We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riverbank Guest House

Expedia.comUS$126*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Riverbank Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Riverbank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 298: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2017

I stayed here for one night whilst researching my family tree at the nearby record office. I was welcomed on arrival by one of the owners who gave me plenty of information. My room was on the top floor and was nicely laid out with an iron bedstead and brown furniture. Decoration, think Monet prints and flowery wallpaper. The en...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moneypenny2k
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Perfect hosts, great breakfast, high spec and comfy rooms. Perfect location. The garden backs onto the river and will be gorgeous in the Summers months. Matlock also has a vibrant bar and cocktail scene for all ages, conveniently located near to the B&B (but not too close to be a nuisance).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

My partner and I brought our three year old little girl and my partners mother here for a two night stay. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated, the staff are welcoming and friendly, the location is perfect and the breakfast is outstanding...what more could you want from a guesthouse?! The views of the river from my mother in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RandJeaters
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

It was my first time in this part of England. I was staying 5 days, looking for property with a view to relocating to the area. Graham and Jenny were the kindest, most thoughtful and helpful hosts (I certainly can't believe the review entitled "Rude!!!"). The guest house and my room were absolutely charming, spotless and had the most comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbistany
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments , so pleased your stay went well and was fruitful. We look forward to meeting you again

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Graham and Jenny looked after us very well during our stay with them. The breakfasts were lovely, the room incredibly comfortable and the garden would be a nice place to sit in the summer. The location was fantastic - next to the centre of Matlock and its park, with enough good restaurants and pubs within walking distance to keep you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ewrigley
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this comment, and pleased that you had a good time in Matlock. The Cafe in the Park is a great asset to the town especially their Bistro nights.

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Called at 6pm on a Saturday, asked if they had any rooms, they had one spare & quoted £90, I politely asked if they could do it any cheaper as it was a late booking and the guy literally slammed the phone down on me!!! Perhaps he needs to grow a thicker skin or maybe learn some customer service skills.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty_chesterfield
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

In the 18 years we have been at Riverbank we have worked hard at maintaining a good relationship with our guests. On this occasion a call came in at 6.00pm, the caller asked for a cheaper rate, which we declined. The telephone was not slammed down. Therefore we are very disappointed that this review has been given and we would...

Torrance, California
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Such a pleasant place to stay. The owners and staff clearly care about their visitors and make you feel at home. The house and rooms have a great old fashion feel but are also very clean and comfortable. Nice location in Matlock with a short walk to shops, restaurants and pubs. Always had pleasant conversations with the owners and fellow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kens_trips_2000
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Hope you will come and see us again

Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Once again, Riverbank Guesthouse never disappoints....Had really relaxing time over the holidays there. Great hosts, great English breaksfasts, etc. Had the pleasure of being there during the Raft Races on Boxing Day, which was a good laugh. The hosts treat their guests like family, really can't say enough good things about this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmarie66
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks, it makes it all worthwhile.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Fantastic location , good parking and very friendly staff . Excellent breakfast and nice warm room in December . Matlock is a good base to see Derbyshire . We visited Matlock bath , Cromford Mills and Canal and went to the Crich Tramway Museum .We had a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miroslaw10
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you had a great stay The winter has something different to offer in the Peaks

Reviewed 20 December 2016

Great people and food, Riverbank House is very clean and has a warm friendly feel about it. It is ideally situated in Matlock as it is fairly central, but enough off the beaten track in a quiet little area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review

So we had both Whitbys supporters visit us . Thanks for finding us. Have a good season

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
2.4 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
209 reviews
1.8 km away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
355 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
12.0 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
375 reviews
0.8 km away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE43LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Price Range: €88 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Riverbank Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 8 and 9 have access on to their beautiful gardens”
R2437BBmandym, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“contact landlords with your needs, they respond quickly.”
dmarie66, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was 10 , lovely river views over the river”
catsarus, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were overlooking the garden/river which we loved.”
cookemrsjanec, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are only stairs to upper floors; some rooms are on second floor.”
AmyA488, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$126* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$130
TripAdvisorUS$126
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates