We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges North Sydney

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges North Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

789 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges North Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 779: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

I've stayed here a number of times recently, it's average but meets immediate needs. All the bathrooms need some work, dirty and no water pressure. Air con units always seem to be above the bed, which can be annoying! But, good black out curtains means a good night sleep!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steinmetz2012
Farhana J, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Steinmetz2012, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I was disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the facilities of the room. Whilst we are aware the Bathrooms are dated we as a team...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Hotel room was lovely, clean, tidy. Was a it surprised at a double bed in such a big room. Also the bathroom door did not open fully as it hit the toilet! Service was good. Breakfast was good. Location was ok, if you want to go in and out of the city a lot in a day (drop shopping off!)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tania87
Farhana J, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Tania87, Thank you for your kind remarks about Rydges North Sydney, we do enjoy quite a central location here in North Sydney, with great access to public transport which provides easy access to the city and North Shore. Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous...

Port Stephens, Australia
Reviewed 8 June 2015

The hotel is in a good location, easy to access the city, quiet, cafes etc close by. Staff were all friendly and the room was fine. It is much quieter on this side of the Harbour but easy to get to the city by train, ferry or a walk across the bridge. We arrived at about 3.30pm (check in is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Underthesea76
Farhana J, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Underthesea76, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous facilities during your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful words that you have used to complement our services. Let me use this opportunity to express my disappointment in regards to the hot water issue that...

Sanctuary Point, Australia
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Booked a Queen Harbour View room,this room was located right behind lift, due to the special event on in Sydney lift traffic seemed to be extra heavy.The view was not what I had expected .The biggest shock is the shower ,its pushing the "Green"mantr a bit too far.Hotel location is handy,staff friendly and understanding to our complaint with tips of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank golfnut791
Farhana J, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear golfnut791, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous facilities during your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful words that you have used to complement our services. Let me use this opportunity to express my disappointment in regards to the hot water issue that...

Oahu, Hawaii
Reviewed 7 June 2015

The Hotel itself is pleasant enough. Situated out of centre of Nth Sydney, a comfortable walk to rail station. For dining there is not much on offer. No restaurant for dinner on weekends and slim offerings in snacks at the bar. However, bed was comfortable and room clean. Not forgivable though was the cold shower in the morning. Hotels this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dette M
Farhana J, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Dette M, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous facilities during your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful words that you have used to complement our services. Let me use this opportunity to express my disappointment in regards to the hot water issue...

Sydney
Reviewed 6 June 2015

My partner and I stayed for one night after a late night out in the north of Sydney. As a Priority Guest Rewards member, I secured a great bed and breakfast rate and a complimentary 1pm check out. The hotel itself is situated in a business district and the entrance was a little hard to spot from the street as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissMicha
Farhana J, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear MissMicha, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous facilities during your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful words that you have used to complement our services. I agree that the Hotel is a little dated but it is my pleasure to announce that...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

Very clean rooms, nice, courteous and efficient staff and great savings for not getting your room made up daily. Room service cheeseburger and fries was woeful. So glad my non-cleaning discounts paid for the burger! Nice and close to transport links. Overall a nice and pleasant place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
Farhana J, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Aaron S, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous facilities during your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful words that you have used to complement our services. I do apologise for the terrible room service experience, I have passed on your comments to...

Hobart
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Stayed a couple of nights on a work trip. Given the nightly cost, the bathroom was in need of a renovation - main problems were a shower that ran out of hot water, water pressure. The rooms themselves were very well presented and comfortable and the restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Duncan G
Farhana J, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Duncan G, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. Our hotel is conveniently located to many of the offices in North Sydney.I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous facilities during your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the hot water and the water pressure issue during your stay. I...

Adelaide
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

This hotel is very clean, quiet and comfortable. The rooms are well appointed but it's worth spending extra for a one bedroom apartment if you can. This gives you a lounge area with 2 x 2 seater lounges (both foldouts) dining table for 4, sink and microwave plus plates etc. and a small balcony. The mini bar is one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodkat
Farhana J, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Rodkat, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our numerous facilities during your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful words that you have used to complement our services. I am eagerly waiting to welcome you back to the Hotel in the Near Future. Please try...

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

I opted for an upgrade to a suite which cost an extra $100 a night, which was worth it because the room had a kitchenette and a view to the harbour from the balcony and room. We requested the sofa bed be made up, which wasn't, but was soon fixed with a call to reception. The room was pristine even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Port librarian
Farhana J, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Port librarian, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Rydges North Sydney. I am pleased to read your comments on your impressions of our front desk staff, and that you found our location very convenient, we are quite spoilt in North Sydney with great restaurants and cafe’s as well as good access to public...

486 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Park View Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (100)
Viewed
Waterview One Bedroom Suite (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
194 reviews
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
357 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,188 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Price Range: €126 - €253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are better hotels in this (or cheaper) price bracket in this area”
 of 5 bubbles Ozjon, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles NZL_Carl, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For family travellers the 2 bed apartments have plenty of room but are very basic.”
 of 5 bubbles BC1123, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“dont bother and find somewhere else to stay”
 of 5 bubbles WKoopmans, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles 249waltern, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5