We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Reef Gateway Hotel

PricelineUS$78*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$82*
US$78*
Great Deal
US$82*
US$82*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Reef Gateway Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Start your review of Reef Gateway Hotel
 Click to rate
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here in February just for the one night and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are large and spacious and there was free wifi in the room, The staff were really friendly and the restaurant does an amazing steak :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 649princess
Sebastopol
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you so so much for the caring owners, cook and other staff who took us in and looked after us after we had to evacuate our first accommodation. The hospitality you gave was over and beyond. We were always feed and got power as soon as you could. We have 2 children under 5 and I think if it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

We went with a group of 22 to celebrate a 50th birthday. The meals were fantastic and more importantly all came out together with the steaks done perfectly to order. Great effort from all the Bistro staff to achieve that with a big group.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne B
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Leanne for such a great review. Will pass on to the staff.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We went there on 25th December, we got charged one more time even we had paid with travel agent. Receptionist said incase we are not turning up. That's why we pay upfront before we came. What if people were using that amount of money for their spending for this trip. Why we came there then got charged twice and gotta...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCen
ReefGateway, RECEPTION SUPERVISOR at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. That is unfortunate you were charged 2 times for your accommodation, having paid a travel agent in full for your trip, before you had arrived. This could have been rectified before you had arrived if your Travel Agent advised us of the payment you had made and passed on the information to us to be...

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I've been twice in a month as the $20 meals with salad and dessert bar are the best value! The food was delicious and the atmosphere is so much better than it used to be! This will be our new local. Thankyou.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeckyL1986
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Big clean rooms, comfortable beds, well appointed and convenient location. I have stayed there a several times know and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The Bistro also offers a good range of food and service is great. Keep it up guys & I'll keep coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff A
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Geoff thanks for the great review and feedback. Much appreciated. Glad to hear we are meeting expectations. Regards Mark Wilkins (marketing & promotions)

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Did an overnight stay here and felt the accommodation rate was reasonable for what we got. Would like to recommend an overhaul of the tired bathrooms, but this in no way detracts from the comfort of the room. In fact the queen bed was the best I had slept on in years. The restaurant was busy but meals were getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 20Degrees
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking time to review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The entire venue has just started a major renovation so stay tuned for further improvements. Thanks again. Mark Wilkins (Marketing & Promotions)

Mackay Region, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Stayed in an upstairs room - large, well appointed, very clean room. Comfortable queen beds, excellent bathroom amenities. Tea/coffee/kettle/cups and small fridge with milk, glasses and filled cold water jug. Friendly staff. Undercover parking. Free wifi. Some background noise while restaurant was operating but nothing the aircon/tv couldn't minimise, it did smell delicious. Some faint traffic noise but again not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarinapixietraveller
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sarina, thanks for the great review and feedback. Hope you stay with us again soon! Regards Mark Wilkins (marketing & promotions)

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

16 ladies stayed 2 nights. All ladies were very happy and had no complaints. Ate at bistro 2 nights great food quick with multiple orders. All rooms very clean, beds super comfortable, all ladies very happy. Road noise not a issue with air con on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thanks for the positive review. We are undergoing some improvements at the moment so hopefully we will be even better next time you visit! Regards Mark Wilkins

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This is not the room we seen on the site very old room and paint coming off from wall bathroom is not looking good not happy and i feel like i wanna refund 😭😭😭 won't recommend to any of my friend. .....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor C
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Taylor thanks for the feedback. Not sure which room you were in as room quality isn't usually an issue however we are renovating and fixing rooms currently. Did you address your concerns with particular room with front office? Im sure they would have been happy to move you. Which room were you in? Any further response here appreciated so...

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonvale
4.6 km away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
4.7 km away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
342 reviews
3.3 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat
Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat
#4 of 13 in Airlie Beach
103 reviews
4.4 km away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,068 reviews
2.5 km away
Seabreeze Tourist Park Airlie Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Hotel

Address: 38 Shute Harbour Road, Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Cannonvale
Price Range: €71 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Reef Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Reef Gateway Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Reef Gateway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a deluxe room”
649princess, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wifi useless when using my ipad - avoid room 12 noisy fridge.”
dingo_joe, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Maybe bring some cereal and fruit with you for breakfast, or go up the road to Airlie Beach for breakfast.”
simonmH6472NG, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Cab was under $20 in the evening or bus stop outside establishment”
LouL409, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 was a great location....short walk to bistro/bar.”
CORCO55, 30 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$78* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$82
Orbitz.comUS$82
Expedia.comUS$82
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates