Talbot Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Talbot Hotel

A taste of The Talbot
Traveller (161)
Breafast, delicious!
Dining (24)
Deluxe Double
Room & Suite (24)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 24 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
€129
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 3 hotels in Belmullet
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
The Talbot Hotel Belmullet's first four star hotel. The Talbot Belmullet County Mayo is a family run hotel offering luxury boutique accommodation in the centre of Belmullet town. Each of the chic, quirky 31 guestrooms has its own special charm...including an iPod dock, complimentary Wi-Fi. Butler tray, and oh joy, an espresso machine as well as a mini bar stocked with tempting treats, oversized fluffy bath robes and towels, slippers and spa toiletries.At The Talbot, all suites have double deluge rain showers, and their own fireplaces, just enough to leave you feeling tickled pink! You can plan your trip around Belmullet taking in all sorts of places of interest and activities - from heritage and culture to food and drink, to folklore and music! Belmullet is the capital of the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) region of Erris, an area that offers unspoilt beauty and glorious beaches and is the ideal place for that get away from it all holiday.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range

Location

Barrack St, Belmullet Ireland
543Reviews1Q+A88Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 437
  • 77
  • 22
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Pat W wrote a review Oct 2020
Dublin, Ireland106 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Similar to another reviewer below, I travel a lot with my job and stay in various hotels all over the country.
All of them are "good" but this place is exceptional, it's the best hotel I've stayed in outside of The Shelbourne in Dublin.
This hotel is so well run it begs the question why many other hotels can't provide the same level of service and comfort?

The check-in was quick and friendly, all covid precautions in place.
The room I was given was lovely, nice hardwood floor, a lovely hot and powerful shower and a really comfortable bed with (I think) feather pillows!

I had a very nice evening meal in the bar/restaurant, the service was friendly and attentive without being overbearing, spot on!
I noticed the staff were really on top of things regarding covid precautions.
All were wearing masks and every table was cleaned and sanitised as soon as people had finished eating.
Not all restaurants have the same attention to detail, but this one does.

I had a very good night's sleep, the room was quiet, air conditioned and the bed and pillows really comfortable.

The large breakfast was fantastic, containing all tasty quality ingredients served on a piping hot plate which set me up for the day.

Well done to the breakfast waitress too who was looking after five occupied tables on her own and did it all in a friendly and efficient manner.

The owners have obviously put a lot of thought into creating a pleasant and relaxing environment for anyone staying in this hotel.
Together with their friendly and attentive staff they have succeded.

I hadn't stayed in this hotel before but any future trips I have in the area will definitely include another stay in the Talbot.
Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Talbot Hotel, Owner at Talbot Hotel
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Thank you Pat for your lovely review, Your timing is great as we are all feeling a little low having to shut down after working so hard these past few months. Well done to all our staff you’ve been great in difficult circumstances and make it all worth while. Thank you for spreading the good word and hopefully you will get a chance to return soon to a reopened hotel, until then stay safe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edselflower wrote a review Jun 2021
North Chicago, Illinois46 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All the Talbot Hotel staff are fantastic and super friendly interesting people. Special shout out to “Sarah” for her pleasant chat at breakfast and the attention to detail. The bacon at breakfast was lovely and crispy and thanks for the second pot of tea!

The hotel is situated in the heart of Belmullet. On street parking is available at no additional cost and if there are no free spaces there is an over flow car park available just a short hop at the docks.
We were received and checked in very efficiently by Sharon who was extremely helpful and gave us an outline of the hotel’s covid protocols.

The room was very well presented. Access is via sanitised key card. The tv remote sanitised and presented in a sanitised plastic bag. Soaps and shampoo individually wrapped. The coffee machine had pods with milk located in a chilled cabinet. Very impressed with the comfort of the bed and very soft clean bed linen.

Bar food was very welcome and was nicely presented. The sea food pie tasty and came with a decent tossed mixed salad. Desserts to die for!

Breakfast in the Barony dining room/restaurant is just the business. The pancakes freshly made and a sight to behold. The Belmullet boxty and poached eggs were proper poached eggs with no taste of vinegar. Whoa!

Wifi was abundant and worked.

Some minor items that perhaps need to be addressed
1. There was an ugly stain on the bath. Aesthetically, the stains looked awful and ideally would suggest they are attended to.
2. The shower taps are not marked hot/ cold… at least this party could not find any logos for hot /cold.. otherwise a great shower
3. The shower mat was torn. Again from an aesthetics perspective suggest replacing it.
4. The Tv is set to default to subtitles (annoying for this party) and the remote will not switch off subtitles
5. Any chance of having Sky news? This party failed to tune tv?!
6. The Philips sound box only has an iphone 5 connection…. Is there an adaptor available for iphone 12 newer iphones/ android phones
7. Any chance of connecting to Netflix ? Bluetooth?
Movies?

We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Talbot Hotel, Owner at Talbot Hotel
Responded 14 Jun 2021
Thank you for your great review and I’m delighted to say that the staff are working on your list ….can’t promise everything some like the TVs are changing to smart TVs with the additional new rooms later this year. We always have adaptors at reception and an enamel repair kit is on the way so Sharon tells me. We have a great team that we are very fond of and praising them is like praising our children… moments of glowing with pride with all the good they do and fit to kill them when we get it wrong! But we couldn’t do it without them . Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin_K wrote a review Mar 2020
Accrington, United Kingdom2,679 contributions675 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located right on the main road in the centre of town. What caught me slightly off guard was the fact that it doesn’t have any parking and guests are expected to park on the main road, which means you may be some distance from the hotel. I wish this had been made clear on the website.

That all said there is a nice feel to the hotel and room 11 had a very baroque style as you’ll see in the photo. The bathroom was quite large with a separate bathtub and shower cubicle. The only drawback was that the hot water was limited and there wasn’t always enough to enjoy a soak in the tub. I raised this with the front desk and there was some improvement. The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable.

The food at breakfast was very good though the reception desk was unmanned for 10 minutes on my arrival. The food, however, was absolutely excellent, with the hot plates cooked to order, with only the finest ingredients used. The cold buffet was equally impressive, with a wide selection and some home made items. The dining room was the same baroque style as the bedroom and was very atmospheric This was one of the best breakfasts I’ve enjoyed for some time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Talbot Hotel, Owner at Talbot Hotel
Responded 1 Jun 2020
Thank you for your review, I’m delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and the room, each room is different, so I hope you get a chance to return and experience another. I’m sorry the receptionist was absent when you arrived, if they are showing someone to their room or gone for a break they have a call button for the desk and the bar staff respond, it sounds like the receptionist forgot. We hope you get a chance to return soon and remember ask for a different room and hopefully you can work your way through all our rooms.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joan K wrote a review Jul 2020
County Dublin, Ireland4 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a two night visit to the hotel. We were not impressed overall as we had a few issues. For example, we didn’t feel the hotel enforced the social distancing guidelines. For example, in the bar there could have been a one way system enforced. However, everyone was using the same entrance in and out. Also, in the restaurant the menus were wiped down and then given to you. It would have been better to be handed a paper menu that could be recycled after one time use. As opposed to handing out wet menus. We also were told that our room would be cleaned everyday and towels would be replaced daily due to Covid and neither of these were done. The young staff in the bar were very friendly, but overall we felt the hotel was poor value for what we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Talbot Hotel, Owner at Talbot Hotel
Responded 13 Jul 2020
Thank you Joan for your review, I’m sorry you were disappointed, we are always willing to learn and will take your comments on board. Under covid guidelines guests must be given the choice of whether they want their rooms serviced or prefer to be left alone, I think reception must have got there wires crossed and I apologise that your room was not serviced it should have been as you requested.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niall T wrote a review Sept 2020
18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I work all over the country and stay in various hotels throughout I have to say this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The decor here is top class the beds are like sleeping on clouds the food is exceptional and the hospitality holds no bounds.
Ive eaten at the restaurant in the hotel a couple of times this is award winning food always consist. 10/10.
I'll be staying here any chance I get to visit the beautiful bellmullett and it's lovely people.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Talbot Hotel, Owner at Talbot Hotel
Responded 20 Sept 2020
Thank you for your fantastic review, We are all delighted you enjoyed it so much, when building we put a lot of thought in where to spend our limited budget the beds were one item that we knew we needed to get right and were so happy we did. The kitchen staff will so happy with your marks for the food. Thank you for cheering us all up.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire27 wrote a review Jul 2021
Ireland197 contributions200 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I used to stay here regularly when travelling for work purposes and then the pandemic hit. I recently returned. It was so lovely to be back. Its not nice staying away from home for work and one never really sleeps properly but this is not the case in the Talbot. The bedrooms are exquisite with the most comfortable pillows in the world and crisp clean cotton sheets. Each room has a large bath and power shower. Each room also has a fridge and drinking water is provided. The staff are great and make you feel welcome. I always look forward to my breakfast of high quality smoked salmon and perfectly poached eggs. I can highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Talbot Hotel, Owner at Talbot Hotel
Responded 18 Jul 2021
Thank you Claire for your wonderful review, Having stayed in a fair few hotels these were things we wanted to get right… a great bed… good shower … good food … but most importantly a great staff, because without them all working together it wouldn’t work. So we’ll done guys and thank you Claire for spreading the good word, we appreciate it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niamh W wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Chose The Talbot for its location by the sea. We wanted to swim daily. The breakfasts are excellent. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Lots of signage and sanitisers and health awareness. All the staff were wearing masks and tables were spaced out, though at breakfast some of the tables were a bit too close. Had difficulty regulating the heat in the bedroom which made it hard to sleep well. Staff promptly dealt with it. We all said we would like to return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Talbot Hotel, Owner at Talbot Hotel
Responded 25 Jul 2020
Thank you for your lovely review, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. There are some great areas to swim locally and depending on the weather you can go to the wild back shore or the sheltered side. I’m sure you have lots of areas to still discover so we would be delighted to see you return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geraldine wrote a review Jul 2020
Dublin, Ireland4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
So. Went for a meal. Yes hand sanitiser on entry.. No face masks or visors worn by staff. Had to request table be wiped down after starter... Waitress wiped table with dry napkin.
Food was nice, staff were friendly, but nobody seemed aware of current necessary precautions. Disappointing considering it is the beginning of opening up from lockdown. Would have expected better awareness on a day when the R rate is rising and figures are higher than the past weeks.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Talbot Hotel, Owner at Talbot Hotel
Responded 13 Jul 2020
Thank you for your comments, As a team we discussed the options and guidelines during covid training, everyone was offered the choice to wear masks and issued with masks. At the time the consensus was that at current levels the team felt secure with the measures we were operating. Namely we have a 1 way system in place, daily temperature monitoring of staff as they start there shift ( a measure we started before lockdown), hand sanitisation before the go to there departments and regular hand washing with antibacterial soap through out the day. But as a team we are aware and have discussed that this is likely to change in the future and we have already collectively decided masks are the way we will go. I would love if the government made them mandatory for everyone, then we would all be equal, but it is hard to have our guests come in without them and say the staff should wear them for a long day but not you. I understand our approach is not for everyone and we all have free choice. As a biology and home economics teacher I spent 4 years in college studying microbiology, that is why we sanitise every item that goes to your table including sauces, salt, pepper and menus... you will notice staff doing this at the various sanitisation stations in full view of customers. All delph , cutlery and glasses are sanitised in the dishwashers. The tables are sanitised between guests but we do not as a practice samarium between every course the guest has. Contact tracing is in practice, details are recorded and daily cleaning records are kept. Lots more happens behind the scenes and we monitor cases daily. Decisions we made 2 weeks ago will be different to choices we make as things change... but we will do it together as a team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oug64 wrote a review Aug 2021
Galway, Ireland117 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived for our booking, Covid certs checked which I was very happy with. Shown to our table in the back section of the hotel, it was packed with people and the tables were very close together. Our order was taken promptly but it took between 35 to 40 minutes to get our food, I was fit to eat the leg off the table. Food was hot and tasty when we got it. I just wish the staff told us there was a delay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Talbot Hotel, Owner at Talbot Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2021
Thank you for your review, I’m sorry you were waiting for food, but glad it tasted good when it arrived. Dishes are cooked to order and we do mention this on our menu… “food is cooked fresh to order and may take 20-30 minutes and more at peak time”…. this is Belmullet busiest week of the year and it’s been a busy stressful season on all our team ideally they would have warned you …we often do, but other times things are hopping along and a big table, or too many arriving together slows things up even though we try to space out our bookings not all people are ruled by the clock. I’m sorry and happy it got out before you chewed off the table leg, hopefully we see you back at a quieter time of the year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nigel Slone wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a four day golf trip to County Sligo and County Mayo. The Talbot was our launching pad to Carne Golf Club (breathtaking & magical) and Enniscrone Golf Club (wonderful). A truly exceptional experience.

Staff were tremendously helpful and friendly. To illustrate; we requested an early breakfast on our last day in order that we could meet our packed itinerary. The hotel obliged with staff coming in at 7am (30 mins earlier) in order to serve our needs.

Throughout our two day stay everyone concerned with the hotel worked tirelessly to make the experience a memorable one.

The hotel and its team are a credit to both the hotel industry and the whole island of Ireland.

We shall return.

Thank you.

Nigel
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Just ask. I did and they delivered!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Talbot Hotel, Owner at Talbot Hotel
Responded 1 Jul 2022
Thank you Nigel for your lovely review, I’m delighted to hear the team went above and beyond to help you out and that you enjoyed your stay and of course the fabulous Carne Golf Links …. My husband is pretty fond of there too! We appreciate you spreading the good word and hopefully we will see you all again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
meadoran21 asked a question Dec 2016
Essex, United Kingdom
Is breakfast included in the price
Belmullet, Ireland70 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes! Breakfast is included in the price.
Seamus R wrote a tip 9 May
Dublin, Ireland4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Located in the town of Belmullet and near some lively pubs"
Read full review
Samuel M wrote a tip Apr 2024
Hondon de los Frailes, Spain13 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just come and enjoy a pleasant stay in a great hotel in a fantastic location, "
Read full review
PeterM1410 wrote a tip Apr 2024
6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely the place to stay when visiting Belmullet! "
Read full review
Wing N wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The suites are fabulous, well worth trying them out."
Read full review
Rob 1978 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Letterkenny, Ireland242 contributions168 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You should get parked outside for free if lucky!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Belmullet area.
PRICE RANGE
€117 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty MayoBelmullet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TALBOT HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Belmullet, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Talbot Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Talbot Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Erris Head Loop Walk (0.4 km), McDonnells Bar (0.04 km), and Lunasa Crafts (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Talbot Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Talbot Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Talbot Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Talbot Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Talbot Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Talbots Seafood Bar, The Anchor Restaurant at the Talbot Hotel, and An Builin Blasta Belmullet.
Are any cleaning services offered at Talbot Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Talbot Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ballina Ardnaree Friary (0.4 km).
Is Talbot Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Belmullet HotelsBelmullet Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BelmulletHotels near Talbot Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire