Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Belleek Castle

Garrankeel Belleek Woods, Ballina F26 KV04 Ireland
Traveller (711)
Dining (118)
room no1
Room & Suite (64)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 9 hotels in Ballina
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Belleek Castle....... an iconic Irish Country House, restaurant (AA 2 Rosettes), hotel and spectacular wedding venue…Belleek is unpretentious, cosy and friendly, rich in decor and antiquities, with open log fires to warm your steps back through this cultural adventure.Enjoy a contemporary dinner, with generous portions, in our unique light panelled dining room. We have developed a new food philosophy. Our spirit is to search for more “Depth of Flavour”, exercising both classic and imaginative cooking techniques. We use seasonal ingredients and produce, selected from the land, sea and air of Mayo, and combine these with the traditions of the Castle.However, our signature dish is a Castle classic, the "Drunken Bullock", a filet steak flambéed at the table and served flaming from a sword, adding theatre to succulent steak. Hand made oak tables, eclectic romantic music, lit by candlelight, with charming attention and delicious food.“One of the most atmospheric and delightful dining experiences in Ireland”, Bill Gooch, Virginia Beach.Guests may enjoy a private viewing of the Castle museum by appointment. Belleek Castle hosts The Marshall Doran Collection, the finest collection of mediaeval armour and Jurassic fossils in Ireland. How many times have I heard? “Oh my God!” or “Oh Gosh!”Belleek Castle... Unique, intimate and magical.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Walking tours
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Room features
Fireplace
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Great View
Languages Spoken
French, Russian, Bulgarian, Croatian and 3 more
742Reviews10Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 527
  • 115
  • 55
  • 25
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sean O wrote a review Sept 2020
County Dublin, Ireland19 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my partner were doing a 2 week tour of Ireland and we decided to stop into Belleek Castle for 1 night as we were passing through Ballina. If you want to experience an old castle this is the spot! We have stayed in a few castles and manor houses on our trip but Belleek stood out by far as our favourite stay. The Castle is full of history and ancient artifacts from all over Ireland and the world. The staff we amazing and very much up for the craic and were well able to tell stories about the castle and the owner that restored it. The rooms were decorated in period style, it was like going back in time. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud! Dinner in Jack Fenn restaurant was right on the money and they had local beers and stouts from Crossmonlina. This was followed by a few drinks in the main room/bar of the castle, by the fire with the castle dog. The morning after we had breakfast which was again amazing! After which all the residents were invited for a tour of the castle and we were shown the collection of artifacts that the owner had collected over the years. Amazing place and i would highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AGirlhastoEat wrote a review Jul 2020
Dublin, Ireland122 contributions84 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night at Belleek Castle shortly after it reopened post Covid. Set in verdant woods (with a fairy trail), Belleek Castle provides a different experience to the usual type of hotel. For instance, each bedroom is uniquely decorated, with variously coloured wallpaper, and are a reasonable size. Some bedrooms have views of the woods, others overlook the courtyard. The beds were very comfortable. The water pressure of the showers wasn’t great or very hot although not a big deal.

We ate at Jack Fenn’s restaurant at Belleek - the steaks with pepper sauce were cooked to perfection and were accompanied by dauphinois potatoes as well as chips. Disappointingly, the only remaining dessert was a gluten free chocolate and strawberry cake, which we didn’t have. The selection of wines was a bit disappointing ie the reds were a Merlot, a Cabernet Sauvignon and a German Pinot Noir. It was nice to stroll through the grounds after dinner, for views of Ballina town, before returning and sampling the local whiskey and gin.
The breakfast was good (full Irish, french toast) as was the coffee.

Belleek is usually busy with weddings so this was an opportune time to stay, to enjoy the peace and quiet. It would be a good base for exploring the sights of North Mayo (eg the Ceide Fields, Downpatrick Head).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hanlor wrote a review Aug 2020
Drogheda, Ireland416 contributions224 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Belleek Castle is not your run over the mill 3/4 Star hotel in a provincial town. If that what you're looking for, there are other options in Ballina that might suit better. The hotel is quirky and unique in its decor. Yes , it might need a bit more investment in the rooms but that does not take away from the overall experience of staying at a unique property. All the public rooms are a feast for the eyes and not anything you would typically see in a hotel. The setting is lovely and the addition of the Courtyard Bistro means you might never need to leave the property. Found all the staff to be genuinely friendly and very professional. For quite some time, I've travelling for work stating in hotels for 100 nights per year. Belleek Castle is a breath of fresh air where so many hotels are formulaic, boring and safe. Hope Belleek Castle never changes. Staying at a hotel should be an experience and it provides one in a very unique way
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angus C wrote a review Jan 2020
28 contributions25 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We unfortunately had to attend a funeral on Saturday in Ballina on Saturday but unfortunately do to a family situation at home had to pull out. We booked on Thursday (Double room €190 B&B) but had to cancel on the Friday. The said they were taking a 10% deposit on the Thursday, OK with that but on the Friday I discovered they took the full amount!!!! When I rang up to cancel and explained the situation I asked could I get a credit for the money less the booking deposit so we could use the credit in the near future but they refused!!!!!!!! They do have a 72 hour cancelation policy which is clearly shown but I found them to be very inflexible in their approach, it was not like we were asking for a refund. They did say if they could sell the room then they would refund, but this did not happen. In the end our son and daughter went in our place. They could hear noises in the next room and late at night tables in the dinning room being moved around in the room below. They had an average experience, that was all. Based on their hard line and the fact the took all the money early without my permission I'd be very hard to recommend this Hotel and will not be staying there in future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask if it is a large room split in two as the walls were thin.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul D, Owner at Belleek Castle
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear FarAway62227, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review of your thoughts of the castle. I do apologise to hear that on this occasion you did not get a chance to stay with us. As I'm sure you understand that due to us being a small hotel we do have a cancellation policy of 72 hours which is highlighted in your booking confirmation. We had indeed offered for a refund to be processed but as you had allocated the room to your son and daughter we could not resell the room to offer this in the end. I am however sorry to hear that the initial experience made for an uncomfortable stay for your family. I would have hoped that they would have enjoyed their stay as despite the unfortunate circumstances. I do hope all is well with your family and hope you change your mind in the future by giving us another opportunity to experience all the Belleek Castle has to offer. Warm Regards, Shannen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aoife73 wrote a review Jul 2021
Galway, Ireland20 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second stay at Belleek Castle, with 5 years having passed since my last trip. I stayed with my young niece and nephews (5, 7, 9) and couldn’t have asked for more attentive staff. We were warmly welcomed, with the children spoken to at all times, sharing the magic of what really is the last remaining hotel castle in Ireland that isn’t bling-bling. Even the caretaker took time to chat with the children and tell them of the history of the castle. Charming staff, great food menu, and grounds that are well cared for. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernie S wrote a review May 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom674 contributions276 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this three night B and B but had also booked two dinners. The hotel is a castle built in the medieval style although more modern and is surrounded by woods through which you can walk. Rooms are very comfortable and there is a lounge with soft seats which is a bar from 4 pm. There is also an armoury museum which we didn’t visit but which has a very extensive collection. Our room overlooked the courtyard and restaurant but some look out on the woods. Breakfast is in the Jack Fenn restaurant which is in the adjacent courtyard. It is also where you can have dinner. The food for breakfast was lovely with a range of foods to order. I would have rated as a five but the service for breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. Despite there being only a few people there it is really slow and quite sloppy. You have to ask for a lot of minor things like spoons, plates, more milk, jam. It would be helpful if the staff imagined eating there and thought about what they would need. The staff seem to also be doing other things and keep running off (including the chef). The restaurant/breakfast room could do with some management. However the food was delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not have breakfast here if you don’t have an hour and a half to spare.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SaoirseFin wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A truly amazing place to have your wedding, everything from the venue, to the food to every single member of staff.
Having got married in Belleek in May earlier this year we choose to have both our ceremony in the stable to the rear of the castle followed by our reception in the castle. Our guests are still raving about the food which was cooked and presented to absolute perfection. While the venue speaks for itself every single corner is decorated to true castle standards.
The staff on the day from the grounds keepers to the wait staff they all could not have been any more helpful, polite and friendly.
Eva and Louise in particular who were the managers/wedding coordinators made everything run so smoothly and were beyond attentive and helpful with the lead up to the wedding, while on the day of the wedding itself they we’re absolute rockstars! They were behind everything running so smoothly and made sure every need was catered for before you even thought of it yourself!
We stayed in the castle along with our immediate family the night of the wedding and the rooms are spectacular - spacious, comfortable and each has there own unique design.
Belleek Castle thank you and we can not wait to come back and visit!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Niamh K wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom4 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my partner spent a night in Belleek whilst scouting wedding venues. From the moment we walked in we felt the friendly, down to earth ambience. Fires roaring and a sweet family dog resting in the entrance, and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The cellar has a fascinating array of fossils and armour. The food in the restaurant is of very high quality and was full, despite it being a cold evening in January.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul D, Owner at Belleek Castle
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Niamh K, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review of your stay with us at Belleek Castle. It is a pleasure to hear that the castle was somewhere you loved so much during your hunt for a suitable wedding venue! Considering such a wonderful response I do hope we have the chance to work with you in creating that special day for you both and your families to celebrate. If you have any further questions or if there is anything we can do to help you come to a definite decision we would be delighted to help. We look forward to hearing from you again. Warm Regards, Shannen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gerrirish wrote a review Feb 2020
Dublin, Ireland213 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to go to a castle, a change from the usual spa/hotel break. It's a small castle surrounded by woodland. Only problem we had was getting in the main door, as it was locked and got soaked thru twice The door was probably locked due to the bad storm.
The staff were all very friendly courteous and helpful! Our room 7 was beautifully decorated and spotless clean.
We had lunch in John Fenns cafe, food was amazing and again so were the staff. (Eggs Benedict and soup, followed by apple pie and Belgian waffles).
We dropped in the bar like an ole ship interior, and a drawing room with large fire place, with comfy sofas and velvet chairs. The castles dog was a frequent visitor to get a heat in front of the fire. The bartender was chatty and had lots of info on the local area, and made us feel at home.
We had the early bird in the castles restaurant and again food and service was fantastic, nice menu and delicious slow cooked beef, sorry we didnt try the drunken bull signature dish, which looked amazing. Flaming Whiskey poured over steak on a sword. We enjoyed the beetroot salmon and pork and black pudding starters, and pavlova with red berries fruit(sharp great contrast with the sweetness) and the banana toffee pudding was to die for(best toffee pudding I ever had !!!)
Overall a relaxing break away in an old castle full of quirky character.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul D, Owner at Belleek Castle
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Gerrirish, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review of your stay with us at Belleek Castle. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I know you arrived to Belleek during such a terrible storm but I bet warming up at the open fires while listening to the rain belting against the windows was delightful. Im afraid due to the amount of stormy days this winter the large wooden door had swelled making it more difficult to open, a lot of guests figured it was locked but it just needed a good push. I do apologise to hear you were caught out in the terrible weather though. Thank you for your review also regarding our restaurant also, It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your evening dining to top your experience off. I do hope you have the chance to return to the castle in the future. Warm Regards, Shannen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SkyKing50 wrote a review Oct 2021
ACTON, Ontario61 contributions94 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The castle is located deep in a forest and when you drive up to the finished grounds it is spectacular. The overall feel of the castle is incredible, all the old original hardware and accessories have been very well maintained. This is definitely a place to stay for a special occasion. The full Irish Breakfast and made to order specialty coffees at Jack Fenn's was a very nice touch. Given it's a castle the wifi is poor however, there is a great lounge bar and other public seating areas where you can access the wifi and truly enjoy the castle atmosphere. The four poster bed in room # 4 looked great but was really uncomfortable. The owner/manager personally reached out to all the guess during their stay this was a nice touch. I would definitely recommend Belleek Castle for an overnight special occasion stay or event.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Paul D
Ballina, Ireland2 contributions
Hi there! You can book in for the tour of Belleek Castle and the Marshall by ringing +353 (0) 96200 or you can email info@belleekcastle.eu. Tours are available daily from 11am till 4pm. Scheduled tours run at 11am, 2pm and 4pm. Kind regards, Stephen
Answer from mary-b-clare
Ennis, Ireland184 contributions97 helpful votes
No lift. Stairs only. Frankly I'd give it a miss.. Found it very over priced and uncomfortable for a night's rest. That's thumbs down!!
Answer from Paul D
Ballina, Ireland2 contributions
Dear IFIreland, Apologies for the delay in getting back to you. Im sorry that you feel this way. As stated on the voucher there are black out dates and limited availability on Fridays. Our room upgrades are €30 for superior and €40 for deluxe per night, when we do not have a standard available which is what we offer on our escapes package. Although we do have a lot of availability for a standard room on multiple dates. I really do hope that you had gotten in contact with someone in reception and booked a date that suits you. If not please contact us on +3539622400 and we would be delighted to look after you. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Shannen
Answer from Paul D
Ballina, Ireland2 contributions
Dear Guest, There is a train and bus that runs from Dublin to Ballina directly. From the stations we can then organise a taxi to collect you. Apologises for the delay in responding I do hope you found your way and were able to enjoy Mayo. Warm regards Donna
CIARAN L wrote a tip Mar 2024
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you like cigarette it's is advisable to bring a spare pack"
Read full review
Sandra wrote a tip Feb 2024
Kildare, Ireland2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you book the castle tour . Food both dinner and breakfast top class with all locally sourced ingredients"
Read full review
Richard B wrote a tip Oct 2023
Toronto, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place. Looks pretty but has no bones "
Read full review
Explorer535984 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Woodbury, Minnesota13 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking, feels entirely away from the rest of the world but is still close to town."
Read full review
John H wrote a tip Oct 2023
Sligo, Ireland2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you take the Tour"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ballina area.
PRICE RANGE
€213 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
belleek castle hotel ballina
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty MayoBallina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BELLEEK CASTLE - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Ballina, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Belleek Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Belleek Castle?
Nearby attractions include Belleek Castle Museum (1.3 km), Jackie Clarke Collection (2.2 km), and Rosserk Friary (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Belleek Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Belleek Castle?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a fireplace, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Belleek Castle?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Belleek Castle?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Belleek Castle?
Conveniently located restaurants include Poacher Restaurant, Dillons Bar & Restaurant, and The Cot & Cobble.
Does Belleek Castle offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Belleek Castle?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including French, German, Italian, Russian, Polish, Croatian, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Belleek Castle?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rosserk Friary (4.2 km) and Ballina Town Centre (2.1 km).
All Ballina HotelsBallina Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BallinaHotels near Belleek Castle
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire