We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Twin Trees Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Twin Trees Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Twin Trees Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 513: English reviews
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Stayed 2 weeks ago. a great hotel in the suburbs of Ballina. Can walk into town. Has been refurbished recently and in good condition. Rooms clean and fresh. Food excellent served by friendly waiters. Reception good at advising where to visit

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nomad2275
Helen-Res, Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards Helen

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Stayed here as family of 7 [4 adults 3 kids) Great hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. great food and drink and value for money. Rooms very clean and spacious. Kids really enjoyed pool and games room. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LKimberlin
Helen-Res, Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to read you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. As a family owned & run hotel we strive to ensure all of our guests have a wonderful relaxing stay with us We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind regards Helen

Navan, Ireland
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Stayed here for a night in September and found the hotel lovely , convenient to town , beautiful grounds but the thing that makes the stay so good is the staff, nothing was too much trouble for them to make you feel comfortable. The only thing I will say is that the guy in the bar at night was slightly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeSCavan_ireland
Helen-Res, Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is with pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received a warm west of Ireland welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards. Helen.

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Have stayed in the hotel when it was called the Downhill House. The restaurant and hotel are still managed very well. Food and drink is great. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Great old feel with current comfort.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Darrin H
Helen-Res, Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darrin, Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to red we met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Helen.

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in hotel for my dad's 70th Birthday. The reception staff and waiters were very helpful and nice. The only downfall to our evening was meeting Mr. Davey the owner who has absolutely no manners, personality or obliviosly children. He's running a hotel and he's definitely only there to make money and not help or approach people in a...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Edel C
Helen-Res, Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Edel, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your father's 70th Birthday. I am delighted to read our staff looked after you and your party and made you all welcome. We sincerely hope we can welcome you all back in the near future. Kind regards Helen

Cork
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Although I was a late arrival, I got a call on-route from the receptionist (Christine) to assure me that my room was ready and waiting for me and she offered to have sandwiches made for me before the kitchen closed. I was delighted as I had, had a very long day travelling. The night manager (Vince) couldn't do enough for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimmaher1
Helen-Res, Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am delighted to read we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kindest regards Helen

Reviewed 7 September 2016

lovely spotless large single room. with bath. staff were exceptionally friendly. lovely pool etc. great value for money... lovely site near town. ..building up to two hundred characters fifteen more left

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank david b
Helen-Res, Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards Helen

Overton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Basically a decent hotel but struggling. Midweek stay on Tesco vouchers so place empty - still we were given a disabled room? Why? All things at the wrong height in the bathroom. Shower mouldy - my wife wouldn't use it. Breakfast not a buffet. Whole place felt dim, light bulbs missing in public spaces. Leisure centre in same run down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidD4204
Helen-Res, Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your feedback on you recent stay. I was disappointed to read your bedroom did not meet your expectations, we were at a 93% occupancy on the night you stayed so the hotel was almost fully booked, however i would have moved you to a different room if i was made aware you were dissatisfied. We...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We stayed (20 of us) in Twin Trees for 3 nights whilst golfing. David and Rachael planned every detail for us down to a tee including booking the golf and arranging the weather. The highlight was the dinner in the private dinning room on Saturday evening. Food was great and the service from our patient servers Tata and Ricky was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran O
Helen-Res, Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ciaran Thank you for submitting your recent review. I am thrilled to read you and your golfing party enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Rachael has the most fantastic packages that include golf, horse riding, hunting, fishing, walking and of course relaxing. David does pour the best Guinness in the West, its to be tasted to be...

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

From the moment I phoned to the moment I checked out the staff could not have been nicer. One of our crew arrived just as the kitchen was closing and they rushed us a bit but the steak made up for it. Rooms clean and bathrooms clean. Couldn't ask for more. Well done folks keep up the good service but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David D
Helen-Res, Manager at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. It is with pleasure to read you received a warm Irish welcome, as a family owned & run hotel we like to go that extra mile to ensure all of our guests have the relaxing break they deserve. We look forward to welcoming you back...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
3.9 km away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.3 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
418 reviews
1.1 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ballina
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#1 of 9 in Ballina
451 reviews
6.5 km away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#2 of 9 in Ballina
970 reviews
0.3 km away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#9 of 9 in Ballina
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in tranquil gardens near the banks of the River Moy in Ballina, Co. Mayo the Twin Trees Hotel (formallyDownhill House Hotel) is a family owned and managed hotel. The Moylett Family have been welcoming guests since 1936 and are proud of the excellent reputation the hotel has achieved over the years. Hospitality is a Mayo tradition and nowhere is the family tradition more honoured than at the newly renovated Twin Trees Hotel & Leisure Club (formally The Downhill House Hotel). With 55 comfortable bedrooms set in idyllic gardens within a 10 minute walk into Ballina town. Facilities include leisure Centre with indoor pool, Frogs Piano Bar, and excellent homemade locally sourced produce. Situated close to 3 golf links, Knock Shrine, 45 minute drive to Knock Airport. A long tradition of Irish Warmth & Hospitality awaits you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Twin Trees Hotel

Address: Downhill Road, Ballina, Ireland (Formerly Downhill House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Price Range: €66 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Trees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Twin Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ballina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Twin Trees Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Pennsylvania
26 days ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Twin Trees Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms close to stairs and reception. quiet hotel”
 of 5 bubbles nomad2275, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the 2nd or 3rd floor of the new wing”
 of 5 bubbles jimmaher1, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the new wing are best.”
 of 5 bubbles ciarano675, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“due to the location of the hotel it was very peaceful at night”
 of 5 bubbles CantyC, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room away from the carpark if given a choice.”
 of 5 bubbles angelicish, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay