We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges North Sydney

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges North Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

801 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges North Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 791: English reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I stayed here for work for a week and thought the location was great but the week day staff need more training. The coffee was terrible, the service was slack and the dinner was awful. The breakfast was great and on the weekend the weekend staff were brilliant. I think you could get a barrister for during the week or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita P
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Anita P and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do apologize if you felt the service from the restaurant team wasn’t up to standard. This certainly isn’t the normal high level of feedback we receive on our...

Reviewed 28 February 2017

Stay here a lot on business and have been overlooking the poor service and poor facilities because of its location in the north, but now i'm over it. Arrive today and try to order lunch which is from 11am to 10pm but they tell me that the menu in the room is wrong and that they aren't serving any itemns...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WKoopmans
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear WKoopmans, Once again thank you for continuously choosing to stay at the Rydges North Sydney and for providing feedback in regards to your stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the experiences your encountered during your stay with us. Your feedback has been addressed with the relevant department Managers to further follow up. It seems on this...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The place is in a quiet part of the city, great hospitality, resourceful staff and access to wifi and nearby restaurants. The place is perfect for business and leisure. I would always consider the Rydges next time I visit Sydney.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 249waltern
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear 249waltern, Thank you for taking the time to write this outstanding review. I am pleased you found our location to be convenient for your stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you were well looked after by our staff, your kind comments will be passed onto them. We look forward to welcoming you back to The...

Shellharbour, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for the week, was in a great location, very central to a lot of great places. Hotel could do with a refresh though, the room decor, bathroom and lack of facilities let it down considerably though. Wifi was fairly good as were the $10 vouchers for declining room turn down service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vistech
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Vistech, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are lucky to be in such a convenient location for our guests and are pleased to see that you agree ! We are glad to see that you also enjoyed our free WiFi and took advantage of our Our 'Go Green' incentive that certainly...

Melbourne
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Wow, was this place a disappoinment! A very old, tired, depressing hotel that looks like it hasn't been fixed up since the eighties. I booked a two bedroom suite which cost over $500 per night. The weather was hot and humid and yet there was no decent air-conditioning in either in the foyer area or the rooms. There was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aljoshaw
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear aljoshaw, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have since shared your feedback with our Maintenance Manager to further follow up. I do apologize if you felt the customer service from the front desk team wasn’t...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2017

If you are looking for clean sheets and a hot shower, this hotel is ok. It is very old and run down and difficult to get to on foot. Needs a renovation, but clean. It's a couple of blocks from the railway station which is a bonus. Free Wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Jane C and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel and that you took advantage of our free WiFi ! We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome yo back in the near future. Kind Regards, Rydges North...

Inverell, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Due to the heatwave conditions in NSW, I arrived by rail late into North Sydney station. I walked to the hotel which took only 10 minutes as its its less than 1km away. I was greeted by pleasant reception staff and had a room on the 9th floor, which appeared to have been renovated. The air-conditioning worked well, the wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gamain
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear gamain, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such kind positive feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were of assistance during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to North Sydney! Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydney

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is long overdue for a make over. The rooms and hotel is stuck in the 80's. The service is atrocious. Tried to order room service twice unsuccessfully. Only one item out of the whole menu available in the evening (one pizza) as told stock order had not arrived. Who runs a hotel like that in the city !!!!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Julia W, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. You feedback in regards to your Food & Beverage experience has since been passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager to further follow up. This is certainly does not...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I was responsible for organising accommodation for 5 couples on a Saturday night after a few of us were doing the Harbour Bridge Climb. I used booking.com who found me 5 rooms at a very reasonable rate at Rydges North Sydney. As an added bonus it included complimentary full buffet breakfast. On arrival Saturday afternoon the rooms were really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank luvmyfood2017
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear luvmyfood2017 Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm sorry that the breakfast service you received was not to our usual high standard. I will pass your feedback on to our restaurant manager. I am please to read however you did enjoy the accommodation at the hotel. I hope the other aspects of your stay...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Stayed here for 1 night and found the room to be spacious and clean. The bar and lounge was a little lacklustre in atmosphere, and was hit and miss on the cocktails depending on who made them (same as a previous poster here who commented on this). The breakfast buffet was sufficient with hot foods, although was jam packed and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DrAndyC
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Hi DrAndyC Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and spacious and enjoyed our full buffet breakfast. I will pass on your concerns regarding your experience in the bar and lounge to our Food and Beverage Department so they can follow-up...

493 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Park View Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (100)
Viewed
Waterview One Bedroom Suite (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
McLaren Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Sydney
197 reviews
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
364 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Price Range: €115 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd say don't stay here”
danniv2015, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Views from our room 1014 are exceptional.”
kalyngra, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are better hotels in this (or cheaper) price bracket in this area”
Ozjon, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Another hotel”
NZL_Carl, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For family travellers the 2 bed apartments have plenty of room but are very basic.”
BC1123, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5