We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driftwood

Save
Share
Killowen, Kenmare V93 K8N6 Ireland
Booking.com
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#18 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The contemporary 4 star rated property is ideally situated on the edge of Kenmare and a short walk into the town. All 3 bedrooms are presented to a very high standard and all en-suite. A fine eye for detail by the owners and complimentary tea/coffee, shower and shampoo and free WI-FI ensure a very comfortable stay for guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Horseback riding
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Romantic
200Reviews1Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 172
  • 19
  • 5
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
lizm606 wrote a review Sep 2020
Dublin, Ireland22 contributions2 helpful votes
Cleanest place you will ever stay. Stayed last weekend with my daughter. The people who ran this fabulous BB / apartments are more than helpful. There is everything you need in it to make it a comfortable stay. Bed was so comfy. Garden and little seating area outside the entrance is lovely. Great value for money considering what other places charge. Could not fault it at all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
iseult f wrote a review Aug 2020
9 contributions5 helpful votes
Great adherence to covid 19 regulations ie spotlessly clean, minimal contact with host, accommodation in a studio out the back of main house, contintental breakfast which you collect in an adjacent room to your studio in the morning...Studio is very clean and bed is comfortable but decor was disappointing ...magnolia on walls and floors ..very minimalist and not in an attractive way, layout and design is strange..huge bland utility area with washing machine, huge but drab bathroom, bed and kitchen are part of the same space, tv tiny, also only one armchair. For some this place will tick every box but for us it is completely devoid of character and the bathroom feels like it should be in a a hospital (large but very badly designed and tiling and finishing touches are not good). Breakfast basic contintental (without any patries) and coffee is a nescafe satchet. Property may have a view from upstairs (as shown on website) but where we were staying we were looking out on an enclosed small garden (perfectly tended as it was) but felt almost claustrophobic. Good enough value for Kenmare no doubt and would suit many for whom cleanliness and quality of shower and bed is priority but for us breakfast and facilities and overall warmth and feeling of being welcome are equally important.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Driftwood
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us during the COVID 19 situation. The breakfast situation as you described was a breakfast INDIVIDUAL continental offering which was fully described on your booking and delivered in an extremely safe manner. Your welcome was very important to us, however social distancing for you and believe it or not OUR safety was paramount and your upgrade to an individual private studio helped this to occur. please remember we are in a new world at the moment. Peter
Read more
Christine Armstrong wrote a review Jun 2020
Bellshill, United Kingdom20 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed at Driftwood when we last came to Ireland and knew we couldn't go wrong staying here again as we loved it there. With the covid changes, we could only book a self-contained studio apartment. It was bright, airy and very comfortable for us. The apartment opened out onto the private gardens which was a lovely place to sit and relax. Peter and Minigon were just lovely hosts. They also made us a great continental breakfast in the mornings which we appreciated. Thank you very much for a fabulous stay and we'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
RSsydney wrote a review Oct 2019
Sydney, Australia989 contributions183 helpful votes
+1
We selected this modern B&B as it is perfectly located as a starting point for a clockwise driving tour of the Ring of Kerry. Our room was comfortable and the we couldn't have asked for a better breakfast before an early start. The B&B is located a short distance from the main town and you could walk to the restaurants if it was not raining, which it was that evening.. Parking is on the grounds of the property. Our hosts Peter and Mignonne were very helpful and gracious. We booked directly with the property and found it very good value, highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
p o wrote a review Aug 2019
East Los Angeles, California64 contributions15 helpful votes
Mignonne was great. She was beyond helpful in assisting us with our drive up the West Atlantic Way. She gave great tips and always spent ample time with us every morning. Her husband Peter was also very nice. Her house is very clean and our room was a good size. Every morning we would be greeted by our host's warmth and friendliness. I would definitely recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Katia D wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
I'm sure this is a lovely property if you do manage to stay there; sadly, their policy of not checking in after 8pm and inflexibility in accommodating your circumstances mean that you need to be very careful with arrival time. When we got stuck in severe fog & rain (not unusual in Ireland) and did not want to drive in such weather conditions, the owners were unwilling to let us in later and we had to find another b&b literally in the middle of nowhere. The worst thing was when the owner hang up on us with words 'Bye, now'. Not the Irish hospitality that we witnessed everywhere else in this lovely country.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from ackerKentUk, Owner at Driftwood
Responded 18 Aug 2019
Thank you for taking the time to give your account of your scheduled visit to Kenmare. Unfortunately as this Bed and Breakfast is a family home we have to give check in/out times, these are made clear to you when you book. Unfortunately after being asked to contact us because of your no show with no contact, you finally telephoned us to tell us that you maybe a couple of hours, however when asked you did not know exactly where you were Dingle or maybe Tralee. No exact arrival time, no exact location and no further information, that was the last we heard of you ! finally at 23.10 you telephoned Booking.Com and cancelled the booking, never mind we just went to bed. As all business would do because of our cancellation policy and in fact of an empty bedroom at midday the following day with still no communication we charged.
Read more
postiljon wrote a review Jul 2019
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium207 contributions48 helpful votes
We've spent several nights in Driftwood. Again and again we are surprised by the beautiful rooms, the delicious breakfast and the sweet hosts. It feels like coming home every time. We wish Peter and Mignonne all the best with their future plans. Dirk & Kristien, Flor & Anny
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Fani P wrote a review Sep 2018
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Me and my brother stayed at Driftwood Bed and Breakfast for two nights during our 10 day roadtrip around the West of Ireland! It is a truly amazing bed and breakfast! Mignonne and Peter were so helpful and friendly! They gave us a lot of useful information on how to make the most out of our stay in Kenmare and they were very warm and chatty! The breakfast was tasty and the room was sparkling clean! We highly recommend Driftwood bed and breakfast, if you re looking for a nice, clean, quite and very warm place to stay! The hosts definitely made us feel like home and we will go back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
venessa s wrote a review Jul 2018
24 contributions6 helpful votes
Absolutely amazing house with amazing hosts (owners). From the moment we arrived the owners were very helpful and accommodating. Great location with a nice walk to City center. The rooms were very clean and nice. Great breakfast made in the breakfast room. Hosts were very helpful in giving recommendations. Would definitely stay again. And would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
hverleys wrote a review May 2018
Ghent, Belgium18 contributions12 helpful votes
We have visited Driftwood as a part of our journey along the Wild Atlantic Way. Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly - the breakfast was excellent. The room was very comfortable, and very clean as well. Not to forget that the host gave as excellent recommendations for things to see and do on the peninsula. We can only recommend a stay in this B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty KerryKenmare
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Driftwood
Which popular attractions are close to Driftwood?
Nearby attractions include Old Kenmare Road (1.0 km), Crowley's Bar (1.1 km), and Norman McCloskey Photography (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Driftwood?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Driftwood?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Driftwood?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Driftwood?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Driftwood?
Conveniently located restaurants include No 35, Mulcahy's Bar and Restaurant, and Lily House Thai & Chinese Cuisine.
Are there any historical sites close to Driftwood?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stone Circle (1.4 km), Cromwell's Bridge (1.1 km), and Our Lady's Well (1.1 km).