We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crown Hotel

Save
Share
Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$130
Booking.comUS$130
Hotels.comUS$131
Trip.comUS$130
eDreamsUS$130
TravelocityUS$131
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (215)
Room & Suite (217)
Dining (115)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 18/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crown Hotel
Updated 18/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the village of Wetheral close to Carlisle. The hotel offers a range of bedroom types and also features a fully equipped leisure centre with indoor pool and an AA Rosette Award restaurant. The hotel also features our own village pub, Walton's, which offers a selection of bar meals and snacks throughout the day.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Squash
Board games / puzzles
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Italian, Polish and 1 more
1,382Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 820
  • 358
  • 128
  • 48
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sam wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was put in a Green Lane suite. Very modern, and most importantly clean, excellent to see giving the current situation. The check in was very quick and easy. All the COVID regulations are put in place so you feel very comfortable and safe. Will and Gavin were very welcoming and nothing was to much of an issue for them. It’s nice to see them offering a few evening meals as some hotels aren’t doing this, but also if you are wanting a takeaway places do deliver. Stayed for business this time but from what I did see I’m sure it’s a lovely place to stay for a few nights away to relax or if you are into walking.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Relax769628 wrote a review Mar 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom2 contributions
My original review has been flagged, due to the email I sent to the general manager to which he did not respond. His handling, or lack thereof of our complaint really left me feeling unsettling. He was rude and condescending about his team instead of discussing constructive improvement. Shall list again. I am assuming that the hotel flagged my review despite posting a response. 1.Cleanliness. utterly appalling. Given the current environment this was of paramount importance but unfortunately didn't meet basic standards. The kitchen surfaces had unclean stick marks and food stuck to them. Table in lounge had residue (presume food) on also. As did the upper bedroom. The bigger issue here is that it illustrated surfaces had not been even wiped down, let alone throughoughly cleaned, which during current covid times and with an elderly family member was extremely worrying. There were cobwebs around the stairs also. Sent photos with email. Manager Chris's response was to tell me his head of cleaning would be so upset with feedback but did not address any of the feedback. Highly concerning 2. Lack of heating throughout cottage suite for over 48 hours. Three visits from maintenance manager. Told it was resolved over and over again and cottage would warm up,did not. 3 visits from maintenance manager. Assured GM would be informed to support resolution. Heating controlled from lower cottage and only resolved on our last evening before we left. GM informed not informed until the end of our stay. His team said otherwise when I queried before leaving. Concerns regarding restaurant service, and 40 minute check in process also but minor compared to basic cleaning and healthy & safety concerns raised above. General manager seeking to smooth complaints and not address actual concerns. Regularly stay in the area and would recommend avoiding.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Hawkthestayer wrote a review Dec 2020
23 contributions6 helpful votes
Booked because it had leisure facilities but never got to use them as had to check out of this place asap. Numerous opportunities to warn us breakfast would be just bread ,cereal and juice in a bag outside door were missed. They even asked us what time did we want to book it to stagger us from other guests and getting full payments up front. In my opinion this can only be an attempt to conceal the lack of hot breakfast. Reception called the manager who basically invited us to leave after raising a complaint. Had no interest in resolving anything. On checking in ,the manager passed by and was hinting strongly I should dine in the hotel and sink a few pints before dinner. Subtle bullying which was unwelcome. I might have done so had he not tried this on. Images of John Cleese came to mind. The hotel corridors were ice cold and filthy dirty but the room looked ok at first. The small portable tv did not work properly and the beds were soft cheap spring types with no support but with a rock hard pillow which afforded very little sleep. The next hotel we used had a comfortable bed ,decent breakfast and helpful honest staff. I will not be going back to this one again and I strongly do not recommend it. The way they seem to want to treat their customers is the problem. It seems a nice building with potential ,which is a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris McLaughlin, General Manager at Crown Hotel
Responded 7 Dec 2020
Dear guest, I have taken to the time to read over your feedback regarding your stay with us. My collegues and I seem to recall a different version of events which unfortunately did lead to you being asked to leave our hotel. You booked a two night stay checking in on the 2nd of December and out on the 4th of December directly with us on bed and breakfast basses and as such at the time this was indeed continental as per our website and on other booking channels and at no point was this confirmed in any other such manner. As this was indeed the very first night we opened after lockdown we were simply doing breakfast in a bag which consisted of granola, fresh orange juice, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, Danish and a pint of milk, I understand this was not received well by you. I wish to highlight that following your abusive behaviour and language towards myself and my staff in the morning you were indeed asked to leave which I then had to console the staff involved thereafter. On a positive note we are now fully operational and offering not only continental breakfast but also the option of a cooked breakfast in our award winning restaurant. We are fully committed to providing all of our guests the same great service and product we are best known for. Yours sincerely, Chris
Read more
Helen T wrote a review Oct 2020
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Arrived at around 4pm, on checking in was asked for a swipe of my card which I handed over to then have the payment of the stay taken in full. Had every intention of paying and would have happily paid up from but that wasn’t what was requested at the time. We stayed in one of the Castle View rooms. The room was lovely, big comfy bed and bathroom large and clean with a great powerful shower. Despite a laminated note in the bedroom advising that towels etc were available on request without the need for somebody coming into your room it was never actually explained on check, or in the room that the rooms would not be serviced during the stay due to covid regulations. While this may be understandable it would have been beneficial when checking in to explain this and how to get clean towels, toilet roll etc and that the room would not be serviced. First night in Walton’s the meal and service were both fine. The second night we were left sitting for a long time before our drinks order was taken. When the meal arrived I asked for another drink and my partner asked for sauces, neither of which materialised until I went to the bar myself to chase them up mid-meal as it seemed near impossible to get any staff attention as they moved around. The service on both occasions at breakfast was poor and disorganised. We witnessed people coming in after us to have their orders taken and drinks and toast brought to them before our orders were taken. We weren’t in a hurry but we were left a long time sitting without the offer of tea / coffee. There no structure on who was serving where. At one point we were offered the table next to us breakfast. While all the staff were pleasant the default position seemed to be to apologise for poor service rather than try and get it right in the first place. Being overlooked and forgotten about once is understandable but 3 times out of 4 is not acceptable. We enjoyed the room very much but our stay was let down by the always pleasant but far too disorganised service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
AlisonJwilson wrote a review Oct 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom17 contributions8 helpful votes
I enjoyed a long weekend in the October holidays with my son at this hotel. The food in the Conservatory was beautifully presented and tasty. We had the pan stone bass, goats cheese soufflé, scallops and cheese board. All was extremely delicious and I would recommend this restaurant and the Walton’s bar where we had the fish and chips and chicken burger. My son said it was the best chicken he had ever had! We went back the next night to have the same. The pool and gym were clean and appointments had to be made to ensure social distancing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$102 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crown wetheral hotel, crown wetheral carlisle, hotel crown wetheral
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaCarlisleWetheral
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crown Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Crown Hotel?
Nearby attractions include VR Gateway (6.3 km), Red Herring Escape Rooms (6.2 km), and Solway Aviation Museum (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crown Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Crown Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Crown Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crown Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Romano Pizzeria, Padthaistr Eat, and Alexandros Greek Restaurant and Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crown Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Crown Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Wetheral.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crown Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Crown Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Crown Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crown Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, Polish, Romanian, and Afrikaans.