We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges North Sydney

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges North Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

789 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 779: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges North Sydney
 Click to rate
Cambewarra, Nsw
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here solo as I was attending a nearby business conference. I have stayed here previously and I was pleased to see that the standard is maintained. There is an additional charge for parking but free wifi and very comfy bed. The room I had was a good size for a couple and the small issue I had with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fangfluffy
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are tired and a little worn. The bathroom has a cheap floppy toilet seat and a cheap shower curtain. My room service turned the requested glass of red and glass of white wine into a glass of coke and a glass of lemonade (which was quickly rectified). The meal was luke warm. Reception staff were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ozjon
Macarthur
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an enjoyable stay from the check-in where we explained to the desk clerk that we had friends staying on the 4th floor so he moved us to the 3rd floor where we received a room with a view. Lovely comfortable bed in a nice size room. Delicious choices for breakfast as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lillibet_11
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Lillibet_11, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rydges North Sydney and for taking the time to provide us with this outstanding review ! I am pleased you enjoyed the views your room had to offer and that our enjoyed your popular Rise Breakfast options. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rydges North Sydney. Kind...

Auckland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have visited this hotel several times in the past, as it gets worse every time. Staff were helpful at check in and even offered a upgrade to a harbour view room however the room was in a poor state and the service levels dropped from here. The hotel bar/restaurant only opens from 530pm on weekends (Room service starts at this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NZL_Carl
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear NZL_Carl and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your feedback and comments have been shared with the relevant managers. On a more positive note, I am pleased to hear that you were well looked after by our staff during...

Gorokan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice, clean and tidy hotel. Little dated but lots a greenery around which is pleasant for a city. Harbourview room view is a little blocked. Easy access to car park then a quick trip on the train into the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisa H
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Elisa H, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rydges North Sydney and taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next one will be just a pleasant. Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydney

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was put up in Rydges after Flybuys Travel lost my booking for McLaren Hotel. Pretty nice room this time, 2nd floor with a kitchen and huge living area. Still a bit dated but at least quiet at night. Think it's next to a school though because I woke up one morning to tuba rehearsal of some sort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Junyan T
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Junyan T, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydney

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Needed to attend party at The Oakes Hotel Mosman. Booked into Rydges North Sydney, enjoyed Priority Drinks at the bar before heading out to Mosman. Our hotel room was large and roomy, very quiet and clean. Good powerful hot shower Room service was really good as was the full breakfast The location is so central to north Sydney region

 Report
Helpful?
Thank innovativeceremonies
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear innovativeceremonies, Thank you for this outstanding review! We are lucky to be in such a convenient location for our guests and are pleased to see that you agree! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed room and all aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Rydges North...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been here several times and I suspect this will be the last time. Each time they don't seem to improve. Looks its not that its really bad but for what we all pay it represents really poor value for money. From sandwiches that had bread that must have been out for the last week to cheese and tomatoe sandwiches...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BC1123
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear BC1123 and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your overall experience did not meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Conferencing & Catering Department to further follow up. We truly appreciate your feedback as it...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for work for a week and thought the location was great but the week day staff need more training. The coffee was terrible, the service was slack and the dinner was awful. The breakfast was great and on the weekend the weekend staff were brilliant. I think you could get a barrister for during the week or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita P
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Anita P and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do apologize if you felt the service from the restaurant team wasn’t up to standard. This certainly isn’t the normal high level of feedback we receive on our...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stay here a lot on business and have been overlooking the poor service and poor facilities because of its location in the north, but now i'm over it. Arrive today and try to order lunch which is from 11am to 10pm but they tell me that the menu in the room is wrong and that they aren't serving any itemns...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WKoopmans
RydgesNorthSydney, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear WKoopmans, Once again thank you for continuously choosing to stay at the Rydges North Sydney and for providing feedback in regards to your stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the experiences your encountered during your stay with us. Your feedback has been addressed with the relevant department Managers to further follow up. It seems on this...

486 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Park View Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (100)
Viewed
Waterview One Bedroom Suite (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
McLaren Hotel
#3 of 9 in North Sydney
194 reviews
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
357 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,184 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Price Range: €132 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are better hotels in this (or cheaper) price bracket in this area”
 of 5 bubbles Ozjon, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles NZL_Carl, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For family travellers the 2 bed apartments have plenty of room but are very basic.”
 of 5 bubbles BC1123, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“dont bother and find somewhere else to stay”
 of 5 bubbles WKoopmans, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles 249waltern, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5