695, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles monica227, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room is a good room, stayed as a couple & room very spacious & very comfortable!”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very close to Ballina Town Centre. Good selection of rooms. good dining service.”
 of 5 bubbles alma1dolan, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The view from most rooms overlook the garden areas.”
 of 5 bubbles martinT8985FJ, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5